POETRY: A Journey TogethersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

A Journey Together

A journey together
Never a journey apart
To discover a language
That begins in the heart
That is made like a mirror
One reflecting the dark
And put the pieces together
Take us back to the start

Tearing language to pieces
Until it says what we mean
Sophisticated mutterings
Never meant to demean
But a word packed with meaning
Too many to count
Only one of them was needed
Only one of them was ours

Sweeping up the pieces
Sweeping all the broken parts
Created by confusion
Why we stand here apart
If I offer you my reasons
Would they take away the past?
Or add extra layers
One on top of the last

When two pasts meet together
Will two souls fall apart?
Can't be too hard to fathom
Why the anxiety lasts
But if I offer you this moment
Will you walk with me now?
Forget what was spoken
Speak newly this hour

It is sometimes regretted
It is many times too late
But the clock keeps on ticking
Linking us to our fate
It is one time with purpose
And two times for show
The third gave us reason
When apart we don't grow


Image Credit: Pixabay.com

Thank you for taking the time to read this poem.

If you liked it please give an upvote, and feel free to leave a comment.

Follow Me


Poetry:
When the War Is Over
Life - Meaning, Madness, and the Mundane
Phoenix Rises
Dreams of Innocence
Burn It Down
Epic
The Heart of the Shadow
The Mark of Cain
To Soar With Grace
The Beauty of Silence

Original Fiction:
Bang Bang You're Dead
I Think I've Remembered This Before
Saved By The Rain
Where Did the Time Go?
The Ghosts of Emmett Hill part 1 ALSO: [part 2] [part 3] [part 4]
Bad Trip part 1 ALSO: [part 2] [part 3] [part 4] [part 5] [part 6]

Sort:  

I enjoy reading your poem, beautiful words. I write poems too

Thank you. I just read yours also. I enjoyed it.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

This gave me goosebumps, absolutely fantastic read!!! Big Ups!

Thanks @gussenhoven for your wonderful compliment. I'm glad you were able to connect deeply with this writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43