Alternative Album Review : Steven Wilson – To the Bone

in #music6 years ago

For some time I have been looking at to do some reviews on albums but probably not from artists your have heard of before. I do not listen to the radio, as day after day I hear the same old repeats to the point of, ‘I never want to hear this song again!’

It’s not that radio songs are bad, but after hundreds of listens they simply become stale.

uyy0rq344m.jpg

Source - YouTube Still Capture.

So I am going to start a Steemit incentive. Pick an album you know inside out and that is a little obscure, alternative or progressive and write a complete and full review about it.

Choose at least FOUR songs from the album and add YouTube links so we can get an idea of whether we as the listeners can hear something that we may like.

Don’t choose the likes of ‘Thriller – Michael Jackson’ or ‘Rumours – Fleetwood Mac’. Yes, they are great be they are not alternative enough to qualify.

As long as this incentive doesn’t go completely crazy and overtake ‘blog’ as a leading tag, I will give any DECENT album review with that uses the tag name of #alternativereview a 100% up-vote as an incentive for your writing of it.

My full vote at this current time of terrible STEEM prices is only $0.28 but it’s maybe enough to get some of you writing. I also can’t guarantee that my VP will be at 100% at vote time but it will make a difference to your total vote value.

I am looking for quality writing material; something that others can open and maybe find something they like. This is what Steemit is about.

Feel free to use my review of ‘To the Bone’ as a template for your hopefully upcoming submissions.


33xz0etc68.jpg

‘To the Bone’ is the FIFTH studio album by the multi-talented Steven Wilson and takes a rather different slant than the previous four in terms of direction. More ‘Pop’ would be a good word and more accessible would be another I would use.

l9pnney1jy.jpg

Source

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of Steven Wilson and am always on the lookout for new songs that he releases and so I had great hopes for this album.

It did not disappoint but I knew I had to expect something different from the excellent and much more progressive sounds of ‘Hand, Cannot, Erase’. More information about ‘To the Bone’ can be found here.

I’m listening to each song while writing this review. It seems a good idea to refresh my mind to those small details!

I will now provide an opinionated synopsis of the track listings from ‘To the Bone’ and add some links to some of the better songs.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"To the Bone" 6:41

The title track of an album and first song should be a good one. It’s really the gateway to the music fest that is about to accost your ears. Steven hired the services of legendary Harmonica player ‘Mark Feltham’ and his eerie contribution to this song can be heard in the first 45 seconds to great effect.

This song is a more mainstream song that I have grown accustomed to from Steven, with some progressive overtones throughout. I love the way that that Harmonica keeps coming back again and again. The song turns dreamy close to the end in typical Wilson fashion.

This is great music and a fantastic opening song. 8/10.




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Nowhere Now" 4:03

I was under the impression that this song had been released as a single as there is an official video for it. My assumption was not correct though looking at the Wikipedia entry. "Nowhere Now" sounds like a single to me, and should be more accessible listening to the uninitiated. 7.5/10




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Pariah" 4:46

Pariah features Ninet Tayeb on co-vocals and Steven seems to have taken a liking to this Israeli female vocalist. She certainly adds something to his songs, and this ballad duet still sends chills down my spine when listening. Steven tells us he’s ‘tired of Facebook’ in his lyrics, maybe he should try Steemit! 7/10.



The song ‘Pariah’ was featured on the BBC breakfast show lasy year and during the interview, one of the presenters asked Steven, ‘So there are no words?’. His bemused answer was along the lines of, ‘Well that is an instrumental section’, and you can see he is less than happy. Are these people brain-dead or something?

Here is the clip. It may not work in all world territories.




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"The Same Asylum as Before" 5:14

OK, so I have already listed several videos so I will abstain on this song lest this becomes a YouTube link article only. This song was released as a single but the video is conspicuously missing from YouTube. There is an official video but it has been kept under wraps and is only shown at his concerts. Steven explained this when I attended his last one.

I feel this song could quite easily fit on a Porcupine Tree album from the ‘Stupid Dream’ era. It’s quite rocky and very progressive in nature yet accessible enough to merit being a single.

