I Think I've Remembered This Before (Original Short Story)

in #fiction8 years ago

I bet you're wondering what you're doing here? Why you were summonsed. Well you weren't really summonsed. More like a gentle request. Yes, I would say it was just a gentle request, for your time. I needed to see you. One more time. Before they take me away, for good. I'm not sure when it will be. I just had this feeling. Stirring inside me, like last time, but stronger.


Do you remember the last time? My mind was in and out. From where, it's hard to say? Did I black out? I felt like I was fading away. But you were there, you saw it. You know I'm not crazy, right? I'm not crazy, am I? Not in the lock him up and throw away the key kind of way? Surely. I just blacked out. Zoned out, dissociated, disconnected. I was discombobulated. Is that a word? I feel strange. I think I start making up words when I feel like this.


Where was I? Right, I was telling you about the last time I blacked out. I think that's what happened. I don't really know. How could I? I was out of it. But I saw something on the other side. Where ever it is I went. Where ever it is you go when you black out. Or maybe we all go to different places, I don't know. I went somewhere, anyway. I saw something. Did I see something? I certainly felt something. I felt it, it's like the space around me shifted. It moved. There was an alteration, nothing was the same. Did I go some place else? Did some place else come to me? Is it possible that we are in more than one place at the same time, but we are only aware of one? What would happen if these two places merged with each other? They'd lock you up, that's what would happen. That's not normal. You can't mess with reality. You can't screw with people's concepts of what is. 


What do you think is normal? Do you think me talking to you is normal? Or maybe not? You're a good listener. Not much of a talker. And I got to tell someone.

I don't know how long I was there for. It felt like a long time. Yet it felt like just an instant. I get confused. It's like time stopped working the way I am used to it. Or maybe time didn't exist there. And me trying to squeeze that experience into my understanding of reality just short circuited my brain. 


Do you ever feel like your brain is short circuiting? You do, don't you? It's nothing to be ashamed of. I'm mean it's not like I'm going to tell anyone. No one seems to know I exist. Not like you do. But anyway, where were we? Ah, short circuiting brains. Time distorting realities. You've felt them, I know you have. Oh wait, I'm repeating myself. I do that. I get on a roll. My thoughts get way out in front of my speech. I'm trying to catch up. I'm trying to put my words in to a coherent structure. Yes, time to make sense. I do want to know. You feel these feelings too, don't you? I've seen you. When you think no ones looking. You have something for them. Some type of medicine. Pill, I think. I'm trying to remember what I have seen. I go a bit blank when I try to remember.


You never told me what those pills were for. I just get concerned, that's all. Is that why you don't say much to me? Do those pills affect you some how? I know I got a million questions. Ha, I probably have more. But what happens to you when you take those pills? How do you feel? So long as you're ok, that's all.


Didn't you take one of those pills just before? Just before I summonsed you. Is that why I'm feeling strange? But why would your pills be affecting me? I didn't take any. You did. Which is fine, if you need them. But now I don't feel so good. Like last time. What's happening? I'm starting to vague out. Fading away. I can feel it. You've got to believe me. Help! Listen to me. 


Wait, what are you doing? You're not taking another pill? Why? I'm the one that doesn't feel well. That other world is calling me. I can feel both worlds right now. What's that pill doing? Is it affecting me also? Are you trying to get rid of me? But why? 


This is not normal. What is normal? Me talking to you is not normal. Your pill affecting me is not normal. 


But wait. How could this be?


Am I you? And are you me?


Surely that's not normal!


Sort:  

Thank you for your feedback. So much appreciated.

I took a quick look at the link. What an interesting concept. Will give it some more time and thought when I get a chance. But I love the idea of it.

sama sama , very welcome , would love to read your contribution :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38