DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #11

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

A078B4D0-9038-4FCC-AC02-0EF3048F5587.jpeg

Episode Eleven

I can think of a few times when God
picked me up and whispered in my ear.

His voice sounds a lot like my own,
slow and deliberate. I’ve never seen his face,
but imagine it’s homeless
and searching for love.

I favor long nights on my back
looking up at the stars,
a small spring fed lake
that is miles from the trail.

My sleeping bag lies on the ground,
the forrest snaps twigs
and groans
as if it was hurting
or I was intruding
by singing out loud
in the shower.

My fire won’t last through the night
and I am too lazy to search for more wood.

Without an incentive my ego will tremble.
Unless it’s enticed it hides
like a mouse under rocks by the fire.

Too cold to reason I talk to myself.
I sound like a teacher scolding their class,
a prophet, a scholar, a laborer
who’s just hit his thumb
and is cussing the world
for something he’s done.

In the morning there’s frost on the ground.
I rebuild my fire and say a short prayer.
There’s a voice near the lake
that sounds like my own.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE TEN
EPISODE NINE
EPISODE EIGHT
EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

Love your poetry bro @beginningtoend Respect for you

You make really wonderful hair
You are a really successful person🤗🤗🤗

It's amazing the way you move seamlessly from symbols to symbols, image to image.

I favor long nights on my back
looking up at the stars,
a small spring fed lake
that is miles from the trail.

You have no idea how much I favor this too!

I agree. It is marvellous how the imagery is placed and mention, without straying from the message/tone. This is an exemplar to the "Show-Don't-Tell" rule. Inspiring :)

Thanks, one of my favorite rules.

I always work hardest on transitions, stanza to stanza.

Lovely intro, really think you put the words on the label daydreams very well 🙏🏼 Merely a coloured chain of rapid photos emanating from our subconscious mind in a consecutive sequence, powerful.

You write very well, wouldn't say wannabe writer, you're well above average I would say 🤟🏼

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around! 😁

Thanks, will do.

I hate how this is so relatable. I'm not sure if I said this before, but I despise how you string together words so eloquently. The world seems so unfair. I don't even think you made an effort with this. I'm not saying that this came out naturally, but I'm not saying that it didn't. I gave you an upvote for your troubles though..














Fulfilling a promise I made in a different reply.

Ha ha, it’s seldom it all flows out smoothly, always lots of edits.

Well, I tried haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55