Forbidden

in #fiction7 years ago

There I was, just standing there, when what I wanted to do was forbidden.

I looked across the wasteland that was my hometown. Home. That word had new meaning now. It used to be a place where you relaxed after your day. The place where you felt secure, took your shoes off and left your worries at the door to pick up on the way out after a peaceful nights rest.

Now, home was a foreign word. It was a dream, a yearn that would never be fulfilled. Home was a concept wrapped in happiness with a bright bow of peace on top. Now…

I couldn’t think of this anymore. Stress was affecting my body negatively. The physical manifestations forced one to consider what it is that was most important to suffer over.

I wanted love. Fleeting love. Why was it forbidden? Noone was sure and rumors abounded. Love nurtured hope. It produced feel good chemicals in the body. It bonded you to another and made you both stronger.

All things that would potentially destroy the Empire.

But a girl could still dream. Even if in silence. Even having to hide my thoughts from the mind scanners that swept by regularly.

It was but a dream. But it was worth the stress of hiding.


“She may be young, but she’s not stupid.”

I heard the elders murmur this more than once as I perused the black market. Slipping through the dark alley’s junk and into the basement of the building, they talked about me when they thought I was beyond hearing. I would linger over beautiful useless trinkets I could not afford. Daring my fingers to touch. To hope.

They knew something I was on the verge of knowing. I would do something. Driven by the dangerous hope within me, I could feel a fire brooding within. What move I would make I did not know. But I knew it was going to be me.

Why me?

Again, not a question that had an answer.

I often wondered how many people actually dreamed and hoped. We dared not speak of it, for fear the wrong ears would catch. You could not trust anyone. Even the elders. They could be spies. It would be worth it, they got the least rations. I wouldn’t blame them.

But I wouldn’t dare trust them.

I was going to do something. Its crazy to know that, to feel that, but to know nothing else.


The day I loaned Morgan $400 was the day of the Take Over. That is what I called that moment because before that I was normal. That was when I realized I felt what they call hope. The way he looked at me… $400 was a lot of money. His little sister was dying. She needed medicine. I gave him all I had saved and hidden.

I did it out of love

Love? Or hope?

Are they one and the same?

Why else would I have given all I had for nothing in return.

I dared to allow the feeling to wash over me as I stepped beside him.

He was going to his mandatory “work” if you could call it that. His task was manual and backbreaking, not something someone of his brilliance should be doing. He should be creating worlds on a computer or teaching budding brilliants in a University lecture hall. His beautiful mind is wasted in this hell of a world we existed in now.

He dared to look at me. We slowed to a stop and I felt his soul bleed from his blue eyes and caress me from the outside in. A longing. A draw. He needed no words. I felt it stronger than anything.

I had to hope. I had to love. We had to escape. Together.

I would risk my life for love. Because without love there is no life.


Todays brilliant Weekend #Freewrite is brought to us by the bright and beautiful @mariannewest. Join the challenge CLICK HERE and let your soul pour onto the page :)


Images via Pixabay and Creative Commons


I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314The Loneliest Time of the Year
~
Did You Know? Humans Have More Than 5 Senses!
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 2
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 3
~
For the Love of Reading
~
Why are Candy Canes a Christmas Symbol?
~
Toughen Up!
~
Blessed Are Those Who Mourn


Photography

Marley and Sid
~
Punching Away
~
Swept Away
~
Gimme 5!
~
Beautiful Scars
~
Solo
~
Right Write


animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 85%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

We slowed to a stop and I felt his soul bleed from his blue eyes and caress me from the outside in.

I would risk my life for love. Because without love there is no life.

Really enjoyed this one, particularly love these two lines.

I am happy you enjoy my words <3

:)

Amazing post @arbitrarykitten thanks for sharing

I am happy you enjoyed it!

a very interesting post

Thank you! It's a freewrite challenge, I love these things! Follow the link and check it out!

What a great story you posted . I enjoyed every bit of it. I look forward for more story like this. I follow you.

Wonderful meeting you @comrade :)

Thank you so much!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArbitraryKitten from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I enjoyed this story very much. You are very talented.

I'm happy you enjoyed it! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33