Panic - Day 16

in #poetry6 years ago

I had never experienced a panic attack before the unexpected and sudden death of my husband about 5 months ago. At first they were extremely intense and I went to the ER twice afraid it was my heart. This poem is an attempt to explain how it felt.

A0BD59EB-1270-42A2-B727-8A35BD2B2D67.jpeg

A wave from the deep
Slowly starting to creep
Gaining height as it goes
Pulling blood from my toes
And the breath from my nose
My mind running and hiding, displacing
Body trembling and shaking and bracing
My Heart flipping and thumping and racing
Gut rumbling and cramping and wrenching
Face heating and dripping and drenching
Fingers icy and tingling and clenching
Then deep breaths from my nose
Send it back to the throes
Losing height as it goes
Slowly ends in a heap
Back into the deep

49F8D4F1-29BD-454E-8956-6E06A71ECC14.jpeg

Much thanks to @d-pend for creating this 100 days of poetry challenge. If you would like to support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out
Day 3: Names Will Always Hurt Me
Day 4: Turning
Day 5: No Longer
Day 6: Equilibrium
Day 7: Entangled
Day 8: Shattered
Day 12:Beat Ball WINNING ENTRY! (Intermediate category)
Day 15: The Golden Rule

Image Credits
Photo 1 by Leximphoto on Unsplash
Photo 2 by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

Sort:  

This poem is straight from the heart!
I love the way in which you choose your word and your design is superb.

Tnx for stopping by my wall today, hope to have you there often (winks)

You captured the experience! I am so sorry to hear of such a loss.

Another great write, I love the rhyme, flow and, visual presentation of this piece.

The girl in the bottom photo is a friend of mine in real life ::giggles::…. it tickled me to she her in this post.

Great use of the concrete poem form, to describe the ebb and flow, the cresting of it. And the long lines without punctuation, rushing, taking you along, whether you will it or not.

I'm so sorry about your husband. You have really put horrible grief into words. I hope your poem and post helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66