My two favorite articles of new Steemians

in #minnows7 years ago

I don't feel like going through the introduction posts today, so instead, I'm sharing two posts of two new Steemians I found!

Header sunrise

The first post is Comet: Tom's Tail
This post was written by @novaatebatman and not only the post itself, but also the comment that followed showed me what an interesting guy this is. He takes the time to have an actual conversation with his fellow Steemians, which makes him a great addition to our community. His dream of one day having a cats and dogs rescue and sanctuary touched me. His plan to then train these rescues as therapy and service animals and give them to veterans, and anyone that needs them free of charge, showed me his selflessness. I hope he'll do well here on Steemit!

The second post is: Journey to Chicago
@pauljosepharcher's second post led me to check out his profile and find this first post he shared. He talks about moving to a new place, further than he's ever been. He actually talks about the trip there. You would think reading about the drive up there wouldn't be too interesting and how much can be said about one man driving in a car? But the way he writes this story makes you keep on reading. I'm glad to be his first follower and I hope many more will follow!

Please give our new members a warm welcome!



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


My Deviantart image used as a header for my blog posts.


Sort:  

Thank you!

I really don't consider myself selfless. I try to remain a balance of selflessness and selfishness. When it comes to animals, I am pretty selfless. When there's not enough money for groceries and cat food, the cats are always fed. The way I see it, it's not their fault we don't have money, and it's our responsibility to care for them.

I'm really glad for your second choice! I read that post yesterday but lost it. I've been looking for him!

Thank you for being such a warm, welcoming, and encouraging person. I've often been thrown away by life and other people. You really make me feel like maybe I can belong here and maybe I have something of value to share.

I'm happy to be able to do this for you! I do hope you'll have a good time here on Steemit. I know it can take a while to get settled and grow your own set of followers, but it is well worth it. The community is very nice and I think you'll do great! Your comments actually bring value to people's posts, which will gain you many friends eventually.

When there's not enough money for groceries and cat food, the cats are always fed. The way I see it, it's not their fault we don't have money, and it's our responsibility to care for them.

And that is why you deserve this :D

Thank you. :) I really hope you're right.

This place actually reminds me a lot of Blipfoto. Which reminds me that I haven't blipped in almost a year because of an avalanche of events that felt like too much to update everyone there about.

I need to stop putting it off. I need to introduce them to Comet!

You should! I actually never heard of Blipfoto before and will pretend I didn't just now. Steemit already eats away too much of my time ;-)

Blipfoto is a daily one-photo-a-day photoblog with an absolutely incredible community. They care about the content of your photos, not the quality. They are invested in you as a person, not your photography skills.

I was an idiot and during a really horrible time in my life (that sadly hasn't concluded yet) I self-destructed and pulled away from my incredible blipfamily there. When I'm feeling especially worthless, I feel like I don't deserve the love and support of others, and that I'm selfishly stealing their time if I accept it.

It's a real problem for me. I'm trying to get over it. But it's a very hard mindset to get out of. Baby steps. Teeny tiny little baby steps.

Yeah, that mindset sounds familiar, I've had many of those sort of thoughts aswell. For me, I sometimes struggle with thoughts of people not enjoying my company. Thinking why should I try to stay in contact when they can be doing so much more interesting things than talking to me.

It's not too big of a problem for me though, because I'm not the most social person around. Social activities drain my energy like crazy, so I'm much more comfortable on my own (well, with my boyfriend).

My energy levels are low and very limited. But I can also feed off the energy of people I'm spending time with in person. I'm actually fairly social, I just don't get many opportunities to socialize. I don't know if you know what an empath is, but it makes making and keeping friends extremely difficult.

Because of my ability to feed off energy, and the fact that one of my chronic illnesses is treated with infusions of IVIG (a blood product, though I've been without IVIG for going on eight years now), I sometimes like to refer to myself as both a sanguine and psychic vampire.

And since I had to have all my teeth removed last year, if I can ever afford dentures, I'm tempted to have dentures with vampire fangs made. (Keep in mind, this is mostly an inside joke regarding my health and how little I feel like a human/actual person. Not feeling like a human doesn't mean I feel like I'm something else, I really just feel less than. The vampire joke is my way of making light of it all and making others a little confused. I'm definitely not one of those people that believes they're a vampire and being a vampire is serious business.)

I'll stop my rambling now. ^^;;

Haha, wow, that's actually a great idea about the vampire fangs. It sounds like you've had it pretty tough, for which I'm sorry for you. But I guess all of our past experiences make us who we are today and I'm sure you're a pretty stand up guy today, which is great!

Don't you need those infusions anymore? Or is it more of a high costs thing that you don't get them anymore (if you don't mind me asking)?

Two good choices @playfulfoodie .... I shall follow them both and see how they progress. To be honest though, reading @novaatebatman's (Nova Ate Batman??? I would love to hear the origin of that handle) conversation with you made me feel like a strong drink {smile}..and no offence meant by that.

I completely understand that.
I'm happy to have given them this bit of extra exposure, thank you for checking out the links :-)

No offense taken. I feel like a strong drink, too, and it's only 8:40am here. (Not that I have a normal schedule.)

Origin of my handle? I have a massive black Main Coon/Norwegian Forest Cat named Nova. A few years ago, my husband and I were talking about a bad situation we were in on the drive home from picking Nova up after a full day at the vet.

To emphasize how few options we had, I was listing off people that couldn't or wouldn't help us. Nova was very angry (he'd had anesthesia that day) and bitey, so I said, "And Nova ate Batman, so we're all out of heroes."

And it just kinda stuck. I have another similar handle that my husband tends to use now, while I moved on to use NovaAteBatman.

Nice, thanks for clarifying that... and I hope you share a pic of Nova sometime in the future. Steemians tend to love photographs .

No problem! Sorry, it's probably not as interesting as you thought!

Planning on posting one of him soon.

Nova and Cosmo are usually the main focuses of my cat picture posts. So I decided to start out on here with our newest addition, Comet.

I'll probably make a 'meet the boys' post a bit later today.

Not at all I think ""And Nova ate Batman, so we're all out of heroes." was a great chirp.

Why thank you!

it is kind of you to support new steemians, it will encourage them to continue posting

Thank you, I hope this gives them a little more exposure early on in their Steemit adventures :-)

sure it does

Thanks! It's always nice to read you.
And it's good to share other's best!

Thank you for reading and the referral! I really appreciate it.

Not a problem! :-)

Helpful articles for newbies .

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43