The Rings of Me Turn (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)


On the first ring of hell they laughed and called me names,
they taunted me with guilt and regret all my own,
that I had been the ruin of many a dame,
that I'd reaped bountifully from what I had sown.
But these were demons that, to me, were too unknown
so onward and downward with cowardice, I roamed.

On the second ring I saw the faces
the pained expressions from those in my life
the details were in the little spaces
that stole from my grief and gave to my strife.
But to these faces I owed no regret,
so to the next ring I traveled instead.

On the third ring there was silence,
a quiet that precedes the storm,
in it I found a violence
pain in simply being ignored.
But having never heard this sound
in wanderlust I traveled down.

On the fourth, there were dreams
I found I could not sleep,
nothing was as it seems
I needed faith to leap.
But these were not my thoughts
so further on I sought.

On the fifth ring
there was just me
and it was clear,
hell is ourselves.
This was my place,
I sought no more.



All Gifs used are from Giphy.com














Entries are due this Friday the 13th for the 1st Steemit Story Slam Challenge?!?

The 11th Poetry Slam Challenge is happening now! What's your message in a bottle?

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen & Upvoted by the Poetry-Trail of the Steemtrail Community.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Love your works.

Thank you very much

I had to read it aloud. Meant to be read aloud.

I agree, I was babbling this to myself all morning until I realized it was what I should write today. Thanks for reading

This one pierced the centerpiece of my soul. Wonderful way of approaching this topic. So creative and mesmerizing the journey you painted with your dripping words. I'll cherish this poem and ponder on it. Thank you for this and sharing it to us all. Upvoted

That means a lot to hear, I'm humbled that you found resonance in this

Me too, very moving piece indeed

Lovely!! Great write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79