Putting my my money where my mouth is and requesting quotes for a #steemgigsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

I have been following the articles and videos produced by two people hugely advocating, promoting and investing in Steemit: @jerrybanfield and @craig-grant - they are both doing a great job of putting out quality, positive and informative content about Steemit; and I'm sure that it's helping to bring more organic content to the platform and along with that more users.

If you are followers of theirs, and happen to read all of the comments on their posts (super unlikely, I know!), then you might have noticed the following comments that I made:
One on @jerrybanfield's post entitled 10 Reasons for $10 Steem Price in 10 Months!:
comment_2.png

And another on @craig-grant's post entitled STEEM worldwide fiat gateway with Payza, by Charlie Shrem:
comment_1.png

The theme here being that I think that #steemgigs could be huge for the platform.

Why is #steemgigs so important?

Many of you will have heard about Bitcoin's Pizza Day - the day, in 2010, on which someone spent what is now an eye-watering amount of Bitcoin in order to buy two pizzas. Many people get caught up in the fact that the 10,000 BTC spent on pizza 7 years ago would now be worth a staggering $23,520,200 at today's price of Bitcoin and miss the key point to the story: it took someone spending 10,000 Bitcoin to get a product in the real world to make Bitcoin actually worth something. Without Pizza Day, or something similar, Bitcoin wouldn't be so valuable.

That is why I think that #steemgigs is so important for STEEM and Steemit; it's a great initiative, that really focuses on some of the key strengths of the Steemit platform:

  • We already have a reputation system
  • We already have an unprecedentedly fast and cheap, 24/7 payment mechanism
  • We already have a large, and growing, userbase
  • Peer-to-peer: No 3rd parties taking a cut anywhere along the chain

We need to make a concerted effort to get more STEEM flowing around the platform from service consumers to service providers - then Steemit will really hit the big time.

The gig

To those 13 people that viewed my post yesterday (thanks for taking the time to view my post and supporting me - it means a lot!), will have seen the somewhat laughable attempt at artwork (I was attempting to create an Ethereum mascot that looks similar to the Coin Telegraph's Ethereum logo mascot):

ether_climbing_meme_1.png

I know that there are artists, illustrators and photoshop wizzes out there that are hopefully willing show off their talents and to help me, but mostly the community - now is your time to come forward.

What I would like done is for someone to have a proper go at making the gray volume look more like it is climbing the wall.

You can be as imaginative and creative as you like: add more of the colorful, climbing, handholds or move them closer; add proper climbing gear to the character or even add some friend-coins enviously watching as Ethereum continues to climb. I can post the original pictures that I took, so that you can start from scratch.

I think that it's a great opportunity to show off the talent that the community has - and to be paid for your work, in STEEM.

I'm looking for quotes for what people are willing to do the work for in the comments below 👇👇👇 (and for the community to share this post far and wide so that more than 13 people view it).

How can you help?

  • Comment in the name of any artists or illustrators on the platform that you think might be interested.
  • Spread the word and direct users on the platform here and to #steemgigs

Let's help Steemit have its own Pizza Day!


banner.gif


permission was granted for the community to use this first image, in this post, by @steemgigs

Sort:  

Some things I think I would be able to bring to the table:
Proofreading: I came across a fantastic video on here yesterday made by somebody who's first language isn't English. Instead of pointing out all of the spelling mistakes in the English text I rewatched it and jotted down the written dialog then sent it to the user.

I also dabble with 3d modelling so if anybody needs a logo or something made in 3d for a video I can help and I also do video effects.

Great to hear - looks like you can bring a lot to the table @gmuxx!
I'm not looking for a 3D model of anything atm, but who knows in the future... It would be really great to see some more examples of what you are capable of (I've seen the Star Wars ship models from your introductory post and they are great), in posts - a portfolio - perhaps linked to here as well.

I am working on putting a portfolio together...a few too many things demand my attention at the moment 🙃

I posted a steemgig here: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@gmuxx/steemgig-english-proofreading - I hope to be able to get some interest and to help the community.

Steem on!

Glad I got to vote on this while the money was still open before 7 days thank you for the shout out!

Steemgigs is great and so is your post.

I have advertised and paid out on two 50 SBD steemgigs. I didn't see what you are offering for this gig or did I miss it.

@kus-knee I had no idea that you had already created two steemgigs and paid out a decent amount for them both - that's really great to hear!

I have not promised an amount: I was really looking for some people to provide me an estimate for what they are willing to do the work for instead. Perhaps that is the the wrong way around - and I should just be saying "I'll pay say 50 STEEM to somone to do it"?

Did you find that it was difficult to find people to take on the steemgigs you posted?

The first one I had a lot of offers and it was also a lot of work. If you check the history of the gig @fistaganos took on the project and he earned a LOT of money for writing a post about it.

The second one took less time to do but perhaps needed more skill. It was harder to find someone to do it but it went well. In both cases writing a report about the gigs outcome payed me several more times than what the gig cost me. Interesting!

I'll check out the posts which you are talking about (I can't seem to find a @fistaganos - although I see that he is mentioned in a couple of other places when I search for the user, but every time I click on the user I get an error page).

I'll keep trying to promote the cause and help get steemgigs going, but I feel like I don't have enough influence in the community to really make a difference / catch the attention of enough people to get an idea off of the ground.

Steem gigs, sounds cool. Totally possible.

Yep - I think that it's a fantastic initiative too.

Well... upvote!

Thanks - I appreciate your support.

Hey, missed your post until just now. If you are still interested in a graphics artist to "fix" the image for you, then I'm yours! I specialize in logo creation actually and picture touch-ups are right in line with what I normally do. I charge 30 steem for the original mock-up and 2 revisions, plus 5 steem per revision after that. You can reach me through [email protected], or we can communicate here if you need the project to be transparent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99