We get some falsetto from Steven too, but this is not the only song on the album to feature these types of vocals. Listen for those Gilmour like guitar sounds in the middle of the song. 7.5/10.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Refuge" 6:43

‘Refuge’ is a great example of a build up song. It is about the refugee plight from Syria and surrounding countries. This is a moody, beautiful and explosive piece when it finally gets going.

How he makes that Harmonica sound like a guitar I will never know? Listen to it and you will hear what I mean.

I found this video that someone had made that really brings home the reality that these people have had to face. I was genuinely bubbling up while watching it. Steven should adopt this video for his song, it really fits. 9/10.




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Permanating" 3:34

So this is the pop song that caused quite a stir when released as a single. Steven describes it as a combination of 70’s Abba and ELO, both artists who I absolutely adore. ‘Permanating’ is indeed a pop song and a damn good one too. Some of his fans saw this as a possible sell-out. Was he trying to gaining a different audience?

That notion was squashed as the song was pretty much ignored which is a real shame.

This guy could have written some epic’s if he would have been around in 1980. Today’s younger audience will probably not appreciate this, as it does sound like it’s from another era. 7.5/10.




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Blank Tapes" 2:08

Another collaboration with Ninet Tayeb, and a quiet one at that. It’s a nice enough song I suppose, albeit a little short. Ninet sounds a little croaky on this one; maybe all those cigarettes are having an effect on her voice. 5/10.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"People Who Eat Darkness" 6:02

This is the rocky song and it’s supposed to get the crowd rocking? I have to say it’s not one of my favourites but you may think otherwise. This is not to say it’s boring or bad, but that the other songs on this great album are mostly better. 6/10.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Song of I" 5:21

Steven hosted another duet with a female vocalist by the name of ‘Sophie Hunger’ for this very dark affair of a song. It was released as a single, but I would not say it is single material. Quite different from the other songs on the album, this disturbing and moody piece does getter better the more you listen to it. 6.5/10.




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Detonation" 9:19

I would give ‘Detonation’ the joint crown song of the album except for it simply drags on too long. After a very strange start, the melancholy overtones hit you and then that beat starts. This is a driven song once it starts with some great guitar work and horror sounding ‘voices’.

The problem is that it simply runs out of steam around 5:30. I would like your opinions on this, as after this time period the song does little for me. 9/10 (until 5:30).




g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Song of Unborn" 5:55

A very fitting song for the end of the album that is both emotional and lethargic. Don’t expect a standard song, there are a lot of quiet parts and subtle sections, and you will need to pump that volume to hear all of the intricacies. 7.5/10.


33xz0etc68.jpg

But wait, there’s a Deluxe Edition Bonus disc with a bunch of demos and more importantly THREE more songs. I wouldn’t normally include these but one is exceptional and merits a mention.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Ask Me Nicely" 3:53

I have tried to get into this song but it really doesn’t do it for me. This is a mish-mash of ambient sounds with some singing which develops to a beat which doesn’t quite fit into my hearing system. Reading opinions on the internet, some fans love it, but this one does not. 3/10.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"Northern Cyclonic" 3:50

Is this instrumental pierce some kind of chant or rhythmic drum beat? I suppose it’s quite hypnotic in its own way but I do see the song as filler and really nothing more. 4/10.


g9pv4ubd1t.png


"A Door Marked Summer" 7:41

Which bring us to this stunning song and the reason I added these extra ones. Why this was omitted from the album I can only guess, maybe the theme does not fit? It has it all; a banjo driven harmony section, a very 70’s progressive section that reminds me of Genesis’, ‘Watcher of the Skies’, an easy listening melancholy section that might be termed as ‘supermarket music’ and then a great outro with fantastic guitars to complete.

Even if you have listened to this album you may not be aware of this hidden gem which is a mandatory listen, and certainly the most diverse and progressive song on the album. 9/10.




33xz0etc68.jpg

My overall opinion regarding ‘To the Bone’ is positive. I still listen to it every now an again, although it doesn’t quite live up to the high standards of ‘Hand, Cannot, Erase’, or ‘The Raven that Refused to Sing’.

