The Bar Room Blues - Day 20

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I wrote a poem when I was a teeenager one Christmas. Coming from a mostly alcoholic family, I came to view drinking as a way to drown out your sorrows not have a good time. All I remember now was the first stanza. So I used it as a starter to create this poem.

C2C2AD21-010F-4D16-A264-148EDE1B78B7.jpeg

Christmas time this year
Was not so full of cheer.
All those lonely tears
Dripping in their beers.

Loved ones lost and gone,
Yet we must go on.
Life seems such a con.
Lines already drawn.

Trying to dull the pain,
cause hope’s gone down the drain.
The grieving soul is slain,
And nothing much remains

The barstool spins around
A face falls to the ground
Their loved ones cry a sound
Then reach for the next round

C9335BFA-E71D-4A7F-8A16-EB6D62C0011B.jpeg

Much thanks to @d-pend for creating this 100 days of poetry challenge. If you would like to support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out
Day 3: Names Will Always Hurt Me
Day 4: Turning
Day 5: No Longer
Day 6: Equilibrium
Day 7: Entangled
Day 8: Shattered
Day 12:Beat Ball WINNING ENTRY! (Intermediate category)
Day 15: The Golden Rule
Day 16: Panic
Day 19: Birthday

Image Credits
Photo 1 by Almos Bechtold on Unsplash
Photo 2 by Robert Mathews on Unsplash

Sort:  

the last two lines, for me as a reader, are the lines that convey the most. Everything before them sets the scene for the gravity of the moment that those you 'love' see you at their lowest, yet do not wish to inconvenience themselves.

Powerful and tragic, @firststeps, I'm glad you sort through a lot of these in your writing; I often find myself doing the same.

Thank you for sharing your poem.

I love that poetry is truly in the mind of the beholder and speaks to each of us differently. As an author it is especially gratifying to write a piece that has multiple meanings. Thank you for showing me that.

Painful theme crosses your poetry, my friend @firststeps. Your poetic self has been plunged into painful emotional transit recreating past situations that revive moments of euphoria and fall, holidays and sorrows.

I find it easier to write from a place of pain, and I’ve definitely had my fair share. But my life has also been full of love, joy, and blessings.

Writing from childhood , cool. I can’t remember anything I wrote then but I know I did write.
I liked the message of this poem , at first it seemed s but too ryhmy but it gets the message and image across well

LoL! I get what you mean about “a bit too Rhymy”. But I wanted to stay true to the original pattern since it was the only poem I remembered from my childhood besides a few corny poems I wrote for my Mom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58