Did You Know? Humans Have More Than 5 Senses!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

We learn about our 5 senses in grade school: sight, hearing, taste, touch and smell. Intuition is called our sixth sense.

But we have been mislead all along!

Scientists and neurologists differ with the exact number, but they all agree humans have between 9 and 30 senses!

They argue that taste itself is 5 senses as the brain detects and responds to each of the 5 taste receptors differently- sweet, salty, bitter, sour and umami (savory). Sight is agreed to be technically two senses- color and brightness.

Definition of a "sense"
sense.JPG

In order to have a sense, we need a sensor! Aristotle (384-322 bc) did the best with what he had at the time, and I'm sure he's doing a facepalm at not having realized just how many more senses there are than the 5 he is noted for classifying.

More senses that make up the human experience:

  • Thirst

  • Hunger

  • Pressure

  • Itch

  • Muscle Tension- receptors in your muscles help your brain monitor tension.

  • Time, or Chronoception

  • Pain- there are three distinct pain senses: cutaneous (skin), somatic (bones and joints), and visceral (body organs).

  • Direction

  • Blood Oxygen- a sense which triggers your brain when there is not enough O2 in your body.

  • Proprioception- knowing where your body parts are, relative to other body parts. This is why you can close your eyes and touch your nose (unless you're drunk) and scratch the itch on your foot without ever looking to see where to put your hand.

  • Chemoreceptors- trigger an area of the brain which detects blood born hormones and drugs. It also controls the vomiting reflex.

  • Equilibrioception- allows you to keep your balance and perceive gravity.

  • Stretch Receptors - found in the lungs, stomach, bladder, blood vessels, and the gastrointestinal tract. For instance, it tells you when your stomach is stretched and you are full.

  • Temperature, or Thermoreception- the ability to sense heat and cold. These are actually two senses as different mechanisms for detection are used by the brain.

  • Magnetoception- The ability to detect magnetic fields, which is used to provide a sense of direction when detecting the Earth’s magnetic field. Unlike birds, humans do not have a strong magentoception, however experiments show that we are able to sense magnetic fields.

blo

Now that I have blown away what you thought you learned in kindergarten, be off and enjoy your gorgeous symphony of senses!

Today is a wonderful day to do so :)

Images via Gianfranco Weiss, Pixabay, Unsplash and Creative Commons


I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314The Loneliest Time of the Year
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 1
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 2
~
For the Love of Reading
~
Light The World Day 5
~
Never Judge Another, You Don't Know the Whole Story
~
Why are Candy Canes a Christmas Symbol?
~
Snowpocalypse Survival Challenger Winner!
~
The Warrior Denigration
~
Don't Trust Internet Reviews
~
Blessed Are Those Who Mourn


Photography

Marley and Sid
~
Punching Away
~
Swept Away
~
Gimme 5!
~
Beautiful Scars


animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

I wouldn’t doubt it either we only know the ones they wanted us to know

Ooooo yeah... That is a whole priced can of proverbial worms... ;)

This was my "I learned something new today" experience. All the variations of sensation. I enjoyed this. You come up with some of the most interesting topics. (I know. I should stop it. You're going to think I'm flattering you. Now why would I do that? Srsly. Why?)

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think. <--- He always makes me say that.)

You want me to get a head as swelled as @catweasel?

;)

Thank you!

No!!! I never want that!!
He has trouble even sitting up straight!!

I just know about it after reading your current post @arbitrarykitten. I thank you for sharing with me the knowledge. Have a nice day.

Anytime ;) Have an amazing day :)

Cool, I love this detailed list. I actually figured much of this out at a young age when I realised that I was anosmic. Thankfully I am particularly good at other senses, like peripheral awareness and direction.

I feel like there are even more than this though - someone else in the comments brought up other dimensions for example.

Oh wow, so it must be permanent?

I feel there are more, also. We will keep "discovering" as our "eyes are opened" ;)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Dropahead Healing Equipment Quality review


According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached a score of 65%.

There are several details that can be improved Step by step you will go far! "Learning never tires the mind." - Leonardo Da Vinci


(1) Witness dropahead quality standards:

-Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Organization and coherence
- Personal sense of the text (Logic, complexity, understanding, what makes it interesting for the reader)

Peace over all of us, very nice post from either the word or the appearance

I am a beginner, I need the support of seniors players long steemit to support my passion in playing this, steemit

I say thank you

Either, or? Well, lol, which one is it?!!

