Photography: Cistus x laxus 'Snow White' Flowering Shrub

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Photography: Cistus x laxus 'Snow White' Flowering Shrub


Common Name: Rock Rose or Snow White Sun Rose


DSC_0688_steem.jpg

Camera: Nikon D3400


Following on from my previous post I wanted to share with you, my second plant specimen from the same day.

This shrub was really hard to identify, let alone find any information about it. Not only are there many different varieties of this flower and they also seem to have different names in different regions. For instance, I found a very similar flowering shrub on a UK website that was known by another name and to be honest, I'm not sure if they are two different flowers or the same flower. My research has narrowed it down to possibly being a hybrid and one that has gained the Royal Horticultural Society's Award of Garden Merit.

Cistus × laxus Aiton (C. populifolius × C. inflatus)


DSC_0686_steem.jpg

Camera: Nikon D3400


From past experience, I've learnt a few little tricks that can help identify any sort of plant. Of course, the flower is always the best place to start, however, leaves can also be an excellent guide. Therefore, I always make a mental note of the leaves; the shape, colour and even the texture can be essential information that helps narrow down my list.

The characteristics of the plant can also be applied to the climate in the region of it's physical location and compared to see if it's a suitable match. In this case, the shrub is located in Canberra and growing in a council maintained garden with plenty of passers-by. The Cistus x laxus 'Snow White' has ideal characteristics to thrive in such conditions.

Not only is it known to be a vigorous and hardy plant, it is also said to be frost and drought tolerant, requiring little water making it a great choice for dry gardens. The Snow White is said to flourish with only light pruning which I'm guessing makes it a popular choice for landscape architects and gardeners alike.
Overall, it sounds like an ideal variety for the Australian climate.

Information regarding the max. heights and widths of different varieties proved to be a useful measure which helped me eliminate some competition. One particular plant, that I initially thought was the strongest candidate, turned out to only be a maximum height of 30 cm. Since my shrub was over 1 metre high, I knew it had to be wrong.


DSC_0685_steem.jpg

Camera: Nikon D3400


Whilst researching these various plants, I have learnt so much and I feel more confident in my ability to choose plants that will grow well in my garden. Most of my learning is centred around just knowing which plants are able survive the summer heat and equally withstand the frosty winters. Its a fine balance but I think this particular shrub may even be given a friendly home in my front garden.

Thanks for visiting and reading my post, I really appreciate your time.

Information was sourced from the following sites.
Wikipedia - Cistus
Garden Express
Larkman Nurseries
Lambley Nursery

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own original work unless otherwise noted.

Follow the links below to see more of my photography.

PHOTOGRAPHY by @alphaccino.art
Spring Has Sprung - Blossom of Blackthorn
Backyard Buddies - Caution: Pollen Collectors At Work
Those Puppy Dog Eyes
Moon Home Base
Backyard Buddies - Eastern Blue-Tongued Lizard
Kismet Washed Down With Vodka Lime & Soda
Anything for a Smile
Trying to Make the Bed
Worth 1000
Celebrating Good News with Happy Dog Photos
Landscape / Sunset Photography
Sexy Socks / Photo Fun Contest (Week 28)
Ulog 161018 Studio
Macro Photography - Hitchhiker
Garden Photography - Photinia Robusta fraseri
New Plants for the Spring Garden
Local Dog Walks
Putting My Health First (Again)
Set In Motion
Fallout Funnys - Comedy Open Mic Entry
Dianella Tasmanica Tasred

Line

Imgur

Sort:  

Congratulations @alphaccino.art! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50