Christmas Day 2050

Dear eDiary,

I got c-mail from @pennsif first thing this morning. “Kitten! We are going to be on the 18:20 SNEWS on UTVSteem Channel 005! Remember that contest on SteemitInc you won back in 2017? The prompt was a diary entry on Christmas Day in 2050? How did you know? If I didn’t know better, I would think you were a time traveler! Anyways, I know it’s Christmas, but c-mail me when you get this so we can plan our interview!”

To be honest, I had not remembered this. Penn has the memory of a computer, it’s pretty amazing, really. Crazy surprise! And I have been nostalgic all day!

I haven’t written in a while. Things have been busy. After the War, technological advancements took a leap into the Sci Fi realm. We were fortunate to have not felt the ravages too much. They were right. In the beginning of the century they had predicted the next war would not be fought physically. America was unprepared for the cyber attacks. The grid collapsed and we were thrown into the dark ages. Many communities were prepared and we were one of them. The WorldCyberWar brought out the best minds, and we discovered so much, oh man, we suddenly could see things we were unable to. Things that were right beside us but we had no words for them and therefore blind. It still blows my mind.

We are living in an unprecedented time. One that was made possible because of the War. Crazy and sad, but I speak truth.

Today was busy. I am so grateful I am finally in bed. And I am thankful I don’t have to keep my eyes open and type like you used to back in 2017! Thinkboard is one of the greatest inventions ever, and I’m not just saying that because I’m a writer. I think everyone can agree- being able to just think like normal and have the words and images in your head translate onto the screen? Why didn’t they think of this sooner?

Bryan e-ported early this morning sometime before I awoke. I found him snoring on the couch, Mars dust sparkling from his boots. How old is he? When will he listen and TAKE HIS SHOES OFF IN THE HOUSE? This irritates me to no end! But I couldn’t be mad at my Beamer, he missed the last two Christmases due to space storms. He looks SO good! And he has grown half a foot! I remember in 2017, right around the time I started SteemitInc actually, he voiced his desire to colonize Mars in 2030. I told him he could do anything he set his mind to, but reminded him he had to start trying in school, that all future prospects will be easier if he did his dreaded homework. That was all he needed, this Mars dream.

And now he is Chief of Police on Mars. How amazing is that?

You can be anything you want if you go for it ;)

Nik pretended to be irritated at coming home for Christmas. “Why can’t we be like the other families, Mom, and ScreenTime it?” And, as usual, I told him “There’s no way we are sitting around the table in theory, on screens, eating at our own houses, fake celebrating. We will always be physically together, as a family, if only on Christmas. End of Transmission.”

Even though he’s knocking on 50 the boy still whines! But you know what? He was happy I made him. He hugged me for the millionth time today and said, “Momma? You know I know you are always right.”

He did chastise me for not having a robot helper. As usual. “It’ll make your life so much easier!” But I am not going to have one of those things around. They give me the creeps! What is my peace of mind worth?!! I told him the floors, toilet, and counters are all self cleaning, and all I have to do for meals is pop a meal packet in the Eatpod. But, he is a stubborn one.

Of course I cooked Christmas Dinner the super old fashioned way ;) I even peeled the potatoes by hand! With a knife tho, cuz I think I lost the potato peeler a few Chrismasses ago.

John swept thru the door all loud and crazy a few hours before dinner. He got his enhancements - robotic arm and leg extenders, that he’s been dreaming of since, oh, hell- probably 2017! He is arguably one of the most skilled UBA players in history. I was not too happy with the prospect, but they are not too invasive and they have been impacting his quality of life in a very good way, so his happiness makes me happy.

My house is pretty small. I always forget this until the holidays!

After the succession of the boys families and a few of our friends arriving via e-port it was suddenly quite cozy! My investment of the PopUp Guest Bathroom a few years ago was one of my best decisions ever. Seriously, if anyone reads this and is considering the purchase- just do it! It stores away at just the size of a paperback and is self cleaning and sanitizing. It’s totally worth it, I have never regretted it!

After dinner we accessed the memories of Christmases past. Watching our lives play out on the big screen is still amazing to me! It’s like having 24 hour GoPro recordings, even for the times before GoPro.

You know, times have changed so much. But Christmas will remain the same always. A time of being together and being thankful for each other, of sharing and making memories, and of giving and love.

Merry Christmas

This is my entry for Christmas in 2050 contest hosted by @pennsif

I appreciate your support :)

With Love, Light and Good Mojo!

ufr.gif

line1 2

signature_2.gif

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314The Loneliest Time of the Year
~
Did You Know? Humans Have More Than 5 Senses!
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 2
~
The Art of Critical Thinking Part 3
~
For the Love of Reading
~
Why are Candy Canes a Christmas Symbol?
~
Toughen Up!
~
Blessed Are Those Who Mourn
~
Show, Don't Tell
~
The Amtrak Derailment, and Slowing PTSD
~
Best Comment Contest


Photography

Marley and Sid
~
Punching Away
~
Swept Away
~
Gimme 5!
~
Beautiful Scars
~
Solo
~
Right Write


Fiction

Forbidden

animated-cat-image-0167

If you found this post after day 7 please consider upvoting a recent article ♡

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Darn, you forgot to include that list of top performing Penny Cryptos of 2018!!! :P

Interesting vision, btw ;)
PS: How does this E-Porting Work? You know they had a show called
the "Science of Star Trek" and the 'transporter' is really the only thing
that will likely never come true. Too much data storage needed, as in
a drive the size of the Entire PLANET EARTH would be needed to sort
out all the particles of a human being...

Oh I don't know how it works, I didn't invent it ;) I just have one in my home cuz I have long distance family, you know, from like Mars and stuff ;)

I didn't include the list because I once watched this very creepy film called Back to the Future, and a lot of horrid and terrible things happened when one miscreant got a hold of a similar list... I wouldn't want to have the weight of that on my shoulders until 2050... and beyond...

;)

OMG, 2050 , we are old at that time

yeah no matter how many years past christmas will always be a time to share and love and spend time with the ones we love

C-mail? Is it crypto-mail? :p

By year 2050, i will be dead.. hah.. talk about killing the mood eh? :D

You know, I started writing that a week ago and have since forgotten what the C stands for! Doh!

You would, wouldn't you! Lol

OK, You WIN @arbitrarykitten, Nice Sci-Fi Stuff but I have to tell you I am grateful for the simple things...........

Why thank you!

Yes, the little things are truly what makes life good and worth it :)

Love the writing style. Wow 2050 sure we'll be there before we know it. Sounds like a nice world. Great projection made me smile :)

Right? We will look back at 2017 like it was yesterday!

Indeed we will and no doubt Xmas 2050 i will remember this post. I'll be comparing it for your predictions ;)

In that case I would like you to join me and @pennsif on the SNEWS that evening :)

Sure thing I'll fly in for it :)

Lots of tech I see - could be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62