What have YOU done for our newbies lately?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm pretty sure most of us are in agreement on atleast one thing: To make Steemit great, we need to keep adding more members to it.

Header sunrise

In this, the amount of new accounts isn't as important as the amount of active members. We're seeing a lot of new people signing up to the platform. What's important now is to keep these people active. These new accounts are useless if the new members don't see any value in this platform and decided to return to their other social media accounts. You know, where all of their friends and family are.

Now, I am convinced that the overall attitude of our community is great. It would not be a lack of kindness that disheartens these new members. What I've noticed mostly are two things:

  1. I don't know how this all works.
  2. I feel invisible.

Number 1 can be battled by writing some informational posts. I've seen these popping up everywhere and they are generally well received by our new members. I've seen many Thank you's on mine.

Number 2 is an ongoing battle. We all need to pitch in here. Don't stick to welcoming a few members in their introduction posts. Follow them if they share the same interests. Comment on their other posts. Give an upvote or two. You don't have to use your full voting power. Heck, I've been forced to scale down the percentages with all the upvoting I've been doing lately. Just try to make them feel heard.

On the flipside, I think our new members have to realise that it takes some time to gather a following here. We've all been through it and the more people join, the harder it is to get noticed. So to new members, I give the same advice: Comment! Comment on interesting things. Get a conversation going. This gets you noticed!

Ofcourse, getting even more new members in is great too. Bring your friends over. You surely won't go unnoticed then! Why hang around on Facebook if you can gather some crypto here by basically doing the same thing. Well, except for the fact that ideally, Steemit requires more quality in posts.

Anyway, I started this by asking what you have done for our newbies lately. Let's start with me, seeing as this is my post!

I've been trying to take some time to welcome new members through their introduction posts. When they share content I find interesting, I follow them. Besides that, I've been trying to do a bit more commenting.

I have also written a few informative posts. From old to new:
The currencies of Steemit- A flowchart (15 days ago)
About followers and upvotes (10 days ago)
The many faces of Steemit (7 days ago)
About self-promotion (3 days ago)
About resteeming and how I maintain my blog (2 days ago)

I also highlighted some new Steemians:
Some new Steemians
New Steemians part 1
New Steemians part 2
New Steemians part 3
New Steemians part 4
My two favorite articles of new Steemians
New Steemians part 5

What have you done to give our new members a warm welcome? Any tips for your fellow Steemians?



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


My own image used as a header for my blog posts.


Sort:  

thanks for the advice. I am new here and feel the frustration that spending so much time on a article that only gets seen by 3 people. However, I am ready to put in the due diligence since I see the future for the Steem. I appreciate the acknowledgement that the hard work will pay off.

It really will! You just need time to build up your following :-)
Comment on other people's posts to start conversations. It will really speed things along!

Thanks again! It is simply nice to have the validation.... I am excited to be a part of this!

Good advice! ... although i am still new, i see how many other newbies struggle to get their account working, and many get frustrated because they don't get noticed and their post does not get more than 1 cent...

Definitely. Ofcourse, newbies also should be realistic and not expect to get rich quick here. It takes a lot of time to build up a good following and a lot of good quality articles to keep it. This is something the long standing members have had to do aswell.

Great article! As someone who just joined 2 weeks ago, I have seen some really cool top people come out and support my efforts. It's very easy for them to do when you provide quality original content.

To be honest, I could come to steemit and just entertain myself by reading and viewing all the content. Those of us who produce our own content really appreciate the support we get from the bigger guys and gals out there. SO THANKS! Oh and I'm really excited about SteemQ. CAN'T WAIT!

Thank you for the positive thoughts! I'm happy to hear you've had some good support in your first weeks :-)

I've been here less than 2weeks and while I'm loving my first ever attempts writing anything, anywhere. However I fear I'm losing my chance at influencing friends and family into participating more. I'm proud of the following I've gained in such a short time however the people In my life I've convinced to join aren't getting the same from it. I needed a place to say my piece and interact with like minded individuals before I alienated my friends and loved ones. I've spent a long time trying to help people wake up and this platform is IMO special and will make a difference. Unfortunately the people watching me on the sidelines aren't getting it as they see my small successes as insignificant.
Help.

Aww that's such a shame! I haven't managed to get many people to join yet either. I think cryptocurrency is very far away for most people. I don't think they see how they can even use it in real life, which I completely understand. Besides that, all of the people they know are probably on other social media sites, so why would they join yet another one where their friends aren't? I think the easiest people to convince are bloggers and other creators. The people who already have their own blogs, websites or video channels. They would benefit from the extra traffic and the earnings, even if they don't fully understand them yet. I am not yet sure how to convince most others to join.

True. Sometimes when you're close to people it's easier to get them to learn from others. A bit like when you're young and refuse to learn from your parents.

Hey. Thank you for your commitment :)

Thank you for the great piece and for thinking of the little guy. I have only recently started to become active and it's tough to be visible. Must say though that i make a post virtually no one else does (i share deephouse mixes) and it's already enough to start a little following :)

Oh that's great! I hope you'll continue to do well and grow your little following :D

Great write up! Resteemed.. I think you hit on some important areas. Especially these two "I don't know how this all works. I feel invisible."
I think those are two of the biggest issues for new people!

I haven't had enough time lately, but I have been trying to go to the #introduceyourself tag every once and a while and I welcome new members. Though I agree, it's good to just interact more with others in general, even if they aren't new.

Thank you, I'm glad you like it! Yeah, many new people get great response on their intro post, but then activity dies down. It can't be helped completely, but it would be great if we keep up interaction a bit after the initial welcome.

Nice post @playfulfoodie, you make a lot of very good points in your article and it looks like you have created a lot of very helpful articles recently.

You are definitely correct that we need to help nurture and welcome the newcomers to the platform to prevent them quitting before they have really understood all that wonderful things that the platform has to offer.
As for what I've done:

Thank you! I think you've done a lot of good things aswell! :D

Great post, I have been doing just this. By commenting on new users posts, not only can I build my own following, but I can encourage them to stick around. I also try to reserve some of my resteeming for brand new users. I made my first $20 thanks to a high ranking user resteeming my post on my second day here. If it weren't for him I would have probably felt a little intimidated by the whole platform.

I am more interested in encouraging quality posters to stick around then just getting as many people as possible here. Once I have a big enough following to actually do some help, I will start to do features on new steemians and once I build up some STEEM I want to give awards to some promising new steemians and help them build a following.

I am more interested in encouraging quality posters to stick around then just getting as many people as possible here.

That is absolutely true! It's why I've been featuring the most well written introduction posts I have seen. I know not everyone is equally able to write such posts and I do welcome everyone, but some people deserve that bit of extra attention :-)

You have a great look on things and I'm glad you're encouraging new users :D

Always helping people out, I need to be more like you!

I am not that helpful! Doesn't take much to write a few posts, but thank you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38