My 2017: Achievements and Failures | A Year Of Learning About Myself

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

For me, the year 2017 was BIG... I did many great things in it and learned a lot about myself. It's also the year I started taking steemit seriously after not minding it for 6 months!! All in all I'm very happy for this year!!

HappinessOverload.png
(Source: Bakuman Anime)

Salam (Peace)

Big thanks to @anomadsoul for having this "My 2017: Achievements and Failures" contest, it made me think about what I did this year, and while I don't remember everything... I can say "Yes, I made some achievements this year... Small but life Changing!!"

My 2017 Achievements

Joining The Fiction Workshop @thewritersblock

A little while after returning to steemit (I joined last year but didn't use the account much until mid-2017)... I found about this group of authors.... They helped me and many authors a lot. Most of my stories that are 500 words or longer was sent to them for critique and I learned something from that.

Stories that got work-shopped include "A Murky Liquid", "Your Heart Would Remember", "Voice of A Princess" and "A Fascinating Legacy".

Everything I write in English now is affected by advises from those great people. Please Check Their Posts at: @thewritersblock

Helping Arabian Mangaka

While I didn't draw much for almost three years (mid 2015 until now), I'm still active in the Arabic Manga/Comic artist communties... I wrote an article on my website to advice beginner manga authors how to find artists... as I saw many teams start and vanish on the internet without compeleting the first chapter of their work...

Our level is still weak so I won't talk about our stories on steemit yet (This is our collective level right now)... But one day the world will know us!!

Buying A Mobile Phone From Amazon

For someone in Libya, getting things from outside the country is a big deal... All my friends and family are proud of me because I brought a phone with only what I call "internet money"... When you bring something physical with you, is the time everyone knows that what you're doing is REAL.... It's a very great achievement!!

Going to "Comic Con Libya 2017"

I can't believe I didn't post about this!! At the start of November there was a Comic Con in my area... It wasn't big and few people managed it with their own money but it was still interesting.... I even had my own booth there. (pictured below) I showed some of my works... And people liked them!!

Comic Con was a huge step for me... I proved to myself I can do something BIG like this by myself (I'm not good at dealing with strangers, so I always went out with my brother not alone before) and proved that people here like ART.

AhmadMangaBooth.jpg
(My booth at the Comic Con)

Reading About MBTI personality types (INFP by the way)

My life changed when I took personality test and got INFP, I read a lot about that personality and others... And I can say for sure I'm INFP with some INTP/INFJ traits (except that I'm totally Procnastinator).

This changed my life? because I always felt that I'm the only one with my way of thinking... that there's no one like me. While people find the flaws in others, I tend to forgive. While people focus on what they get from a job, a focus on what I feel toward it... And I find myself very impulsive sometimes, and very careful other times. But INFP are just that type of humans, people who are in ADHD state all of their life.


(Source: Pintrest)

Now I can focus on my strength instead of worrying about my weakness!!

Reviewing Games

I didn't start game reviewing on steemit, but I started this year... Playing a game and talking about what you liked and disliked in it is fun... who knows? I may become a professional reviewer in the future.

These were the achievements that crossed my mind... They are small ones, but this year made me think I want to "Work as a Writer" and Steemit can work as my portfolio...



My 2017 Failures

There are things that would be associated with this year I'm not proud of... Well, I didn't want to talk about them but I'll say what they are about briefly:

  • Avoiding College!! I study engineering but I have hiatus (is that the word?) this semester.... I know my reasons don't justify avoiding it... I don't regret the time I'm spending away from college but I know I'm just running away from my something that don't even deserve to run away from. Sigh

WhyDoIHaveToWork.jpg
(source: Bakuman anime)

  • Faling to Become A Youtuber!! Early this year, I spent few weeks learning about Youtube and how to become a youtuber, I believed I could become one... But I found it take a huge mental strentgh to talk to people with voice, edit the videos and all of that.... Luckily failing this helped me realize how good I am at written "Game Reviews" (Wrote about it in Achievements list above).

  • Creating A Waves Token ON IMPULSE, Announcing it ON IMPULSE... and Failing Miserably!! even was considered a scammer (I don't blame them, I'll consider myself one if I were in their place). No details... I feel bad just writing this but hey what's the worst that can happen?!

  • Wasting Time!!! I dream of doing something, and then I do everything that isn't productive... I mean, watching anime and playing games can be productive when done with a goal (like reviewing them?)... But I procrastinate even on that, Even this post took me three days to write!! Sigh, So Much Wasted Potential~

Being aware of these failures can help, but most of time it only serves to make me depressed by them. Well, I hope I become good... I pray to God to become a better person!!



What Do you Think?

I hope you liked reading this post,
and I hope it made you want to read more posts from me..

What's your 2017 Achievements? If you'd like I suggest you take part in @anomadsoul contest too, you can post a link to your entry as a comment here, and I'll try to read it.... eventually.

...wish I put more pictures, but I think it's okay... right?
Sort:  

Wow that's a lot of achievement bro. I will definitely try to write my own too. Later today

Thanks for reading... if you want give me a link to your post after writing it (or just mention me in it, I receive mentions via @steemwatch)....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45