The Budget Challenge #2 Announcement of Winners

in #thebudgetchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Last week, I initiated the comeback contest of #thebudgetchallenge which is very far from the challenges you guys are familiar with. My purpose for creating this finance-related challenge is to aid our fellow Steemians with their financial growth.

This time, I challenged our fellow Steemians to share their daily budget plan. To see more of the challenge’s details, click HERE.

I honestly think this undertaking will not excite our fellow Steemians, but it turns out to be the exact opposite just like the first budget challenge contest. Fourteen promising Steemians just shared how they were able to manage their finances, and I am beyond grateful to read those creative and effortful daily budget plans and spending habits.

Add heading.png

Again, I am undergoing a tough phase of picking the three entries that stood the most because I believe all of the participants should be greatly rewarded for their impressive efforts. In fact, I consider all of them as winners!

Before anything else, I would like to thank all of the participants who took time in sharing their daily budget with us. I hope you will constantly apply those learnings in your daily lives.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

This is the total payout of the budget challenge post:

31711025_2202360956448175_5471176826250330112_n.png

These are actual SBD rewards based on the prizes' percentage:

  • 1st : 35% - 4.27 SBD
  • 2nd : 25% - 3.05 SBD
  • 3rd : 15% - 1.83 SBD
  • Reward pool for other participants – 3.05 SBD

I actually based my judgment on the criteria that I have given and I have to be honest that there are three people who share the same score for the third place. So instead of revising the reward pool, I added 3.66 SBDs (1.83 SBD for the other two winners). Technically, there are five winners and the other nine participants will share the remaining 3.05 SBD.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

1st Placer: @christianyocte (96%)

How a Working Student Survived College

Being a working student was very difficult especially in managing my finances. I admit there were times when I intentionally do not pay for my fare in the jeepney (Mokong Pa More) for shortage of budget and also there were times when I walked from the tricycle terminal to our home. But all those sacrifices paid off when I finished my studies and eventually landed a permanent job as public high school teacher the year after my graduation.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

2nd Placer: @abchro (94%)

Approach in my Financial Management | Recipe to Success

In my experience now, that 30% allocation is an excess budget for my wants. Since I have these 3 considerations before buying something that is only to satisfy my wants. First is Can I afford this? Second, Do I really need this? And lastly, Do I like this thing? (sometimes we really don't like that certain material, the urge to buy that is influenced by the trends)

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

3rd Placers: @jemzem, @chuuuckie, @morken (91%)

The Budget Challenge – How I Spend My Money Daily by @jemzem

And when I got my first stable job, I continued budgeting my finances. But it’s really true that “once your salary increases, your expenses will also increase” for most employees because of their changed lifestyle. I was one of those employees whose expenses suddenly increased when a high salary is received. For me, as long as I have my job, I can buy what I want. That belief lasted for few months until my workmate introduced Bo Sanchez to us.

The Way I have Budgeted my Money and the Reasons Why I am not scared to Spend | Money well Budgeted and Spent during my Two-day Seminar in Tagbilaran City, Bohol by @morken

Let us not forget to properly differentiate budgeting from spending. They are two mainly different activities in handling our money. Budgeting is done before spending while spending is done after budgeting. Budget wisely for you to spend smartly.

How I Spend my Money : A Super Thifty Technique (Tips and Tricks) by @chuuuckie
by @morken

I am very thrifty when in regards to saving money for a purpose. I also need to bring my own extra rice because it would be a lot more expensive inside the canteen.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

To all who participated in this challenge, @christianyocte, @purpleshangz, @daisydelta, @jemzem, @ja9garnett, @kayegrasya, @josephace135, @chuuckie, @liamnov, @carlitojoshua, @abchro, @morken, @jaderpogi, and @nikkabomb, please accept my deepest gratitude. I hope you'll continue living within your means even after this challenge.

May your dreams come true,

@smaeunabs

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

Previously-posted finance-related articles that you can learn from:

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

DQmT8MFECsM9DgBVvNwWAo2tHBh6FuEHscUoixfHUDzx4uX.jpg

DQmf2KLgzeQF3cWheFcqJXsw7oxmDofpdfnBvgq1Ebba9Vy.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for this contest ate :) great opportunity nga na join nako akong entry :) congrats to the winners btw :) see you around here :)

Thank you pud kaayo for joining @carlitojoshua! <3 See you sa open discussions this sat yeeee!

magandang contest to.. congrats to all the winners and submitted their entries... good job

Yaaaay thanks jez! :D

Yeeyy! Thank you so much for choosing my entry and for initiating this awesome contest, @smaeunabs! I'll be waiting for your next contest. Cheers to financial freedom! :D

Thank you so much for participating @jemzem! Your entry is such an inspiration to us all. yaaaay puhon2, cheers! :D

Wow! Thank you @smaeunabs. Didn't expect to win.

Yaaaay you deserve it, @abchro! Just continue with what you are doing :D

@smaeunabs... I did not expect to win. Char hahaha. Thank you for initiating this contest... :-) To more of this...

Heeeey congrats for being featured sa @bayanihan! Well-deserved kaayo! hahahaha aw of course maghuna2 pakos para next challenge hahaha

Hahahah... agguuyyy nag hilum hilom rako bwahaha... Thank you...

Sige sige... mayntag naa koy ma budget sunod ui tahahaha

Yehey nakadaug ko. Salamat ani mam @smaeunabs! Bisag di ko maayo mosuwat, napansin jud. Hahahhaha. Yehey! Congrats sa ubang mananaog!

Sir!!! Sige nakag ka champion! Congratulations!!! 😍 We believe in you!!!

Contest jud ang nagbuhi nako sa Steemit. Hehehh

mao man diay ni siya sa iring iring contest HAHAHAHA

Ahahah. Ayawg saba sa iring iring oi. Hahhah

Hahaha... yeah... intellegent kaayu... 😍🙀👊🏻 Pawerr!!!

yaaaay congrats @christianyocte! curie napud sunod :D

Mayta jud... Hahha. Maong magcge lang tag drawing ani hangtod mapansin.

congratulations everyone! Lets work on more sa atong budgeting. Thank you for laying your budgeting practices. I am learning from them:)

wow congrats sa tanan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60