There is enough progressive content included to just about satisfy any prog-head, but it leans toward the pop side in some parts. Saying that, the album is certainly not in the category of mainstream music. I may review these other aforementioned albums at a later date.

All pictures are sourced from the public domain and cited, some are from YouTube stills.
Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

What a great album!!
I’m not bothered by Steve going lighter for this release. I recall reading on a forum a few fans complaining and saying he shouldn’t do pop... clearly they don’t know or remember his work on No-Man which is exceptional!!

Great idea for the tag – I’ve already written a couple of album reviews, plan to write more. Let’s get this tag happening!!

Thanks for the visit @metametheus, and good to hear from someone who is familiar with Steven's work. I have tried to listen to No Man and I just don't get it.

The Schoolyard album is the one I listened to as it seems to be highly rated. Is this the best in your opinion? I'm willing to to give No Man another listen but don't know where to start.

Keeping in mind No-Man is just as much Tim Bowness as it is Steve Wilson, but you can hear Wilson’s unique musical sound in an alt-pop setting.

I like it all, and usually have all albums on track-shuffle, so I have no idea what track is from which album 😮. I think the ‘best of’ album All the blue changes is a great primer.

I like Bowness’ other work too, so I’m a fan of both.

Wilson’s brilliance is his diversity and versatility.

I'll have another go, as I love his other side projects such as Blackfield.

And my picks from this album:
Pariah and Permanating.

He’s touring again here (Australia) in a couple of months, I haven’t bought my ticket yet. Better get onto it.

I wish I could see him again, I caught him in Manchester, it was some time ago, can read about it here.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 232 (8/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

What a great idea! I hate most radio stations these days. I hate the contrived and gimmicky music they play. It is that the radio songs are bad! Of course it's partly my age, but the stations aimed at older people are just as bad (in my opinion!).
I mostly listen to Radio 3 - it plays quite adventurous music at times, and very few repeats! I think there's a lot of good contemporary music out there - it just doesn't get played on the radio. I probably won't be able to contribute to this series, unless you want a classical music review, but I'll enjoy reading/listening to it.
Oh, and the Steven Wilson album is great, from what I've heard so far. I think he's the Porcupine Tree guy?

He is the Porcupine Tree guy, the only thing better than him, but I am biased of course. I'm still waiting for the first review, I guess its a lot of work so many might not want to do it.

I used to listen to the Radio all the time when I was younger, but there's so much crap out there now and few gems. I tend to miss the good ones, and I know there are some.

I've got something in mind for this challenge that I've been wanting to write about for quite some time now. Stay tuned for my upcoming article ;)

Also, never heard of Steve Wilson, but I can already tell that I need to check out his other music. Really loved all the songs you've shared!

I play the harmonica myself and really appreciated hearing "Refuge".

The harmonica is used to good effect in the to songs Mark plays on. I guess you have heard of him if this is your instrument? Look forward to your effort, I haven't had one yet.

Also nobody else has heard of Steven Wilson, your not alone.

I'll have it ready by tonight, am about half way into writing my post :)

I hope it gets the same love that mine did. Also are you using esteem surfer to post?

No, I'm just using the regular Steemit interface at the moment. Also, just finished my post actually, so have a look in about 5 minutes or so :)

Hi slobberchops,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Lovely post, I enjoyed reading it. Saving the music for when I'm knitting later. @curie, too :)

Thanks, it took some work to write it but at the same time I enjoyed doing it. He's not for everyone's taste, but barely anybody has heard of him out the progressive circles, where he's heralded king.

This was the first album of his I listened to after you mentioned how much you enjoyed him. I thought it was a good listen. My favorite song was "The same asylum as before".

wow, all the songs are amazing, but i loved Permanating specially.

You did well to listen too all of these in 7 minutes but as your from Pakistan I can see that you might like Permanating with its Bollywood themes.

That’s what I call a fantastic music review 🎼👌!

Thanks for providing the steemit community with this very informational post 🎧! Well deserved up from curie :-)

See u later around 👍 buddy

This is a great promotion for Steve Wilson. I like his voice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56