Victory - Day 21

in #poetry6 years ago

I loved running and racing as a youth. It felt like I was totally free and no one could stop me.

2F8B7F7F-76AA-4C1C-9CC8-DD3D65405137.jpeg

Front foot planted firmly on the ground.
Body crouched ready to spring forward.
Ten fingers acting as a balance.
Mind focused eagerly awaiting the bang.

BANG!
Body springs into action.
Arms pumping, legs galloping,
Heart thumping, head pounding,
Air rushing and chest heaving.

Feet continue to pound the surface.
Body settles into its rhythm.
Fingers slicing through the air like knives.
Mind eagerly awaiting the final slam.

SLAM!
Body thrusts through the goal.
String ripping, crowds cheering
Legs slowing, Arms raising,
Breath flowing and soul smiling.

2696FE42-9B77-491C-9B0E-04F961E12341.jpeg

Much thanks to @d-pend for creating this 100 days of poetry challenge. If you would like to support this creative venture be sure to check out the latest Update.

And if you would like some quality support and training for your own journey here then join the Steemit School Discord Server.

Previous posts for this challenge
Day 1: The Pendulum
Day 2: Half In - Half Out
Day 3: Names Will Always Hurt Me
Day 4: Turning
Day 5: No Longer
Day 6: Equilibrium
Day 7: Entangled
Day 8: Shattered
Day 12:Beat Ball WINNING ENTRY! (Intermediate category)
Day 15: The Golden Rule
Day 16: Panic
Day 19: Birthday
Day 20: Bar Room Blues

Image credits
Photo 1 by William Stitt on Unsplash
Photo 2 by Lance Grandahl on Unsplash

Sort:  

This is my favorite poem of yours so far.

Definitely more on the positive side for a change. Glad you liked it.

Wow! It is great to see you active and writing again, I am so happy for you. Enjoy in #steemschools and @steemitpoetry challenges, both @dobartim and @dpend are great

Thank you. this 100 day challenge is definitely keeping me busy. The journey is helping me deal with a lot of emotions. Still struggling with panic attacks but less often and not as severe. Slow but sure.

Awesomely depicted... it took me right back to the race!

I don't think I liked running as much as you ay have but, this piece still took me back to that exhilarating feeling you get as you do it!

I love that ¡Pow! of your poem. Full her of adrenaline our soul of reading. Good job, @firststeps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67