DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction # 3

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

DAYDREAMS.jpg

Episode Three

On a moonless night,
the lake contemplating
its stillness
and water
dark as the sky,

I am drifting,
believe I am soaring
with oars for my wings

I stretch out,
point to a spot that’s unseen.

A book without words,
or perhaps I have fallen
and floated
to some distant future?

But why does it matter
that people pretend
to be prophets
possessing the answers?

Could it be
that because back in school
they were eager
to hold up their hands
and recite a rote speech?

For me I’ll draw on my pad
as once I drew in school,
odd shapes on my desk
in quite random patterns,
strange in the way
they conform
with things I don’t know.

I connect them
and then I erase them,
sweep all the crumbs to a drawer
where I also keep boxes of pencils
used to write stories
but not to tell secrets.

I look at my watch,
it’s round deadpan face.
The second hand helps out the first.
Without it
it’s harder
to tell time
is passing.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

Another brilliant one! I still don't understand why it says wanna-be writer in your blog. If you're not a writer already then I don't know who is!

Ha ha thanks, I say that as I compare myself the other writers that inspire me.

Hmm I understand. Compared to some everyone's just learning. But your writing is amazing, truly.

Many thanks, makes my day.

I love the article

Thanks so much, glad you liked it.

Hi my teacher :)
I loved your mood in your poetry.
I love writing poetry and story writing too!
you have shared your opinion and got your idea but my English is not enough to translate my writings: /
I congratulate you

Thanks so much.

Nice poem , if you provide happiness to others then will get good dreams. Good post

Good advice, pleasant dreams.

Wow @beginningtoend I'm sure with you're experience you have a lot to share

Ha ha, I do but not all of it is uplifting.

That's right, man. You do you. Those aggresive type A people really get on my nerves. They think that those who don't conform to the norms set by society are somewhat out of touch, but really, they're the ones blinded by their own doing. As long as we don't step on other people's toes, I don't see anything wrong with following our own path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99