DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #15

in #poetry6 years ago

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

B577F1EC-180D-43E7-8110-9A75159DA23A.jpeg

Episode Fifteen

It’s what I don’t see that concerns me,
the things that raise goosebumps
but really are no more than feelings.

Like a strength that swims in black water,
a rare resurrection
of prehistoric life,
the whoosh of its tail,
a wash of white bubbles
left in its wake.

In darkness my bed is the world,
worn wrinkled sheets are an ocean
of waves.

I am drifting and nearing the edge,
imagining
a lurking,
a wide patient eye watching
within the roots
under the mattress.

I know if my hand reaches out,
beyond what I know,
beyond where I’m sleeping,
my life could be snatched,
pulled from my cover,
the ways that I reason,
to logic
twisted like hemp,
a rope that will bind
or even worse hang me.

So what do you say about ghosts?
Or do you avoid them?

I suppose this is why
I look for clear water,
the cool mountain streams
that dance past the stones
and around granite boulders,
where schools of small fish
are seen in the sun.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE FOURTEEN
EPISODE THIRTEEN
EPISODE TWELVE
EPISODE ELEVEN
EPISODE TEN
EPISODE NINE
EPISODE EIGHT
EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

Gread Post So Loks Nice And beutyfull

Poetry is an art that requires so much inspiration to be able to come up with a good piece. I have high regards for those who can do this, it just means they have the ability to channel their emotion to come up with a piece that also inspires others. Good job.
Blessings.

You're most welcome. :)

I'm the same way. I can't believe how relatable this was for me. You took the words right out of my mouth!

I have often been swimming in the ocean and felt uneasy because it seemed like something big was nearby. My mom once came out of the water saying she would never go back, she said she could feel something big swim by and bump her.

a wonderful artist as always!
congratulations . . I love the poems you wrote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64850.80
ETH 3471.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55