Birthday - Day 19

in #poetry6 years ago

This past Saturday was my birthday. I was reminded of an episode from Sense 8 where each person was listening to a classical concert and remembering the day they were born. Most people including myself don’t actually recall that event, but after having 5 kids I think I have a pretty good idea how it went down. These thoughts inspired this poem.

119F3468-8E76-4254-A380-4A622ECBA88B.jpeg

Trauma from day one-
Crushed and crammed,
Pushed and slammed.
Blinding light is my birthright,
As I’m forced from the comfort
Of my warm dark hug.

Strange noise all around,
Unmuffled and clear
Rings in my ear.
Heart felt lost is the cost,
As I’m forced from the solace
Of life giving sounds.

Rough overwhelms me-
Rubbed and slapped
Wrapped and trapped
Floating free is my plea
As I’m forced from protection
Of liquid buffers

Peace wraps around me -
Cradled and cuddled,
Bosomed and nuzzled.
Resting here is no fear,
As I’m placed in her arms
My life giving force

FF9CDF29-30BA-4515-8C63-9878AE3D4FAE.jpeg

Much thanks to @d-pend for creating this 100 days of poetry challenge. If you would like to support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out
Day 3: Names Will Always Hurt Me
Day 4: Turning
Day 5: No Longer
Day 6: Equilibrium
Day 7: Entangled
Day 8: Shattered
Day 12:Beat Ball WINNING ENTRY! (Intermediate category)
Day 15: The Golden Rule
Day 16:Panic

Image Credits
Photo 1 by Alex Hockett on Unsplash
Photo 2 (A picture of my grandaughter on the day of her birth)

Sort:  

Although I'm not a woman I can relate to this having experience my wife giving birth to our son and being the first to hold him. I like the poem.

Heart felt lost is the cost,

For me this line kind of broke the flow of the poem, not sure if this was intentional, but for me it was a little awkward.

Yes, I struggled with that line. I was trying to communicate the distress of not hearing the mother’s heartbeat. How to fit it into the pattern. Any suggestions?

hey, by the way, happy birthday to you, even though I'm late to say it. hopefully in your new age, you will be more successful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60