Names Will Always Hurt Me - Day 3

in #poetry6 years ago

I was challenged by @wwf to live a life of peace and stand against violence in all its forms. I know from personal experience the devastating power of words, so I am dedicating this poem to all the victims of cyber bullying.

My heart breaks for the many youth who felt that death was a better option than facing the emotional and social pain caused by this violent crime. I hope that this poem inspires others to draw their own line in the sand and take a firm but peaceful stand against this type of violence.

Sticks and stones
May break my bones
But names will always hurt me

4E1C40D9-B606-451D-BB66-435B1E186716.jpeg

Face of stone
Protects my bones
As names keep hurling towards me

43E52EA1-43CA-4E05-9371-030F07134535.jpeg

Wall of stone
Entraps my bones
Still names will always reach me

6E13CEF0-C820-4A68-97AE-BABAF7F54D75.jpeg

Heart of stone
Will crack my bones
While names begin to crush me

932BD607-C23A-4AD8-A34D-4FF41962D628.jpeg

Heavy stone
Weighs down my bones
Beneath the names that kill me

1B4E3579-6EA2-4D70-925B-E01BCCDDBC7D.jpeg

Thank you @d-pend for the challenge to write poetry for 100 days. It is pushing me past my comfort zone and unlocking a new store house of creativity.

Although it’s too late to join this challenge if you would like to follow and support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out

Image Credits
Photo 1 by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash
Photo 2 by Shwa Hall on Unsplash
Photo 3 by Alex Iby on Unsplash
Photo 4 by John Peters on Unsplash
Photo 5 by hurk on pixabay

Sort:  

Yes, words most times hurt more than punches.
I am so glad this poem is helping someone out there today.
Beautiful work.

Thank you. At the very least I hope it raises awareness. Though this poem villianizes bullies, we need to remember that often bullies are victims of some form of violence themselves.

I see violence as akey factor in the deteriation of the society. It needs to be addressed.

Hello @firtstps, poetry spills our feelings. It is the way to be heard. I invite you to read mine. Greetings.

This has been a theme for me this week. I appreciate your poem as I continue to add thoughts to this theme. Physical wounds are so often easier to heal than those wounds inflicted on our minds and souls.

Thank you. Healing from these wounds requires us to break down the stone hearts, walls, and faces and truly be honest with ourselves and others. I plan on dropping by your blog and checking out your thoughts on this theme.

Beautiful, pointed and stunning truth. Bravo!

Thank you so much.

Words do hurt and cut deep. A punch heals quickly. Words can linger forever if we let them. The violence needs to stop. Very powerful words in your poem. Thank you for sharing.

Never underestimate the power of words. Your verses speak reality through heartfelt metaphors. I've enjoyed reading this poem. Besides, the images are a smart selection. Thanks, @firsteps.

Thank you. I did take a lot of time selecting the pictures to fit the metaphors. But I might have went a little overboard.

Interesting challenge... I hope you finished it, because I want to read all the poems you write. :D

This is great and so true.. words are so powerful.. that old saying 'words will never hurt me' is absolutely BS!

They can be used to hurt and they can be used to heal.

I know how I choose to use my words, and I can see you are doing the same.

Together we can make a change :)

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Yes, I hope to focus soon on healing words in my poetry. But the path to healing begins with discovery which is the stage I am at right now. Thank you for the encouragement.

Yeah... we have to discover what our true wounds are that's for sure! Otherwise we are like a blind surgeon... not really knowing where we need to do the healing work!

Keep up the amazing work... the pen is a beautiful tool to get you to where you want to be.

Here for support and encouragement :)

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67