How a Working Student Survived College | Budget Challenge

in #thebudgetchallenge6 years ago (edited)

2018-04-25-12-40-44.jpg

That's me with the heart

I would like to participate in #thebudgetchallenge of @smaeunabs who is a financial literacy advocate. In this challenge, she wants to know how people budget their finances. I find this challenge fun and helpful. So, here I am sharing my budgeting allocations during college when I was working as a service crew of Jollibee to finance my studies. I hope this will be helpful and impactful to others especially to the students.


Literally Poor

My parents are financially poor. In fact, after high school, I worked in a public market in Mandaue since my parents could not afford to send me to college.


FB_IMG_1524630996321.jpg

Work to Study

I submitted a job application in Freemont Foods Corporation (Jolibee) and fortunately was hired as a service crew. I worked there from 2009 to 2012. During those times, my basic pay was 33.00 per hour. Basically, the payday is scheduled every 15th and 30th of the month. My average working hours in a 15-day period was only 65 hours. So roughly, my gross pay was around 2,145.00 pesos.


Study and Work

I took up Bachelor of Secondary Education major in Industrial Technology at Cebu Technological University. I was a regular college student. By saying that, I mean I took all the subjects offered every semester and paid the full tuition of the school. Since it is under SUC or State Universities and Colleges, my tuition was only about 5,600.00 every semester.

Fare Expenses : Home, School, Work

  • I live in Canduman, Mandaue City. I needed to ride a tricycle and a jeepney (13C) to reach the school. That's about 20.00 pesos.
  • After my class, I traveled directly to Jollibee to work. The fare from Cebu City to Jollibee Banilad was 9.00 pesos.
  • After work, at around 1:00 AM, I rode a jeepney and a tricycle towards home. That's around 15.00 pesos.
  • So the total daily fare allowance was 44.00 pesos.

Food Allowance

I ate breakfast at home, I did not take snacks during breaktime unless my college friends would share their snacks, and I had free meals in Jollibee. So, my budget for food was only 20.00 pesos for the viand.

Tuition Fees

As said above, my tuition was about 5,600.00 per semester. There were 5 months per semester, which means there are 10 paydays per semester. I divided my tuition fee to ten paydays so thats 5,600.00 divided by 10. Every payday, I pay around 560.00 (Jollibee took care of this directly to CTU) for the tuition.

Let's do the Math:

Cash FlowRemarks
2,145.00Average Salary / 15 days
- 560.00Deduction : Tuition
1,585.00Net Pay
- 660.00Fare Allowance/ 15 days
925.00
- 300.00Food Allowance/ 15 days
625.00School Expenses, Projects /15 days

Screenshot_20180425_121321.png

Daily Budget

If I would calculate it in a daily basis my daily budget for study and work was 143.00 pesos only.

Daily BudgetAllocations
37.00Tuition
44.00Fare
20.00Food
41.00Others

FB_IMG_1524631066242.jpg
Being a working student was very difficult especially in managing my finances. I admit there were times when I intentionally do not pay for my fare in the jeepney (Mokong Pa More) for shortage of budget and also there were times when I walked from the tricycle terminal to our home. But all those sacrifices paid off when I finished my studies and eventually landed a permanent job as public high school teacher the year after my graduation.


Logopit_1519716196550.jpg

Sort:  

Oh wow! This is such an inspiration @christianyocte! We actually share the same situation during college days, except I was not a working student. I only do sidelines to support myself financially. I can still remember just drinking water all day for my allowance was only enough to pay for my transpo expenses.

I was actually shocked when I learned about your daily food allocation. Saan aabot ang 20 pesos mo?

You are a living example that poverty isn't a hindrance to achieving life's success. Look at where you are right now :) If you managed to be disciplined with the little that you had, how much more now that you already have a stable income.

Thank you so much for sharing your story with us, Christian! Keep aiming high! :D

Thank you mam, @smaeunabs.

The experience taught me lessons big time. I am also very thankful to the people who were there during those times giving me free lunch, financing my photocopy needs, paying for my fare, and others.

Im just so blessed being surrounded by people who are very generous and helpful. God provides..... supportive and helpful people.

Super agree! We may not have enough financial capability, but God never failed to give us generous and loving people who greatly contributed to what we have become. :)

Nose bleed na jud ko. Di na ko oi. Hahahha. Bitaw salamat mam. Heehe... Murag parehas jud tag hugot sa life.

Amen sistah!!

Hi christian. Im gonna give u an upvote and follow u for 3 reasons..

  1. Taga canduman sad ka
  2. Your story is inspiring
  3. you were honest saPamukong. 😂

Thank u for this post.

Hahahha kalingaw... Hala ikaw tong nag pole dancing pag steem summit? Taga canduman pud ka mam? Kalingaw... Karelate kas pamukong or nalingaw ra ka. Hahhah

Mamukong ko oi. Ug usa ra ka aping sa akong lobot maka lingkod..aw.hahah

Kana jud... Kanang usa ra ka aping. Hahhah. LR kaayi kag post makalingaw.

Ka nice uy congrats, samokAa ma mokong Hahahaha

Ayg saba sa ma mokong. Panagsa ra na. Intentional og unintentional. Hahahah

A story of success! I can't imagine how difficult it was being a working student. I get really tired just by spending my time studying how much more doing both. You are such an inspiration. Good luck on your future endeavors and I hope you win the challenge. ;)

PDF is the key...
Perseverance
Determination
Focus

Hahahh just synonyms hahahh thanks for dropping by. I wish you success and happiness in your endeavors as well.

wow! I learned something PDF! When it comes to hardships, I got through to it as well but there is always a light at the end of the tunnel:)

Hahahha... Yeah that is a PDF only. Hahahah

When I was in college, sometimes, I was eating Ramen noodles. I was living in Vietnam and people there, generally, had a tight budget on food.

You can join brother!

More often, those who experienced some hardships in finishing school are more successful than those who had it easy.
Budgeting is a skill, you'll be fine. Be proud.

Thank you for that theory.

I think I have to agree with you if success means happiness. I am certainly happy now! Im very proud of my past self because it made me who I am today.

Happy Lang!

It's not a theory actually if that's what some people see or have experienced.
Define success.

Success is happiness in its truest meaning, it is living life to the fullest and doing your purpose on Earth.

Wow.. Mao diay, GO CTU!!!!! 😁😁 lisod jud magpart time sir oii, nag jollibee sad ko sauna kay wa juy pang-enroll ba pero for 2 months ra kay pahilakon nya kos among chairman, kamang kaayo sa skwela. Grabe disiplina nimo sir, you're an inspiration.. I salute you 😍

Uu maong CTU😁 sayon raman sad educ oi😁 dili parehas sa engr,

Lisod man siguro tanan kurso sir.. Lahi2 lang tag field of specialties 😁😁

Sige oi. Daug na lang ka😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73