DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #13

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

B0E9C2BD-2A31-4F5D-8971-A4E6824986E6.jpeg

Episode Thirteen

I have cotton rags caught the back of my throat,
the words I have swallowed but never choked down.

Now when I speak it’s a whisper,
a low muffled line
quite incoherent to rational minds,
those people who see my abstractions as sin,
abhor I have jumbled traditions
to turn their eyes backwards.

My therapist says that I need to speak up,
turn all my vowels into luscious ripe pears
and peal their skins
with the blade of a knife.

He screams in my ear
and tells me to say what I think.

I struggle to please,
but here is the thing.

The evil I try to avoid
is consuming and all that I find myself doing.
The good that I seek Im unable to do.

I must be a poor wretched man
or perhaps I am going insane.

My story for those who don’t understand
is one of abduction. I was captured
and flown to the moon,
then when I returned
I felt I was better than everyone else.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE TWELVE
EPISODE ELEVEN
EPISODE TEN
EPISODE NINE
EPISODE EIGHT
EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

wow..!!!! nice post @beginningtoend .. it's really wonderful jobe .. i like your DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #13 post.. thnaks for share the post

My therapist says that I need to speak up,
turn all my vowels into luscious ripe pears
and peal their skins
with the blade of a knife.

What amazing imagery this produces. Took a moment to let those few lines sink in.

That was also my favorite image.

It looks like a prose fiction but is very conversational, the verses seems to tell a story and I like the antithesis embedded

It's a very rich poem

Thanks, I am glad you enjoyed it.

Great to know that you are an retired art teacher, and yes in your words it's really reflecting the thoughts of Freedom, means you are thinking what your innerself is saying to you and you are not running the rat race like all others. Thanks for sharing.

Stay Blessed.

Thanks for reading and commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Welcome. 🙂

Poetry is not a turning loose of emotion, but an escape from emotion; it is not the expression of personality, but an escape from personality. But, of course, only those who have personality and emotions know what it means to want to escape from these things.When power leads man toward arrogance, poetry reminds him of his limitations. When power narrows the area of man's concern, poetry reminds him of the richness and diversity of existence. When power corrupts, poetry cleanses.Poetry is not only dream and vision; it is the skeleton architecture of our lives. It lays the foundations for a future of change, a bridge across our fears of what has never been before. Thanks for this blessings to you .

This one was heavier to process than most others. It seems like it's coming from a place of pain, and that your transformation has caused you to become someone you hate. Is that still the case?

It’s more about discovering the nature of man bend toward evil. Not a popular belief as most like to the man is basically good.

I'm definitely not on that boat. I'd like to believe man has equal chance to be good or evil. No one is inherently anything.

"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men? The Shadow knows!"

"But, the Shadow never tells, that is unless he gets offered a high budget reboot and movie franchise with merchandise royalties."

a depressive post .. but perfect. again ...! I wrote an article on the songs. I was very pessimistic and melancholy :) but I want to read it. your ideas are important to me

Thanks, I’ll try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55