Steemit Story Slam Challenge 1 - Open MicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is a new slam challenge for a new year!

First of all I'd like to clarify that the poetry slam isn't going anywhere, this is another challenge so I can find more reasons to give away SBD/Steem/myfirstborn/blood to the community that gives me so much in a non-monetary way (monetary too though, but the non-material rewards is what keeps me hooked). If you love to write fiction or non-fiction, this is the challenge for you!

First, everyone loves rewards so here's the reward structure for the 1st Steemit Story Slam Challenge:

1st - 100 Steem

2nd - 50 Steem

3rd - 25 Steem

Theme

While there will be themes for future Steemit Story Slam Challenges, this first one is an open call. That means:

  • Tell us a Fiction or Non-fiction story.
  • There is no specific theme, so get writing about any topic you'd like, just make it a story!
  • Since a good story can't be defined by its length, there is no specified length. However, 1 liner stories (unless mind-blowingly brilliant) will most likely not make it into the community voting round. The same goes for stories that go over the word limit in the editor. So no Cliffhangers, though it can be a complete story that you follow up on in a later Story Slam.
  • There isn't a requirement for the use of imagery, but this is Steemit. Let's be realistic, if you submit a wall of text as your story don't be surprised if readers can't get through it. Big walls of text actually hurt my eyes, so I'll even have trouble with it, though I'll read it of course! So use images, gifs or whatever helps tell your story.

Life Pro Tip: Don't plagiarize! Cite your sources!

Rules & How it Works

  • Each entry must be presented on the writer's own blog. You may also add a link to the entry story on your blog in the comments of this post.

  • Max 2 entries per Story Slam please :)

  • Your Steemit Story Slam Challenge entry should be titled:

    Steemit Story Slam Challenge 1: (Name of your entry).

  • Please use the #ssschallenge tag so that your entries can be easily found and processed.

  • A total of 4 entries will be selected for the next round: Community Voting! Have you voted for who should win the 10th Poetry Slam yet? There's still a couple of hours to get in there and pick from 3 awesome poems!

  • The community will vote on these 4 stories. Upon close of the Community Vote post, the story with the highest amount of votes will receive 1st place, second highest 2nd place and so on. Based on liquid steem/sbd, there will also be honorable mentions. All of my Slam posts are set to 50/50 to raise rewards for the winners.

  • I will be submitting a story in support of this slam though as the person selecting the stories that will compete for the prizes, of course I'm ineligible to win.

  • If YOU would like to contribute as a Steemit Story Slam Selector for future slams, get in contact via Chat! Each Selector will be able to pick one story that will go through to the community voting round. With no current selectors, I will be making those choices. The goal is to have a rotating cast of selectors for each slam so we can get MOAR community involvement going!

  • The deadline for the 1st Steemit Story Slam Challenge is Friday the 13th (BOO!), 2017 by midnight (UTC -4).

I want to thank all of you awesome human beings who have and continue to participate in the Poetry Slam Challenges, you are so loved. I hope you will join me (and tell me a story) in this new Slam, and I hope the community at large enjoys (and VOTES) what they read! Get Write in 2017!

Special thanks to @timsaid for the Steemit pin!!




Sort:  

Hot damn this is a fantastic idea!!!

I hope we get some great stories out of it :)))

I love writing!
I love winning!
I love this contest!
LOL
So... I'd better get writing then, right? Dang, I wish there was a theme... I may have to come up with a spooky campfire story. :)

I almost made it themed but I wanted diversity of theme for this first one :) for example... a spooky campfire story ;)... soooo looking forward to it

Oh. I want to participate. Can i join? Hehe

That would be wonderful!

Awesome idea.

Resteemed!!

I absolutely did enjoy reading it! Thank you for your entry!

This is a very compelling story! Do you think you could find a way to turn this into a Steemit Story Slam post (titled per the rules)? id love to enter this as is but you're on part 8 or 9 of it, and we need an entry that could be considered a complete story.

That being said, you already made a fan out of me.

Except that the story isn't finished yet. I'm also a little confused about how to submit. You mean just use the Kid That Became A Guy as the title, provide all links and use your tag?

Well that's the thing... you already posted this story 25 days ago and part of the details is to post your story as a new post, titled for the challenge and tagged with #ssschallenge. This helps the author receive rewards on their own through the exposure of the challenge (ideally), and it serves an organizational purpose as well as it helps the selectors find all the work in one place while also helping to promote the Slam to newer members looking for a place to share their voice.

So I'm not sure if anyone would have an issue if you reposted this story as a submission for the Slam, but here's my feeling and everyone is encouraged to chime in here...

This first challenge is an open mic styled theme so I'm personally okay with this story being reposted, as it is a good story and i could see it as a complete stand alone tale about a young man's traumatic experience that has an end.

But it should be a new post with the Slam formatted title (Steemit Story Slam Challenge 1: (story title)), with the #ssschallenge tag included. Not just links, but the whole story. And you may want to disclose that the story is a repost being submitted for the Slam.

That's alright...just forget it. I don't want the rules bent on my behalf. I didn't know it had to be new material.

I think it's just more of a grey area, not a rule bending.

But I respect whatever choice you ultimately make. Given the writing talent you have, maybe you have a new story to share with us?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50