1 Year Old, on the STEEM Blockchain, My Story - Part Two

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation post of the story of my 1st year on the STEEM platform and its related interfaces.


-BiggerManiac.JPG


Other articles in this series:
1 Year Old, on the STEEM Blockchain, My Story - Part One


-SML-divider.png

The Steem Engine (Circa April 2018)

It was great to feel like one of the community and my first post managed to get on the coveted pages of TheWhistleStops, a daily produced by @enchantedspirit. It got a shitload of comments and I had only been on the platform for 4 weeks!

Gaining an entry on TheWhistleStops also gave one a decent vote and that was another reason I wished for it. I made a point to make sure that ALL my posts were going to now going to be featured (they weren't!)

Psychologyofthefollower.JPG

I met @natubat during this post with the looks of things and after just a month really had no business writing something like this.


-SML-divider.png

The Bid Bots (8th April 2018)

I remember speaking to @beautifulbullies at SteemCamp about these ‘bid bot' things. She was telling me she had made some profit during the good times of 2017 when SBD was sky high.

image.png

I had to have a go at these, and so sent some STEEM to @minnowbooster and saw my post shoot up to $9 in value.

It looked great, and I made some good ground regarding my reputation, but was it really all that great? It was just a #metalweekend post.


-SML-divider.png

The end of the Bid Bots (6th June 2018)

This would go on for some time when I publically stated, NO MORE. I was telling myself during this time that nobody would take me seriously due to my low reputation.

NoBots.JPG

When I reached (55) I would stop, and I did. I have not used one since in any form. Sometime during my ‘bot’ period I had met and befriended @bozz. This was likely via @thesteemengine as we were both members and he told me about @travelfeed.


-SML-divider.png

@chops.support (8th June 2018)

I applied to Steemit.COM for another account which would be named @chops.support. I should have named it something else but we are stuck with the original name once it’s created.

I was feeling bad at this point about taking and not giving enough so decided this would be a passive account that would vote people up who had not been an arsehole with me so far.

bigeye.jpg

The vote started as a very modest one and one day later @steevc delegated 250SP. This made an enormous difference and so now I had two accounts to manage.


-SML-divider.png

The Big Curie #1 (12th June 2018)

I have a feeling the @curie guys were taking an interest in my writing but were muttering amongst themselves....


This ones using bots, no @curie for him until he stops

It seemed coincidental that just 6 days after I posted my snub of bots, I got the BIG @curie. The price of STEEM was falling by this point but an almost $40 reward was still a staggering amount for little me.

kwiksave.JPG

At the time I was using some content I wrote maybe a year before about my torturous past working at a horrible supermarket named ‘Kwiksave’.


-SML-divider.png

Tasteem (19th June 2018)

An announcement was made that a new dApp was to be born. You could now review restaurants and get a vote for doing so. There was a white list and I was one of the first bunch to be approved.

tasteemlogo.JPG

I submitted a review and received a vote of $1.40 just for posting. I had to give them a full vote for doing so but then I think I won this competition and some STEEM to boot.

tasteemvote.JPG

tasteem.JPG

@tasteem would be one of the first of many dApps that would appear and is still going strong after some initial problems with abuse.


-SML-divider.png

DolphinHood and gaining my Flippers (12th July 2018)

I had been quietly powering up everything I was gaining in rewards and a dip in STEEM (again) persuaded me to cash in a couple of stocks and do a HUGE buy that would send me over 5000SP (when powered up).

dolphinhood.JPG

dolphonvotes.JPG

The community took it well with @matt-a and @drakos handing me some whopping votes to help me along. Thanks guys!


-SML-divider.png

Big Curie #2 (19th July 2018)

During the months of July and August was I between contracts and decided to take up walking and hiking for some fitness. One of the first locations we visited was Malham Cove in West Yorkshire.

malham.JPG

As well as @curie, @travelfeed and @steemitworldmap liked what they saw and this post did rather well.


-SML-divider.png

Alternative Weekend (22nd July 2018)

I figured I would start a new topic based off @deltev's #MetalWeekend. I still write these almost every weekend but nobody else does anymore.. sob.

alternativeweekend.JPG

Ironically, the first one was Muse and I have just done another Muse one recently. The old memory is starting to fade.