I didn’t knew about Magnetoception ?

We certainly have more capabilities than we are aware of. That’s for sure.

I got excited about that one too. It would be an amazing ability to tap into. It makes me wonder how much humans affect the magnetic field and if it has anything to do with "the force".

Intriguing article about something that I'd never heard of or even imagined. But it makes sense.

I once met some deaf people in a club. They were dancing, and I asked them (thru their sign-language-speaking friend) how they could dance if they could not hear the music. They informed us that they could FEEL the beat and the music.

Similar to your blog topic, current physics also posits that there are more dimensions than the 4 we know of. (Height, length, width, space-time) Superstring theory tell us that there are at least 10 dimensions, and M theory says that there are at least 11. Just like space-time, we cannot see them, but unlike space-time, we cannot experience those dimensions.

However, according to all calculations and many indications, those dimensions actually exist.

Maybe one day in the far distant future, humankind will develop other senses that reveal those dimensions to us.

Maybe one day in the far distant future, humankind will develop other senses that reveal those dimensions to us.

I completely believe there is more around us that we do not currently see. Words are memories- this is why you do not have memories of anything prior to when you began putting words with objects. Once someone "names" it- after they themselves finally see it, we are in for such an awakening...

That's so true. Most child psychologists nowadays (Jean Gebser, Jean Houston, others) tell us that, to an infant, the world (universe) is just one amorphous mass – of which s/he is a part, meaning there is no sense of separation between the world and the self. After a bit of time, the infant learns about Mom and Dad and milk bottle and pillow, etc, and the separation sets in ... along with knowledge.

That knowledge is essential for personal growth and to be able to function in society. As for that sense of separation, it might not be ideal.

Food for thought.

It might not be ideal... ah... yes. Then one searches for the ability to feel "at one" with everything again, for the rest of their existence...

I remember learning graphing in math. I knew about x and y but then the teacher wanted to teach us about "z". My mind was blown and I had SO MANY questions. Unfortunate, my knowledge didn't meet my curiousity and I wasn't able to understand the answers.

"Z" is soooo simple once you know it. It's like a switch, now you don't know, now you do. Your teacher, had he or she (I'm guessing he, a woman would probably have been more supportive of her girls) taken a little bit of time and trouble to help you, could have helped you over that hurdle. Could have, no. Should have. Isn't that what a teacher is supposed to do?

I'm sure that you were caught in the same trap many girls fall into.

| Girls aren't good at the sciences and besides, why do they need an education to cook and have babies. I'll put my effort into something useful like helping these dumb jocks get scholarships. |

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

Oh no. and they did not care to expound upon that? Help an obviously thirst for knowledge student actually learn? This is a shame

Oh no. and they did not care to expound upon that? Help an obviously thirst for knowledge student actually learn? This is a shame

I had similar experiences, particularly in math but also in other subjects. To a certain extent, I believe the teachers were often (ir)responsible, but the whole education system itself has many problems with standardized learning.

It makes me wonder whileI read all these comments. Was my curiosity stunted? It is true that after that class math got "too hard" for me and I concentrated on reading/writing instead of math.

I'd never put thought into it before. Im glad I commented, thanks for the prospective.

I totally agree with your opinion @majes.tytyty

in a japanese anime, it even said human have the 7th sense!

Was that said as a joke? or did they define a 6th sense before that?.... Because many things can be said they are the 6th sense.

What are the seven senses? Please tell!

What do they say the 7th sense is?

I tried to google the answer for the seven senses in Japanese anime. I found some pretty interesting results - but not the answer. There's a movie called The 7 Senses of Re-Union which is Japanese Anime.

There's also a very interesting looking (and controversial) Japanese movie called In the Real of the Senses about ... romantic sex, so passionate it leads to sex aaaaaand body mutilation...

So after all that google research I still don't know but am very entertained.

Seven senses according to google: sight, smell, taste, hearing, touch, vestibular, proprioception.
🦄

That is good to know. Through the years I was amazed by a lot of discoveries!This world is definitely changing!

Isn't it amazing to be amazed? Life is great like that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33