A Summary of My Financial Activities for the First Quarter of the Year

in #finance6 years ago (edited)

If we try to look back at the first day of this year, those visions, resolutions, and dreams were overflowing in an awe-inspiring way that it felt like we all had the motivation and the determination necessary to achieve those desires unlike the past years full of promises. Now, let me ask you, from that time of swearing until now, what have you done to make those aspirations come to reality? Maybe some of them are finally accomplished but I’m pretty sure most of them aren’t. Well, I am talking about the financial aspect.

Summary of Financial Activities.png

And now that the first quarter of the year has finally ended, I want you to reassess, reflect, and learn from the previous months of your personal financial activities just like how I learned from what I am about to share to you. I honestly don’t think most people will find this personal financial summary an interesting piece to read, but I hope this will inspire you to keep pushing on your life’s financial goals.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

January 2018

Income vs Expenses.png

This is the first time I used a Money Manager app, wherein I can input all my daily income and expenses. I actually shared a blog on how this app works, so if you’re interested, kindly check it here.

Income. As you can see, major part of my January income came from my Sidelines. A huge portion of it is from my Steemit earnings when Steem Dollar’s price was still around $10. That time, I had so many wins from my Cryptocurrency tradings as well which basically added to my sidelines. On the last week of January, I started doing a loading business, contributing a fragment to my overall income. On the first month of the year, I earned a lot from my sidelines compared to my monthly salary, amazing, isn’t it? I am surprised as well, considering I have an 8-10-hour job six times a week.

Expenses. Majority of my earnings were spent for my family (monthly bills, cash gifts, groceries, etc.) The next major expenses were travel, load, and food expenses.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

February 2018

Income vs Expenses (1).png

Income. This time, I had acquired loyal customers from my loading business. Co-workers, friends, and neighbors are already recognizing my one-text/chat-away – pay later service. As usual, I got a significant amount from my sidelines. The “other” income comprises the borrowed money by my friends during 2017’s Christmas season, while the last piece of the pie is from my mother’s savings since I encouraged her to save something from her little ice-candy business. I will be the one to hold it for her not to spend it right away.

Expenses. Next to the expenses for my family, I opened a stock market account in COL financial. Finally, one of my financial goals was achieved. The “other” portion is for my mutual fund investment and my emergency fund. I also started joining the sinking fund at work and allocated some bank savings and travel fund for my Coron, Palawan trip this September. Basically, I initiated most of my short term and long term savings and investments in the month of February.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

March 2018

Income vs Expenses (2).png

Income. This time, my income from sidelines is almost equal to my salary, but my loading business proceeds boosted significantly. I also started a small rice business at home, giving me a fraction of my income for March.

Expenses. Next to my usual family expenses, the huge amount of my March earnings were spent for building my Emergency Fund, topping up my stock market portfolio during the market dip, and adding to my travel fund.

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

After having an assessment of this personal financial summary, I came up with the goals for this month and the next months to come as follows:

  • Continue building up my emergency fund. My target for this is to reach a hundred thousand pesos before the year ends.
  • Consistently top up my mutual funds and stock market investments. Allocate at least 20% of my monthly income for my long-term investments.
  • Lessen food expenses by bringing lunch and snacks.
  • Do weekly and monthly financial assessments

I made this blog post not just to inspire my fellow millennials to handle their finances seriously, but also to keep myself reminded of my financial goals. If there’s one important thing I learned while keeping track of my actual income and expenses is the increased financial sensitivity to sacrifice some of my wants in order to achieve greater things in the future for I know and I strongly believe that what I am consistently doing at the moment will reward me great yields in order to reach my goals in life.

How about you? Do you constantly assess your financial activities? If yes, then how often?

DQmZVURJwjhLKuw4xWRdZ76qjSzrSeDfqPMp1PEjkfXAckm_1680x8400.png

DQmT8MFECsM9DgBVvNwWAo2tHBh6FuEHscUoixfHUDzx4uX.jpg

DQmf2KLgzeQF3cWheFcqJXsw7oxmDofpdfnBvgq1Ebba9Vy.gif

Sort:  

This is awesome Ate @smaeunabs. I should also start doing this to monitor my finances.

Yay thankyou @ankarlie! Consider using Money Manager app, napaka simple ng features ng app na yan :D

super like dai!

thanks ate! :D

Wow!! amazing jud ka shei. Travel plan on September, uban ko bi..heheheh
Good job. It is nice to have a sideline and not depend on our salary.

thanks ate hahahah naka book nami pero pwede ra tka isulod sa bag :D
mao gyud te dli madala ug sweldo lang ang saligan. magka utang2 gyud ta ana ba dli gyud enough

Your post let me start to think what would be my "sidelines". Yey! Thank you..I tried ESL and my 9hour job doing at the same time , 3 mos. is dreadful ahahahah. I tried also selling leche flan in my office but I got tired woah I think I need to go back to sideline ideas! I installed the Mywallet App and got confused. I will try the Money manager hihih. Thank you for this, it awakens my senses.

Ganyan din ako noon, I always ran out of ideas for the sidelines, then suddenly a business-minded friend suggested to study the basic needs of the market and become the solution. Doon ko naisipan mag loading business since right now, load becomes a necessity. Kaya sila na ang kusang lumalapit sa akin, no need to market hahaha

anyway, thank you so much for dropping by @orhem! yep! mas gusto ko itong money manager app, napaka simple lang ng features :D just change the currency settings from USD to PhP :D

Study the basic needs of the market and become the solution, this is really an eye opener thank you,yes mas simple ang money manager app gamitin😊

very good post to differentiate the contrast between income and expenses..

Yaay thanks jez! This helps me to stay motivated hahaha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by smaeunabs being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54