-SML-divider.png

Urban Exploration Prelude (25th August 2018)

While in Valletta, Malta I picked up a book about Bizarre places and discovered Mystique, An Abandoned Nightclub.

mystique.JPG

It fascinated me that something had been left since the 1960s and so I tracked it down and then wussed out when I got in there!

Despite this, I got a taste of Urban Exploration and have done many since. It a great topic to write about and the photography opportunities are tremendous, yet I see little content on our blockchain.


-SML-divider.png

Big Curie #3 (18th August 2018)

This album review was to be my last BIG @curie and I really don’t expect to get another, EVER!

lastbigcurie.jpg

@curie look after the little guys and I think I’m too big (in terms of votes) to attract them (if anyone from @curie can tell me otherwise please do).

I did put a lot of effort into this post and to anyone reading, you can do the same. Make the effort and @curie will notice you.


-SML-divider.png

SteemFlagRewards (5th September 2018)

After some prodding by @steevc, I started taking an interest in the discord group @steemflagrewards and what they were doing. You could gain votes by flagging abusive content.

SFR.jpg

It was dirty work, and you could face retaliation from the flagged ones. You had to pick your battles wisely and being a Dolphin at this time I had some SP I could utilise.

You could it seemed, not vote for anything and use ALL your power by just flagging, there was so much crap out there that needed looking at. I delegated 100SP and had a go.

Since then, I flag regularly, not to piss people off, but to try and correct their ignorance. Is it the STEEM police, perhaps it is?


-SML-divider.png

Prelude to SteemFest 3 (11th September 2018)

@anomadsoul created a series of writing incentives to let the world know what to expect of us when were arrived at SteemFest the next month.

image.png

These were great and so were @anomadsoul’s votes if he liked what he saw. We don't see much of him these days. I think he's taking a breather before coming back for the next one.


-SML-divider.png

Urban Exploration Proper (22nd October 2018)

THREE months later after the Malta experience, I would start of exploring old buildings that were dangerous as hell and dropping apart.

UrbanExplore.jpg

It’s harder than you think doing this, and maybe that’s why the young are all at it and not me!


-SML-divider.png

The @utopian.io Abuse posts (7th November 2018)

I was asked by some members of @steemflagwards to write some article’s about abuse and submit them to @utopian.io. By this time I had seen quite a lot of different types of abuse and had experienced some retaliation to boot.

SFR.jpg

The option to write more for @utopian.io is still open and available to me on this subject. You need to understand that by showing examples you are drawing attention to yourself and some of the flagged ones can hold sustained grudges against the group and you personally.


-SML-divider.png

SteemFest 3 (8th November 2018)

SteemFest is something not to be missed. My biggest regret was not being there on day one. This is when they hand out the goodies. Arrive on day 2 and you get the XXL T-Shirts because all the rest are gone!

SF3.jpg

There are other reasons besides this one. People are fresh on day one, and SteemFest is HARD. By the time it finishes everyone is drained due to too constant chatting and not enough shuteye.

This year (if it happens), I will be there right from the start. I found the event a little overbearing at times. It helps if you’re a great socialite and I’m not.

I found myself wondering who to talk to next and sometimes just called it a day. Is that @revisesociology (below) in the background?

sf3roland.jpg

Hopefully this year I will know more people and it will be easier for me. @roelandp was rushed off his feet but still had time for everyone. Make Steemfest 4 happen, please!


-SML-divider.png

The Slump (20th November 2018)

SteemFest was finished, the festivities finished and like everyone else’s moods the price of STEEM took a big dip. I, on the other hand, started to buy and buy big.

cheapsteem.JPG

Was this the time for opportunity? I believed it was and my holdings of around 7000SP went up to over 11000SP quite rapidly.

SteenIncrease.JPG

The price of STEEM was to decrease again in the subsequent month, and I will finish this story in the final episode.

Thanks for taking the time to read this…, if you still are.. you are patient :)


To be continued...



All images used are in the public domain or are from previous Steemit articles I have written or referred to.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I applaud you giving up on bid bots. I was here a bit before you and remember the place when we didnt have them. I have friends that use them, but I am happy to say I never did.

I plan to do some Tasteem at least while on vacation this summer!

I appreciate your work on SteemFlagRewards.

I like how you put this post all together! Well done.

