Photography - Dianella tasmanica 'Tasred' (Native Australian Plant)

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Photography - Dianella tasmanica 'Tasred' (Native Australian Plant)


Last week while visiting my local community centre, I had some spare time before my meeting so I used it to photograph some plants that were proudly displaying their fresh spring blooms.

My computer has decided it doesn't want to play anymore or to be more precise, I've run outta memory, therefore, I'll be uploading these photos with no digital enhancement.

However, keeping in line with my previous plant photography posts, I will include some information about the plants that I've featured. This seems fair since they are the feature, I feel that I should provide some information for my readers should they want it.

IMO, there's nothing worse, particularly with flowers and plants, than trying to find information about something without knowing where to even start. Besides, I'm interested to research the information for my own knowledge since they are plants that I often see around my own neighbourhood.

All photos were shot with my Nikon D3400 (...there were no survivors lol...)


Dianella tasmanica 'Tasred'

Common names: Tasman Flax Lily, Flax Lily and Blue Berry Flax Lily

DSC_0690 2.JPG

Please click on images to view in full screen

DESCRIPTION:

A compact, perennial native found in the forests of Tasmania, Victoria and along the east coast of New South Wales.

Small clusters of lavender to violet flowers with yellow stamens and anthers are produced in spring to summer on branching stems, followed by large blue edible berries 10 to 25 mm long that are said to taste similar to grapes.

The fruits are dispersed naturally by birds and it is noted that Aboriginal people have used the fruit to dye Lomandra leaves when making baskets.

Info Source: Australian National Botanic Gardens - ANBG


DSC_0691 2.JPG

DSC_0692 2.JPG

DSC_0693 2.JPG

DSC_0694 2.JPG


DSC_0695 2.JPG

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate it.

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.

All photos, stories and graphics are my own original work unless otherwise noted.

Follow the links below to see more of my photography.

PHOTOGRAPHY by @alphaccino.art
Spring Has Sprung - Blossom of Blackthorn
Backyard Buddies - Caution: Pollen Collectors At Work
Those Puppy Dog Eyes
Moon Home Base
Backyard Buddies - Eastern Blue-Tongued Lizard
Kismet Washed Down With Vodka Lime & Soda
Anything for a Smile
Trying to Make the Bed
Worth 1000
Celebrating Good News with Happy Dog Photos
Landscape / Sunset Photography
Sexy Socks / Photo Fun Contest (Week 28)
Ulog 161018 Studio
Macro Photography - Hitchhiker
Garden Photography - Photinia Robusta fraseri
New Plants for the Spring Garden
Local Dog Walks
Putting My Health First (Again)
Set In Motion
Fallout Funnys - Comedy Open Mic Entry

Line

Imgur

Sort:  

Your post has received some love from @autovoters, account managed by @salvao :)

Thank you my friend :)

Cute, beautiful, nostalgic ❤

Thank you for your kind words <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35