My history of discussing voting and flagging on steemit as well as some posts that changed my mind...

in #voting7 years ago


There is a lot of talk going on right now about down voting, flagging, etc. There are a lot of new people that are starting to see some of the same things that have gone on for awhile.

You are not alone. This is one of the single most challenging things to resolve on the platform currently. Code based fixes would likely in the long run make other problems and exploits that would be even worse.

I began my journey talking about the down vote when I saw how it hurt someone. I'm a sucker for the underdog, I always have been. Yet I try to use reason. I don't see standing up for the underdog or defending against bullies as a bad thing. I've done it numerous times where I am physically present in my life as well. The worst was standing down 5 drunk cowboys who would have likely kicked my ass because they nearly hit a friend of mine with their car. I got lucky. This is one of my buttons. I don't like bullies, and I don't like hypocrites. I am still trying to decide if this is a good thing or a bad thing.

Anyway... I was very active in talking about voting... I'm going to share ALL the voting related posts from my account from most recent (except this one) to the oldest. It makes it easier for me to find them all as well. This will include relevant posts I resteemed and ones I am aware of that changed my mind. If you want to start at the beginning then first you need to go to the end. ;)




















































So if you want to know about this crazy flagging and war and bickering and bad PR from the people doing the flagging and bad PR from the people like me talking about it. You can at least see some history here if you want in the form of my posts and the comments and debates that occurred related to them. Other people also wrote more that are not here. It was not so easy for me to find them, yet I could spend considerable time digging through my own blog.


Steem On!




Sort:  

Heres a coment made by smooth as to why he almost downvoted barrys post ! Its really rediculous to think that if you blog about something other then steem and he thinks your draining the rewards pool ( once a month if your lucky ) then your in danger of getting downvoted and loosing most of your earnings as well !! Its really rediculous ! Everyone on here posts about stuff other then steem!!

smooth67 · 5 hours ago
Nice post. I reviewed and considered this post for downvoting due to reward concentration and promoting another product/platform more than Steem (IMO a good use for the promoted and/or decline rewards features). I declined to take action out of respect for how much @charlieshrem has contributed to Steem. He deserves some promotion for his other project and I wish him the best with it. Thanks for reporting on their progress.

I was really upset by the reasonings given on my recent post by smooth about why he nearly or considered flagging me to diminish a payout to me, a rare decent payout for me among other reasons I gave him, with all the hard work I have put in on here --- that post you were on my blog post talking with him about.

I bust my ass on here building community, learning and helping and he breezes thru the trending section seeing someone earn more than $40 on a post once every 2 or 3 months -- does not comment on their other work or posts, some of which takes 7 hours a day and earns us 30¢, and thinks that is OK for him to do.

I must say the whole Flag war issue has been the main reason I have been much less active on Steemit since being publicly named as a flaggot by Skeptic for flagging a NSFW post that was not tagged as such. I think if you look at all the metrics many others are also less enthusiastic about Steemit with.Steem price , active users, posts and comments all at lower levels now than 3 months ago.

When you start downvoteing and takeing hard earned money away from people that are in fact not draining the rewards pool at all when they only get a nice payout of maybe 50. Or 70 .00 dollars if their lucky once per month , and all their other posts are undervalued , plus they are comenting and contributeing to the platform on a full time basis for nothing to begin with ! Then of course people are going to leave and others see this and dont bother joining ! Their time is just not worth all the hassle and BS ! Its just no fun and the atmosphere is depressing ! Im only on part time now mostly just comenting ! I entered 1 contest ! And i used to post 2 or 3 times a day ! If things change i will come back ! My 2 sons 27 and 30 wont join because of it eigther ! End Of Rant ! Lol ! 😂😄

Thank you, I am still trying to understand the battle. I thought I understood.. and then.. I challenged my feelings, and changed my mind and repeat.

A changing mind is good. Whether you agree with me or not. A rigid mind is not so good. :)

Excellent. It's like a flag museum in here, a history of views and my how they've changed.

If you have time, see my comments here, or in my blog post that actually earned a few $$ re the flag I nearly got for no decent reason or balance. Nite all.

Lol ! Great comment !😂👍

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52