Alternative Weekend – THREE from Muse

in #music6 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Source

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend.

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

As with a lot of the better bands, @slobberchops picked up on these guys rather late. In the case of Muse it wasn’t so late at 2010, but in my opinion their best years were behind them at this point.

I will admit to not listening to the last THREE album at all, and if you can honestly tell me if any of these pass the supremacy of ‘Origin of Symmetry’ or ‘Absolution’ then I will give them a try.

Like many other bands, my introduction to Muse came via Rock Band in the form of Hysteria and then Knights of Cydonia. The latter track certainly got my ear and for good reason.

I will pick a track from Black Holes and Revelations, Absolution and Origin of Symmetry although the latter two albums are really the ones I rate. No singles as you may have heard them before!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Muse – Take a Bow

As I mentioned, I’m not a great fan of the ‘Black Holes’ album besides the singles that were released, but this opener is a bit of an exception. I do love this band’s ‘Space Rock’ sound that they emit from a lot of their music.

Muse – Falling away with you

I get goose bumps listening to this one, the melancholy is drenched in this song and you can feel it with all those lovely minor chords. Give it a chance to get going; it sounds a little lame to start with. From the album, ‘Absolution’

Muse – Space Dementia

There has to be one from arguably their finest offering, ‘Origin of Symmetry’. I do love the way Matthew Bellamy integrates classical music and fuses it into ‘Space Rock’. Who else but Muse?

This is what creates their unique sound but how does he play the piano at such an incredible pace while keeping his voice as steady as the album version? Talk about virtuosity!

In the spirit of @detlev’s original idea, you need to remember one thing.


Pump up the volume, PLAY IT LOUD!


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Nice selection from Muse! I myself discovered them late, right before the Resistance album I think.
Like you I very much like the blend of classical and rock music and how it often feels like grandiose space music. In fact, one of my favorite tunes from the more recent records is Exogenesis from Resistance. The following video combines the three parts into one:

If you've never heard about these, please try, I find the suite to be absolutely beautiful.

Looking forward to the next alternative weekends!

Hope you can do some yourself too. Will put this on in the background. I think I listened to Resistance, if this is the Queen ripoff attempt album.

Yes, I think the Queen sound is definitely more present in some tunes of this album than in any other.

I'm with you on this. I love rock music but I don't like to call most of it metal. I like all types of music, so I shall join you in posting some songs later. What shall I pick?

Muse are from Teignmouth in Devon, as you probably know, but there are also some other fantastic bands playing in the area. I left in 2015 to live in UAE, but miss seeing bands playiing the local clubs.

Sure, use the tag,, I don't like the cover but am going to see if I can get a better one like the #MetalWeekend one.

Im giving you a nice 100% on this.

I went to the drones world tour cinema version last week and enjoyed every second of it. Muse needs to be more appreciated!

I followed your #alernativeweekend tag from @bozz and was impressed by this article. I discovered Muse many moons ago and love much of their music. You guys are giving me inspiration for my very first post. :) Thanks for choosing some great songs from a lovely band!

Hello @ilsaione, I see you new to Steemit and thanks for the comments.

I do one of these every weekend; feel free to grab my post as a template and do one of you like, the more the better :)

Muse is for me just a big a band as for instance U2 or so. They have incredible shows and awesome songs. I like the use of the 'over the top' distorted guitars and sounds very much... :)

I am not sure if I have ever heard anything by them. I will have to check them out when I get a chance. I mean obviously, I have heard of them, but I just can't recall if I have heard them :)

que buenos videos que buena musica excelente post

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.94
ETH 3807.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52