THE BUDGET CHALLENGE: My Approach in my Financial Management | Recipe to Success

in #thebudgetchallenge6 years ago (edited)

In response to @smaeunabs #thebudgetchallenge, I would like to share to you guys on how I manage my finances and to where it is allocated.

This challenge is not only interesting for it is an opportunity for me to earn here on steemit but also I considered this challenge interesting since I feel like this is a REMINDER if I am still sticking with my budget plan. Am I still on the right track in handling my finance?

Let me share to you an equation which I primarily considered in budgeting.

INCOME - SAVINGS = EXPENSES

Sometimes following this equation is really hard especially when my cravings tempt me. Still a WORK IN PROGRESS in applying this equation. The 50-30-20 Rule in managing my finance is also a great help for me now in achieving my financial goals. This rule was influenced by my bestfriend which is a financial adviser. And mind you, this rule  really helps me surviving for the next payday.

Below are the details on how I manage my monthly cash flow.

 

I believe that while I am still in my early 20s I should satisfy my wants now while I still don't have a great financial responsibility in the family so that is why I allocated 30% of my income to my wants. And also to reward myself in doing a great job, this will keep me motivated in working for my future goals. 

In my experience now, that 30% allocation is an excess budget for my wants. Since I have these 3 considerations before buying something that is only to satisfy my wants. First is Can I afford this? Second, Do I really need this? And lastly, Do I like this thing? (sometimes we really don't like that certain material, the urge to buy that is influence by the trends)

My 10% income is allocated to Emergency Funds such as hospitalization and the other 10% is allocated to my Long Term Investments such as Life Insurance, Bank Time Deposits etc.

Moreover, the 50% of my income goes to my expenses. Expense which are consist of the following:

I think my expenses now really consume great allocation in my income since I am just living alone and renting a boarding house. Sometimes, just to stick with my daily allowance I do cost cutting in my food budget and miscellaneous. Every payday, I go to grocery to buy all my needs for the whole month in order to save for atleast Php 200.00 a month. 

So, here is the breakdown of my daily budget:

Transportation : Php 40.00 fare back and forth

Meal Allowance : Php 60.00 will be my daily budget for my food (PS: I'm on diet now and I only eat veggies for viand.. Meat are for cheat day only, every after payday) .Maybe you can ask "Is that enough?" Definitely yes! In the morning I only eat 1 pc of boiled egg and for lunch I only buy viand which are veggies & I always bring rice.

Miscellaneous : Php 20.00 will be spend for afternoon snacks but most of the time I don't eat snacks so that Php 20.00 will be added to my budget for dinner or will go to my little cutie piggy bank.

I also have my excel workbook which is entitled as "Hannah - Bookkeeping Record"

This workbook helps me to monitor my cashflow. I will just input my income and my expenses comes with its corresponding transaction details. I formulated it so that it will automatically compute my cash on hand.

So that would be all for my #thebudgetchallenge by @smaeunabs. My apology, I'm not really good at explaining when it regards to my finance management. 

Thank you for spending time in reading my #thebudgetchallenge. God Bless!

Regards,

@abchro
Sort:  

Wow! I am so impressed. Its wonderful!

Thank you for the appreciation. God bless

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by abchro being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Wow! Your budgeting technique is pretty much impressive @abchro! I can sense how determined you are in building your financial goals. It's good to know that you are also thinking about long-term investments.

Btw, murag nakit an gyud tka pag steemsummit ba. Didnt know it was you hahahaha next meetup, dungan nalang ta uli, mingla man sad ka diba?

Yes I'm thinking bout long term investments. Influenced by my bestfriend. Hihi

Yes, kita sad btw ko nimu. Katagdanun ko pero maulaw jud ko. Hahah

whoah i hope I can also survive with 1 egg only for breakfast. I admire how systematic you are when it comes to budgeting.

Thank you! Hahahha yes naanad nlng ku. At first lisud cya

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71