DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction # 8

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

FFF32EC1-328D-4EBF-8C77-DB18492EF3AC.jpeg

Episode Eight

Always on the move
orangutans build
new nests
every night.

No more than sticks
they are woven
with leaves
and abandoned
at sunrise.

I run to escape
the bright city lights
and a circular highway
to sleep
in the trees
on twigs
apes have left.

I lie on my back
to study the stars,
to learn there are corners
in space
where
the howls
of the jungle
are worth more
than diamonds.

During the day
when butterflies land
on my toes
and parrots fly
in formation
I remember old friends
and wish
they were here.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

Apart from the orangutans part, I feel like this is the most heartwarming part yet. The hook at the end got to me, and the build up was just done so nicely. This has been such an awesome series, man!

Thanks this one was pure fun.

The fun translated really well, Dale. Just keep at it. You're on a roll!

Nice Poetry, I could feel a rhythm in every lines, a flow of energy. keep it up!

:) a poem that would still be fun. congratulations my friend !

Many thanks. It was fun to write.

Spare me a branch!

In one of the tallest trees, for sure.

Thank you for recognizing my genius.
Here is a link to my new post.

https://steemit.com/blog/@legendary-writer/why-did-my-intro-only-make-usd4-00-where-are-the-thousands-that-jerry-banfield-promised

I would vote your post, but poetry is stupid!

going to be a regular on your page for poetry. great work!

Thanks, glad to have you joining the party.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79