☕Coffee Talk with Carrie - E15☕- Gay Frogs?!🐸

in #vlog6 years ago

Good Morning! Good Afternoon! AND Good Evening!

You’ve stumbled across “Coffee Talk with Carrie” where you can find fun-loving, weird and interesting topics you can take into your every day and discuss amongst yourselves.😘

Let's do it!

🐸Today's Topic: Gay Frogs?!🐸

TL; DW (Too Long; Didn’t Watch)

  • The pesticide atrazine CAN turn male frogs into females that are able to mate and successfully reproduce.
  • Atrazine is a weed killer used primarily on corn crops.
  • Previously it was known that atrazine could cause sexual abnormalities in frogs, such as hermaphroditism.
  • Atrazine interferes with the sex hormone estrogen.
  • The study raised 40 little boy frog babies from egg to full sexual maturity in low levels of atrazine, similar to what they would find in nature. There was also a control group of 40 with no atrazine exposure.
  • The amount of atrazine found to produce this result (feminization in amphibians) was 0.1 parts per billion (ppb), 30 times LOWER a level than is allowed in our drinking water (3.0ppb) by the EPA.
  • This study used 2.5ppb, in a 3-year period, still lower than the allowed amount in drinking water.
  • All 40 little guys in the CONTROL group remained MALE.
  • 10% of the atrazine group were COMPLETELY feminized, or turned female, and were able to mate AND produce (male) offspring.
  • 10% of that group had NO noticeable effects.
  • Approximately 50% had SOME form of feminization taking place but were NOT completely female yet.
  • Some would have eggs in their testes, many had much lower levels of testosterone and higher levels of estrogen. And many starting acting like females.
  • Feminized frogs can (or so far have) only produce MALE eggs. This could be problematic… unless, of course, the new thing is for everyone to be born male and turn into females… 😲
  • There have been tests on 4 other continents on other species proving the problematic side effects of atrazine in the water supply.
  • Species so far tested and confirmed: rodents, birds, amphibians, and fish.

Links:


Word of the Day!

EVISCERATE

verb

To deprive of its essential content or force; damage or destroy.

“Atrazine eviscerates male frogs.”🐸


That’s it for Coffee Talk with Carrie. Remember to Upvote and Follow for more fun-loving, weird, and interesting topics to bring to your water cooler and dinner table.

discuss.png

Thoughts on today’s show? Tell me about it, down below.

And finally…. Did you know?🤔

fun fact (1).png


Latest Episodes


New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Discord.😀


All images were created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

steemusa carrie long.png

Sort:  

1520841789559m.jpg

LOL!
Awesome. 😎

Maybe we should spray some human males with atrazine so they can have a better outlook on life? Since it affects frogs on a genetic level, you think there is a correlation to humans in that sense vs the 'gay gene'? Like perhaps somehwere along the line a mother was exposed to a certain compound or mixture of chemicals that made her offspring that way?

Homosexuality has been found to naturally exist in many species. And has even been shown to serve a purpose in some species by increasing genetic diversity.

It is highly unlikely that homosexuality is caused by genetic mutation through exposure to chemicals.

You think we started out that way? Or maybe it's mother nature's way of weeding out less desirable and 'fit' genetic codes? If they're homosexual, they don't exactly reproduce prolifically.

The study that I read was of a species of fish where there were some males that would display as females to lure away the alpha fish. This gave the less alpha fish (for want of a better phrase) an opportunity to mate with the available females, which increased the genetic diversity in the population.

That is quite interesting...then though, wouldn't that make them more 'fit'?

I don't understand your question.

Hmmm... I agree. Yet your statement makes me wanna prove it wrong somehow...🤔
Lol! That's just the nature of me, though. 😉

I'm actually now interested in finding out (if possible) how LONG we've known about homosexuality in nature... Like... is it a new thing? Or a tale as old as time?

I honestly don't know, but will now try to find out. 🤩

We've known about homosexuality in human populations for many thousands of years. In fact, there are plenty of examples of it being looked upon as a completely normal occurrence.
This may upset some people, and that is not my intent in any way, however it wasn't until it was classified as a sin by religion that homosexuality was viewed as a bad thing.

Though I've still not had a chance (in the last few minutes) to look it up, I feel you're right. I know (from other research I've done) that 'we' (not me, but I guess 'humans') have found evidence of homosexuality in all sorts of REALLY old humans. I also remember (now that I'm thinking about it) finding that many places around the world of indigenous (but not yet 'civilized') tribes treat homosexuality MUCH differently than ... let's say newer religions.

Many treat it (if I'm not mistaken) as a gift from the spirits. Like getting to have two-souls, rather than one. And because there were/are so FEW, it was more of a magical thing, rather than an issue (cause gay people don't procreate so well).

Now, however, there is a bit of room for concern... At the VERY least in the frog population.

We must not forget about confusing Homosexuality with Transgender-ism. Two completely different things.

