Poetry Slam Challenge 11: Message in a Bottle

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Happy Friday, Steemy people!

A message in a bottle is a way of communicating with the outside world. In history, it was used to send distress messages by sailors in damaged or sinking ships. Even Columbus, during a storm in which he believed the ship would sink, threw a cask into the ocean with important information inside he hoped would make it back to his country. They never found that cask but we all know that he didn't sink that day.

Today, people still send out messages in bottles to find love or just to reach out to a stranger far away. It's a beautiful gesture to put ethereal thought onto corporeal paper and to cast it out into the world to be discovered by one stranger. I've always fantasized that I would one day walk along a beach to find a bottle with a message inside that, though not for me, would speak to me as though it were just for me.

We all have messages to share within us, so the theme for this Slam Challenge is Message in a Bottle! Your mission is to craft a poem that you would choose to put in a bottle and cast out into the ocean. What would you write about, or would you write to someone? Would you chastise humanity or make a special inspirational poem for someone, somewhere to read and feel just a little better? There's only one way to find out: POETRY SLAM!

Prizes:

1st - 50 Steem

2nd - 30 Steem

3rd - 10 Steem

Here's an example and the poem I would have submitted for this:

Poetry Slam Challenge 11: Don't Be Like Me


If found, do not return me anywhere

I am exactly where I need to be:

settling in your hands

full of mystery.

I come with a message made just for you

hand-written one night by the candle light

though it took me a year

to find the right words.

But finally I did find the right words

that would transcend the ocean, time, and space

and I scribbled them down

afraid I'd forget.

Finished, I sat back and read it out loud

"Don't be like me, don't keep your words inside."

Rules (No Rulers)

  • Each entry must be presented on the writer's own blog.
  • Max 3 entries per Poetry Slam please :)
  • Your entry should be titled:
    Poetry Slam Challenge 11: (Name of your entry).
  • Please use the #poetryslamchallenge tag so that your entries can be easily found and processed.
  • You can use gifs, jpg, png, etc in this post as long as you cite sources.
  • A total of 4 entries will be selected for the next round: Community Voting! I will be choosing the 4 that will advance to the voting round to compete for the Steem Prizes!
  • The community will vote on these 4 poems. Upon close of the Community Vote post, the poem with the highest amount of votes will receive 1st place, second highest 2nd place and so on. Based on liquid steem/sbd, there will also be honorable mentions. All of my Slam posts are set to 50/50 to raise rewards for the winners.

I have an idea about what some of you might put in your message bottle, but I want to hear from all of you! Good Luck!

















Gifs were sourced from GIPHY.com and Image was sourced from Pixabay

Have you started your story yet for the 1st Steemit Story Slam Challenge?!? Check out the details, and get writing! The Story Slam ends on Friday the 13th!

Sort:  

Hello @prufarchy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you, I'll be by later to refresh on how to claim my token! It's an honor :)

That sounds fun. Will get my thinking cap on. Might do a positive and a negative one.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

When is the cut off date for entry to this challenge?

In my head I had set the date to Friday the 13th. It would've helped a lot if I'd included that in the post haha. Great catch, thanks.

Friday, January 13th :)

Wonderful idea. It is great to have you back!

Happy New Year To You.

Beautiful poem - Upvoted and ReSteemed.

It is great to be back @girlbeforemirror ! I hope your New Year is going great so far :)

Thank you for the compliment and I hope hope hope to see work from you. I always love reading your art.

Great challenge as always @prufarchy, definitely gonna see how this turns out. I'm sure the other entries are going to be wonderful.
Upvoted

If we're lucky we'll get another great work from you :)

Thanks for being involved with these slams all this time :)

I hope what I write is impactful indeed, thank you for the appreciation, it's great to be involved in the poetry community at such a personal extent. The pleasure is truly mine.

Beautiful entry.

Sorry for my late reply, thank you very much for taking time out your day to read my poem entry. I enjoyed yours as I said before. Appreciate your comment.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

I guess I am back in this contest. This gives me so much motivation to write here. Thanks @prufarchy .

and that, @jyezie, gives me so much motivation to continue doing these challenges. Thank you for being a part of it again!

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Fantastic idea!

Thank you :) make sure to check out the poems that come out on the tag, these people are talented

Will try it is hard to keep up these days!

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Hehe, chastise humanity - get out of my head!!! ;0)

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60956.08
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50