DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

DAYDREAMS.jpg

EPISODE ONE

I keep old books in a storage locker,
a room much too large for small boxes.
Duct tape is stuck to my fingers.
I organize columns
so any remembrance
of how I react
is easily found.

Lately my eyes have grown tired
so the idea of reading
really doesn’t matter.

I’ve been viewing the sun
as the source of my problem,
but the vision of reliving my past
has always eclipsed any plans for the future.

One story I boxed, on a day I was drinking,
had a circular plot of mistakes,
was looking for love
in spirals of time travel.

I fly between planets
without being altered,
like eating a sandwich
where every bite dreams
with bread, cheese and lettuce.

There are places I go to be god
and others were I am a slave.

I read to be free. If I want to do nothing
but sit in a chair no one should stop me.
I prefer a recliner
and books with a moral.

My knowledge is a picture of cows
in a field of glass slippers.
My foot gets larger with age.
The key to my locker
is kept in my sock.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES coming soon

Sort:  

This story reminds me a lot of my sister. She is always tucked away in a book somewhere. She enjoys everything from to Harry Potter to Fifty Shades. More power to those who love to read!

Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed it and hope you read a few books yourself, I’m sure you do.

Yes, I do but mainly for research purposes and to learn more about investing.

I don't know if you're aware, but I was out of the country since the latter half of last year. Even though the internet connection was 1000x faster where I was, I've had trouble catching up using my mobile. While I'm physically back, I'm not yet fully back here. So, I apologize if I haven't been active in the comment section.

I just wanted to drop a quick note to commend you on the wondeful streak you've had, Dale! I'm sure that this is the start of a wonderful year of posting for you. Great things await! You posted more frequently than ever, just when I was out. I'll try to catch up on what I missed. While you have removed your previous signature, as I see you have replaced it with a more text-heavy one, I think it is a great look at who you are for first-time readers.

This is a great first episode. I like the premise of this new series of yours. Even though you wrote prose, I can't help but read it in a poetic light. You really have a gift with words. Looking forward to more of these!

Glad to see you back. Ya, I read somewhere you were out romancing your lady in S. Korea. Thanks again for the kind words. This is the signature I will use for this series, I hope to make something else for other posts.

Loved it. Got a real sense of the stories hidden away in boxes, and hidden away in memories. Of time moved forward, and revealing itself in age and change and experience.

Thanks I’m doing these as an exercise to help keep my creative juices flowing.

Best of luck, and as always I will be following along.

You paint beautiful and sometimes quirky images with your words @beginningtoend.

Ha ha, that’s a great compliment. Those who helped teach me to write always said to stay away from what the reader expects, create fresh images that stimulates and draws them in.

And comic too. I enjoyed every line from the beginning to the end.

You certainly are clever with articulation, @beginningtoend.

I fly between planets
without being altered,
like eating a sandwich
where every bite dreams
with bread, cheese and lettuce.

There are places I go to be god
and others were I am a slave.

This reminds me of a lucid dream. Flying between planets, sometimes you are god, and others a slave - funny how easy it is to transition ourselves from one state of being to another. We're truly multi-faceted! Followed, and looking forward to more!

Thanks, I am glad you enjoyed it, just posted episode #3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51