Lol. Oh, I know.

We're talking science here. 😎

I say that because of science. Transgender may have been the wrong term, but the thread was originally about frogs switching sex, not homosexuality.

If you go through all the links I shared, you'll learn that before they completely become feminized they begin acting like lady frogs, doing things that lady frogs do (like be on bottom - even before they have the necessary lady parts to make this a viable action). Essentially, they were acting gay. The full feminzation only happened (in 10% of them) AFTER 3 years of being exposed. All the studies until that point, simply showed MALE frogs ACTING like FEMALE frogs... or being gay.🤔

But I know my video only touched on that (and it was already SUPER long- and I have proof no one has watched it to the end. 😉 ), and I don't expect everyone (or anyone for that matter) to go into all the links unless they are REALLY interested... like I was/am.

AND! One last thing: In ALL the documentation I found, not one scientist used the word "transgender". They only used "feminization". So I'm using their words. Sorry if I've offended you. It wasn't my intention. I simply like to learn new things.

Have a great day! 😍

Though the study isn't able to conclude that (a human gay gene), the dude, Hayes, seems quite worried that that IS possible. However, like someone mentioned below, there IS plenty of evidence of gay behavior in nature... and this is a relatively new pesticide (or is it? Ya know, I don't know that...). That being said, it certainly looks possible that the chemical can effect male humans in a similar manner (and may already be doing so).

Is it the cause of homosexuality in humans? Probably not, but it certainly can be contributing to the numbers now (more so than nature).

In the Youtube video I linked he talks about the offspring of rats, I think, that had been exposed to atrazine. A few generations away, and the side effects were not pretty.

Crazy stuff. 😲

I'm not a fan of rats anyway lol but still, would be curious to see it. I have to check it out :)

Does this work on humans as well? I've been getting into flower photography more and more recently - and I seem to be developing moobs 🙈
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance
rickrollrofl.gif

LOL!
I think moobs come from many a thing... Hopefully, it's not the flowers! 🤣

I think we are playing with fire.

You may be right or in this case....water. badum tsssss

LOL!
Water is a serious business. 😎

We got a very cool person over here! 😉

Another informative articles to read..would please make another research about unbalance numbers of women and men..I saw that the numbers of women is more than men..Thanks.

I'll look into that. I feel like at different times in my life it was said, "There are WAY more men than women!" and then at other times, "There are WAY more women than men!". I wonder which is true now....

Thanks for the topic!

I was teaching and was a teacher...and I was an "office boy" before... Every classes and offices.. I saw few boys and more girls in one class like 90% more girls and most of the employee are women in every work place. Thats is not an official statement resources its just base on what I saw...haha Thanks

Oh! I see what you're saying. And you're totally correct.

There are MANY less dudes in school and in office type jobs. It's quite the problem, that's been happening since I was a wee one. My little brother (two years younger than me) was always the problem. Even then I saw the public school system putting girls up on a pedestal and kicking boys to the curb... by drugging them or punishing them or telling them it wasn't natural to have energy. I hated it then. I hate it now.

Boys are taught very young that they are the problem. By the time they get to college (if they ever do), the possibility of them actually graduating (compared to their female counterparts) is just sad. And it's because there's a war on dudes.

I've always seen this. It's so sad.

But like I was under the assumption that frogs were gender less and now you show me this and I’m confused that for the 14 years of my life they actually had amphibian dicks?? (Sorry if that offended you)

LOL!

I'm pretty hard to offend. I mean... I'd have to TAKE offense... and it's just not something I do. 😎

I had no idea that frogs mated about a million times a day and intermittently pop out a cloud of little eggs. Seriously, I watched a video of the Man-frog and the Lady-man-Frog doing it in a tub of their soon-to-be (only male) children. 😲

And Oh-MY-GAWD. Speaking of dicks!

I did a video on that too. I learned some terrifying things creating that one. Here's the link: ☕Coffee Talk with Carrie - E6☕ - Why don't men have penis bones?

Ok I’m blown away by the penis post literally 😂😂😂.

It didn’t know that chimpanzees nuts were the size of their brain, I didn’t know lemurs could last more longer that human male going up to an hour lol 😂.

But most of I’m kinda a surprised that the animals are doing much better than us when it comes to mating, like they put us to shame 😅.

LOL!

I'm glad you learned a little something.

I was downright SURPRISED when I came across that info.

The chimpanzee nut conundrum still weighs on my mind: Do they have HUGE nuts or SMALL brains?!

A good post really and I am inspired to make vlog soon

If I've one piece of advice:

Just do it.

At first, you'll have so few eyes (trust me... I still get less than 20 sets), it doesn't really matter how good the video turns out.

Even if it's really crappy and the 5 people that saw it decide never to come back, the next time you'll get 5 new pairs of eyes and the chance to get a little better.

I've only been doing this for a little while and going back to my earlier episodes is quite... hilarious. But! I'm totally getting better every time.
😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93