🌌Crypto Corner - E11 🌌 - Crypto in High School

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)

Carrie's Crypto Corner 728.png

Greetings, Crypto Nation!

Welcome to another episode of Carrie's Crypto Corner.

Today I cover...

👍🏻 Crypto in High School👍🏻

TL;DW (Too Long; Didn't Watch)

  • A high school in New Jersey is offering an elective class that teaches cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology.
  • The same elective offers lessons in budgeting, credit cards, taxes, investing, entrepreneurship AND how to create business plans.
  • Students started asking about crypto and one teacher made a plan and it got passed.
  • They don’t teach investment strategies, but several students have taken it upon themselves to dive right in.
  • One student invested before the pump, end of last year, and cashed out when Bitcoin was around $19,000 and then INVESTED that into a new business.
  • Crypto is already popular in colleges and universities, it was only a matter of time before it hit high schools.

Links in today's show:


Did you enjoy my face? Want more? Check out these past Crypto Corner episodes AND Coffee Talk with Carrie episodes.

Latest Episodes


Have a question about cryptocurrency?

Maybe I can help. 😀
Let me know in the comment section below what you're interested in or confused about.



New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

Wow, that's an awesome story! I remember hearing years ago about a school using Dogecoin in their land management course. I'd love to instigate something like this locally...

What!? That Dogecoin article about the 10-year-olds is AWESOME.
I'm not exactly sure HOW they were using it to imitate life (and all budgets), but would be interested in learning and getting something like that going for little people here too.

Someday tech will be so good that we can teach out 4-5 year old kids how to be their own crypto bank.

Wow! I mean thats was out of the box. I wonder the lesson will be under what subject... Mathematic? Science and Technology? or Both..This is very interesting..Thanks you surely know how to lure the reader

Currently, it's offered as an elective. Which means it's in the same category of music classes, theatre classes probably language courses. In high school, you have core classes and then have to take 'electives' or just something else. LOL! There was also stuff like woodshop and cooking (but I doubt those are offered anymore). :)

Very cool. I think crypto is just going to roll over the banks.

I agree. But ... am pretty sure, the banks are going to get on board anyway... So this will be an interesting ride. 😎

Now if only all schools had some personal finance classes so the kids did not go out and blow their new found wealth on over priced garbage and regret it later in life.

Dude. Yes. That was me!

Well, I didn't really get into overpriced things as much as clothes... 👈 Girl. 😍

After leaving high school, it was SUPER easy to be dooped into a million student loans in college. Cause no one told us not to. 😕

At least somewhere, someone is trying to teach the kids. 😍

I was blessed i got to take it in college. Granted I've never had a taste for fancy things so very little temptation other drooling over computer hardware from time to time before picking up cheaper end stuff.

I think that is reason they don't tell you in hs because then you would not go to the schools that they allow into the classrooms to "advertise" to you how your life will be so great if you take out massive loan and go to their college. Come to think of it how is that even legal? System seems so set on destroying people and making them in debt to it.

I think you've hit the nail on the head.

The dummer we are, the easier to doop.

What I'm learning is that because of the way that humans naturally evolve (babies trusting parents and larger folks to show them the way), we don't actually get to the point of REALLY getting to know ourselves... and how to use logic thought, till AFTER like... 25.
I'm sure there are exceptions... but dang! I feel like was so trusting and accepting and doopable! Now, I'm just always aware I may be being lied to.

Just gotta do my due diligence now. Just to survive. LOL!

It should not be wrong trusting the people that are “suppose” to have our best interest in sight. It’s just a shame they only have theirs and are willing to sell us out to whatever college shows up tossing a few bucks at the school to let them in the doors and sell you on “hopes and dreams.”

Interesting enough by time the next generations are raised and we warm them about such things its outdated and there are new tricks on the block to take them in and exploit them financially.

I’ve always been rather frugal and mindset of being budgets ordinated. I do miss my accounting class so much. Ah I can just see the wonderful ledgers now.

Lol! Though I'm late to the game, I too, LOVE some ledgers. 😍
And budgets.

But you're right again. By the time we figure it out, the game's changed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51