DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction # 2

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

DAYDREAMS.jpg

Episode Two

I can grow to be President,
hold the world’s colors
on a path with no visible end,
a field of warriors,
each with a gun,
no logic
and drawing conclusions.

My drill Sargent calls,
his cadence is familiar
and boasting,
who-rah, and who-rah,
who-rah, and who-rah.

I have a quick trigger,
listen to the cracks,

The lines in the sidewalk
with armies of ants
that walk in straight lines.

Lashed to my belt
is a canteen of water,
beside it a stringer
of dry singing bones.
Their music is no consolation,
the melody haunts
and digs like a worm.

In a garden
where sin first appeared
are wreaths of white flowers
that are grown for the mourners.
There are legions of bees
who avoid them.
I think it’s because
they know they are dead.

A tally of men counting off.

Without any doubt
8 following 8
is an unlucky number,
trust me,
I know from experience.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

Jesus Christ! This is not prose at all. This is pure poetry. I love the chaos and despair and desolate images.

Their music is no consolation,
the melody haunts
and digs like a worm.

This just sums the elements up for me.

In a garden
where sin first appeared
are wreaths of white flowers
that are grown for the mourners.

Are you kidding me, this is brilliant!

Thanks for the praise, I’m glad you enjoyed it. There should be many more posts in this series so I would be happy to have you follow along. Hope to check out your posts later today.

Are you kidding me? Of course I will! Thanks.

No matter how many times you say this is prose, your poetic nature would always win out. And that's not a bad thing. You're very lyrical, man, and it translates to the page. Still playing catch up, so it might take a while before I make it to your most recent. Nice job with this though!

Ya, I think I write with a metronome.

If you share a little more often, I'm happy. I heard about poetry poetry👍

I post every day, keep smiling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80