The many faces of Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I had this idea of an article in my head. It was going to be called The three faces of Steemit. When I started researching this, it turns out three wasn't enough!

We all know Steemit.com. Our lovely site, based on the Steem blockchain, that displays all of our blog posts and lets us upvote and comment on those of others.

A while ago though, busy.org made some noise. Based on the same Steem blockchain, it also displays all of our blog posts and lets us upvote and comment on those of others. However, in the case of Busy, you place a more well-known like. And instead of Resteeming, you Reblog. Busy also offers a private chat option, which is something people miss on the Steemit platform.

Busy

All in all, I'd say Busy would be an easier transition for people who come here from other social media sites, like Facebook. Personally, I'm sticking with Steemit, because it was where I started and I'm used to it.

Then, I heard there was a third option to view the steem blockchain. I think it was more optimized for phone access. I forgot about the name of this one, so if anyone recalls it, could you please tell me in a comment?

Anyway, I thought I'd write about these three. However, when I checked our App Center, I found out there are even more sites based on the Steem blockchain!

Oneplace

Oneplace shows us our blog posts aswell. In the top-right corner, you can switched to Golos (a Russian version of Steemit). From what I'm seeing so far though, Oneplace is only a Steemit frontpage. As soon as you click on an article or a member's name, you're redirected to Steemit.com.

The App Center also shows an app called Steempress, but it's not working for me, so I can't tell you about this one.

Mapala

The last one I noticed was Mapala. This site states the following:

This is an experimental version of travel community, that pays money to authors for their articles. We have developed an up to date version that will be p2p tourism portal, based on 3 blockchains.

This looks to be an interesting way of using our travel blogs to help other people find tips for their future travels.

So, we have multiple sites that share our blogs with the world. They all look to have their own focus and are not all finished products yet. I think Busy is a great site to make Steemit seem less 'scary' to start with. What I worry about though, is mainly the difference in features.

What if someone uses Busy and uses the private chat option to connect with members? People who stick with the Steemit website will not know they have private messages waiting for them back on Busy.

The other thing I worry about it how it may confuse people. It might not be so bad though, because people who just started here will not know about the different sites based on the same blockchain. They are just joining this new place called Steemit, which can give them crypto for their participation.

If my above thought is the case now, maybe Steemit should aspire to be a bit more like Busy in the user friendliness department? Clean up the looks a bit and add a chat feature?

  • What are your thoughts on this?
  • Did I miss any sites that are also based on the Steem blockchain?
  • Which one of these do you use mainly? Steemit or Busy?


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Your thoughts are valuable!

Interesting review of the "many faces" of our community! I love to use Steemit.com, but I amit that Busy is very friendly to use. The mobile app is eSteem, but it don't work for me because my smartphone is too old to use it :D

Thank you! Yeah, Busy is very user friendly, but I just can't get myself to switch :-)

Ah, eSteem! I haven't tried it, mainly because my phone needs to be rooted to have access to my SD card for apps. Otherwise, I'd have no room at all to install any app... I don't know much about security on phones, so I don't want to entrust my login info to it, especially when it's rooted... I have a crappy phone :D

When I tried to install eSteem on my old pone, it said me "You have to buy a new phone!!!" lol
However, I love to use just directly steemit.com on my laptop :P

Haha :D
Ah, you reminded me! I need to fix my netbook, so I can take it with me when we're going on a 'trial run' in our new home! Bring Steemit with me :D

I would recommend only using your posting keys to login anywhere where security is questionable, or really any 3rd party apps.

Right, that's a good point! That brings a nice extra layer of security.

Brilliant article - never thought about the faces, makes all sense and is very well written too.

Thank you so much, I'm glad to hear that :-)

Thank you for this! Really good info. I didn't know about these... Mapala and Busy seem particulary interesting. I need to do some digging into Mapala but as far as Busy goes, I would stick to Steemit. Although private messages sounds nice...

I'm glad it was useful to you!
I haven't tried Mapala too much, it seems really new and still developing. Busy is pretty well thought out though and as far as I know, there are people who use it quite a bit. I like the private messages feature, but I'm sticking with Steemit aswell.

Likewise, but it is worth keeping an eye out for new developments...

How thoughtful of you to do this! :-)

Thanks for this article to let us know other websites based on the Steem blockchain. I didn't know them!

I'm glad it was helpful for you! I didn't know about half of these either before I started writing this article.

Excellent post. So many people wouldn't be aware of all these options, especially newbies.

That's what I thought :-)
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49