Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 - Week 8 - Winners

in #poetrydice7 years ago

PDC3K_winners_week7_re.jpg


3rdPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

3rd Place - 3 STEEM + (future) post promotion!

@g-force1980

"Faraway Friends"

One night whilst camping and warm by the fire,
Lights overhead made us admire.
Not a satellite or star, but a ship of some kind,
We thought we were going out of our minds.
And then like an arrow shot a neon blue beam
First there was stunned silence, but broken by screams.
Most started running through the fields and flowers
But my eyes remained transfixed, drawn in by its power.
And then like magic it drew me high to the deck
I pinched myself twice as a reality check.
Inside the spaceship looked much like a car
The furry dice on the mirror made it feel quite bizarre.
And there stood before me some outlandish creatures
Though not scary at all, with elegant features.
Then in a voice that was musical and soft
One said 'Hello, can you help us? I think that we're lost'.
'On the ring road round Saturn we went the wrong way'
'And now we are late for a wedding far away'.
I told them that Earth was the place that they'd reached
'We've not gone far wrong' the alien then screeched.
'Thank you so much but now we must go'
'We will come back some day and repay this debt that we owe'
He then turned the key and the engine came on
They returned me to Earth and then they were gone.
And when I tell this story, most think I'm insane
But I'll always stay hopeful they'll come back again.
by @g-force1980

Reviews

Thank you so much for entering the contest for the first time! You did a splendid job! You told an excellent story using the 9 dice images provided to you, and that is no small feat! Congrats on placing 3rd this week! Cheers and I hope to see you again for the next roll! - @robyneggs

Beautiful poem! You really kept the flow and rhyming in it, you're one hell of a poet ;) Resteemed. - @droucil


2ndPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

2nd Place - 5 STEEM + (future) post promotion

@clayboyn

"Fire-Van"

We were traveling the globe in my high efficiency van,
This thing has some high emissions, but not of carbon.
I flipped the right arrow to pull over and picked flowers,
My van runs on landrace strains, they have magic powers.
We hop back into the ride, find my key, and start to move,
Homey fires up a spliff and finds some music so we groove.
I glanced over at my dude, the smoke looked like a mask,
"Sir do you have any identification?" I felt I had to ask.
He found it quite funny and asked, "Are you the police?"
I laughed too and said, "If I was, I would still blaze trees."
We had a few more giggles and toked a few more joints,
We don't keep score, it's all one love, no need for points.
@clayboyn

Reviews

Another excellent story poem told with the poetry dice - Excellent work @clayboyn! You astounded me with your awesome fire-van tale of police and mary jane...Cheers to a job well done! You have truly mastered the art of this contest. - @robyneggs

Awesome! Love the van and love the rhyme. Free the herb :) - @spaceginger

I'm all smiles reading this :D Great work! - @tinajordan

Oh I LOVE this!... - @girlwithoutwings


1rstPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

1rst Place - 7 STEEM + (future) post promotion!

@girlwithoutwings

"Up in Smoke"

‘Fuck me Steve
What you trying to do?
Shot a fire bright
Red light
Arrow through
A street light
Off your face
Boy race
Wheel spin
BOOM BANG
Blew a fuse
Like dynamite
And now I’m dazed
By furry dice.

‘Fuck me Steve
Your planet eyes
Ain’t Batman eyes
Ben Ten’s or
Superman’s
Bane’s or freaking
Cat Woman’s:
You’re NOT
A hero in disguise
No magic pants
Or cape that flies,
And SHIT
You nearly hit the side,
Fuck Me
I think I better drive.

‘Cool it man,
Work the tunes,
Steve got spliff
Cos Steve’s a dude,
Spark it up and
Say thank you
Cos your bud
Steve is good to you,
Yeah my man
Get the groove
Cos your bud Steve
Knows how to move,
Yeah my man
Cool it see
Cos Steve the one
Who got the hash
The smoke,
The gange, the Toke,
the Weed,
And...
Steve the one
Who got the key.”
‘BOOM!’
@girlwithoutwings

Reviews

This was quite the experience! Your rap was off the hook! I really enjoyed your entry this week @girlwithoutwings! You did a stellar job bringing the images to life and in a unique way. Your rap made sense, told a story, and evoked emotion. Bonus points for your Mary Jane references! Great work and I hope to see you back again! Cheers~! - @robyneggs

What a fun read this is!! Awesome :) - @tinajordan

Nice work with the dice! I love the rap. - @wandrnrose7


How to receive your post promotion:

(Offer only good for one week)

  1. Message me in a comment with the post link (or)
  2. Send 0.001 STEEM/SBD to my wallet with the post-link as a memo (or)
  3. Message me in http://steemit.chat/direct/robyn.eggs with your post link

(All) PDC3K Entries - Week 8

  1. Forsaken by @sgtechservices
  2. Fire Van by @clayboyn
  3. It’s a Kind of Magic by @girlwithoutwings
  4. The Invasion by @tegoshei
  5. An Alien Looking at Me by @droucil
  6. Unconventional Philosopher by @mrslauren
  7. Faraway Friends by @g-force1980
  8. Cough Drop Dreams by @lordmok
  9. Choices by @japhofin8or

*Disclaimer: The winners are based on the entries which I think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, I will not say that. Instead, I seek to offer you my encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet. My opinion takes into consideration many things that can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

Thanks again for participating in the re-vamped Poetry Dice Challenge 3000! I really wanted everyone to have another opportunity to be inspired by a semi-structured poetry contest that is unique. Rory's Story Cubes have been an inspiration for me for many years, and Steemit has provided an opportunity for me to share that inspiration with you.


I know you all work very hard on your entries to make sure all the dice images are clearly referenced. And for that i thank you very much. It is a joy and a pleasure to read everyone's entries each week. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me if you would like to guest or co-judge next week's contest.

Cheers~!


thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

one human basket

Sort:  

how to participate

pdc3k_week9_roll_re.jpg

Create a poem using all 9 (or) 10 dice shown in the picture (above).
Find the rules here: https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@robyneggs/poetry-dice-challenge-3000-week-9-roll

@girlwithoutwings is a savage with those rhymes. Fierce competition. :) I like it. Thanks for another awesome week @robyneggs! <3

Thanks for participating! I look forward to your rhymes as well :-)

Wow. Thank you so much. There were so many great entries this week and I'm very grateful that you found my poem prize worthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45