Wow!! What a post!! What a story!! And what a marvelous job you did (so far) with both of them!! It was worth sneaking past the sweaty guy to read this. You know me -- it takes a lot to impress. But you did it. Bravo!!

Thanks ES, I'm worn out doing this.. and dreading writing the last part. I'll be glad when its all over and I can write about smackheads again... that's much easier!

Quite the trip, congrats on the progress, the lessons learned and now taught!

I'm regretting writing these now.. this one took me hours, all the back tracking to get the links and photographs.. lesson learned indeed!

Yes, I can imagine that it was a LOT of work!

In my first year here I spent many hours writing investigative reporting articles. In retrospect it was too much "work" but I learned a lot and got great satisfaction out of it!

Well done @slobberchops!

Very interesting especially the backstory to the urban exes.

Where do you get the dates from? I notice you went Dolphin around the same time as I did, slightly earlier, but steemit only tells me '6 months ago'.

Screen Shot 2019-03-14 at 19.14.57.png

Somehow I've defaulted back to using steemit again!

You use this excellent tool from @eonwarped, it goes back to the start and I'm reading your debut post from 27th August 2017.. you did a lot better than my 27c too.

https://helpienaut.github.io/steem/allposts.html

In fact I don't see a single $0.00 post.. you had it easy!

Ah that's awesome thanks, something I can check out while I'm listing to @pennsif's show...

I think I did have a fairly easy start - my main problem is that I joined in August and then when term started in September it really limited my ability to post, just 'cos of lack of time!

Those early curie votes were a great boost!

Congrats on sticking with it all this time, my brother! I need to write some kind of anniversary post, but I can't decide what date I should consider as my beginning date.

I created my account, though what the hell is this, then left, then came back. Then left, then came back. Haha. I guess maybe I should start there.

That all sounds like a good story to me! You need to take a break from all this sometimes, it gets a little much and can take over.

hahaha biggest regret was to arrive on day 3 of steemfest..then there were no shirts left at all ;))))

(liking this steemjourney! continueeeee)

Yes, we learn about these things too late. I had reserved 2 shirts, so what happened to the reservation system? The answer.. there wasn't one!

hahahah there wasnt one at all indeed... I just saw peepz with these cool shirts walking around and I didnt even had an idea that they were in the goodie bags (were they even or am I making this up?)

That's one hell of a year! I too was wondering why I don't get any curie votes anymore... Maybe my posts aren't curie worthy I guess, or maybe curie looks for really small redfishes now.

Going to check out that steemflagrewards post, I don't know if I could flag content I would probably be bitting more then I could chew but maybe I could delegate to it and help out, now that I'm finally at 500SP I realize that I need to do more and fight against spam on the blockchain...

Oh, and that's another thing, I'm finally at 500SP!! Finally! Next step, dolphinhood!

Congratulations, flagging is a totally new concept if you have never done it before. One on hand it feels mean, but when you see the crap out there that gaining unjustified rewards you will see what I mean.

They are on Discord, look them up and tell them you saw my post and are interested.

@curie will still visit you, but who knows the minds of @curie.

From bidbotter to abuse flagger! I have only flagged once, and the sky didn't fall in. Steemflagabuse is a great initiative, and one I should try and participate in more really. The TenKminnows project also sounds interesting. You've given a lot back to the platform.

Steemflagabuse is a great initiative, and one I should try and participate in more really.

I can tell you more at 'camp' if you want to get involved. Sometimes there' s lots to flag and other times it gets quiet. They have a decent sized account now thanks to @mids106 generous delegation.

Ah - I didn't know about that. I did bring some serious abuse to their attention a while back (which they may have already been aware of) - sadly they didn't have the financial clout to do anything about it. Maybe that will change now.
I've nothing against Steemians using bidbots to promote their work, even though I don't use them. What I hate is the farming of sh*tposts.
Yes, lots to discuss at "camp". I got an amazing deal on the Premier Inn in the city centre. I mean the Travelodge. I always get them mixed up!

Well you sure had a busy year! It all sounds really great! Hopefully the next year will be just as good if not better for you! Steem on!

Great experiences to read about given that I only recently started following you but looking dorward to the rest as we have much in common except the meetups. I hope there is another Steem Fest so I can go for sure! Thanks again for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hopefully there will be another on in November, I hope its in a warmer climate this time though Krakow wasn't bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72