Just Another Day - Day 22

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This is my first attempt at writing prose poetry. It is a true story that happened to me about 6 months ago. I wanted to document it forever on the blockchain. It is very graphic and traumatic but I felt I needed to tell it.

B6E5268C-1313-4BCC-B265-40FB25672CC3.jpeg

Just another day. Shadow laying next to me licking his fur and purring contentedly. My finger swiping and thumb clicking away at my touchscreen.

Suddenly the sliding door rushes open. His hand is on his chest. Maybe it’s just heartburn, but sweat drips from his face. The sliding door closes shut.

He sits in the ER as I rush to the window with my back towards him. So many questions. What the hell does it matter when he was born when today he might die. My eyes meet the look of panic on a nurse coming our way. She yells for help. I turn and freeze.

His stiff body slowly leans to the right. Blood stained vomit gushes from his nostrils like a faucet. I wail and rush over to him.

“Oh God, please no!” But they pull me from his side never to return.

CC586AB9-7853-4E4E-8F84-96339F0DB22C.jpeg

All photos are original.

Much thanks to @d-pend for creating this 100 days of poetry challenge. If you would like to support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out
Day 3: Names Will Always Hurt Me
Day 4: Turning
Day 5: No Longer
Day 6: Equilibrium
Day 7: Entangled
Day 8: Shattered
Day 12:Beat Ball WINNING ENTRY! (Intermediate category)
Day 15: The Golden Rule
Day 16: Panic
Day 19: Birthday
Day 20: Bar Room Blues
Day 21:Victory

Sort:  

A heartbreaking experience is what you bring us today, @firststeps. You move with your fine prose the fibers of us, the readers. Definitely, the death of the couple is a trauma that none of us wants to go through. The images refer us very well to the subject. Good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66