10 Fun Writing Exercises For Winter Break

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Just because it's winter break doesn't mean you should lax on your writing! To be a good writer, as with anything, you must practice every day.

Here are 10 fun and easy writing exercises to keep the creative ink following. You can even do these if you only have a few minutes a day! But I promise you, you usually keep going after the five-minute timer has dinged :)

Mixing Metaphors

Brainstorm a few overused metaphors and replace the last word of each metaphor with something random or creative.

Twisted Tale

Rewrite a fairy tale from the bad guys perspective.

Hook 'em

The best stories have a killer beginning to reel the reader in. Hook 'em in 150 words.

The Worst Invention

What invention would you un-invent and why.

Create a Life

Open your favorite image search engine and type "old man" or "young lady", click the third page of results so it's random, and write a story about the first image. Develop a character- age, likes, demographics, hopes, past, etc.

5 Minute Freewrite

Join a freewrite hosted by @mariannewest. She posts a new prompt daily. Set your timer for five minutes and write about it. You'll be surprised at how well your creativity works when you're under the pressure of time!

Granted Hour

You are granted an extra hour in your day, but you can't use it for anything you normally do. Write about what you would do.

Dear Santa

I don't care how old you are! Write a letter to Santa!

Looking Back

Write a diary entry like it's December 31, 2018. Detail all you have accomplished in 2018.

SteemStorm

Write the titles to your next ten Steemit posts. This has a nice side effect of inspiration if you get writers block ;)

What is your favorite go to writing exercise? Share in the comments!

Images via pixabay

I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314The Loneliest Time of the Year
~
Did You Know? Humans Have More Than 5 Senses!
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 2
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 3
~
For the Love of Reading
~
Why are Candy Canes a Christmas Symbol?
~
Toughen Up!
~
Blessed Are Those Who Mourn
~
Show, Don't Tell
~
The Amtrak Derailment, and Slowing PTSD
~
Best Comment Contest
~
Christmas Day 2050


Photography

Marley and Sid
~
Punching Away
~
Swept Away
~
Gimme 5!
~
Beautiful Scars
~
Solo
~
Right Write


Fiction

Forbidden

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 81%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez:"You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

Thank you for your post! I will use it in my day job on a regular basis. I really appreciate the idea of mixing metaphors.

Glad to hear it!

Freewriting is great; It always produces something unexpected!

Yes it does! I love it :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Wow. I just came over to visit you and you mentioned me in your post!! Thank you so much!!!

Oh hai! Why yes, yes I did, because you are worth mentioning! Your freewrites are one of the best ideas on Steemit!

Thank you so much!!! That makes my heart sing!!

I have a post request. I notice that many people have no idea about plagiarism. I just judged a contest and several just copied info. They cited it but had no idea that just copying the whole thing is not okay...

@lucylin just had someone copy his comment and the entire post he commented on! I will create this tonight, and I'll link you :)

Thank you!! I think some do it because they don't know.....

Exactly. For some it is a cultural thing, like follow for follow. They do not know better. But once they learn they drop the practice :)

Thanks a lot, I got some ideas from this alone... I also do some #freewrite already.

Looking Back

This is something I planned to do, but don't know if I'd actually do it... My post 2017's Achievements and failures can be seen as this. It's great to look back on your year and not find it (mostly) wasted.


Granted Hour

This along with the Dark Hour of persona 3 (The 25th hour of the day but few people notice it in the setting of that game).... Gave me a great idea!! Thanks a lot

I like the idea of writing a look back on your year for a year in the future. I helps set you up with a clear plan, in reverse ;) Anything to activate parts of your brain to achieve success :)

What platform is the game on?

For PS2, the version I played is for PSP... as far as I know, these are the only versions of Persona 3. While it's set in the same world of "Perosona 4" the dark hour was fixed before the event of that game.

This is very interesting, I have to check it out!

I love the ideas, I may do the fairy tale one

Awesome! If you post it let me know!

OK, do I need to put anything in the tags?

Oh just whatever is fitting :) I like to try to use all five if I can, that way your post gains maximum visibility :)

Ok, I did it as a five minute freewrite. It didn't go the way I planned. :-)

They never go as planned ;)

You should consider extending it into a short story :). You totally left me wanting more!

Ok, I have an idea for a sequel. I will write it later. Thank you for your comments.

@arbitrarykitten Just because I am in the Holiday Spirit.........

That is so awesome to hear! It's such a sad time for so many I love hearing that <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43