DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction #14

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

431CF57B-7EBD-4B03-B7FF-6C0CE867A88F.jpeg

EPISODE FOURTEEN

To get to some point of pleasure
I’ve been editing my work,
erasing all painful spots
disrupting the flow.

Certainly there’s agreement on this,
a period of joy is better than sorrow.

But how can one understand warmth
without being lost in a blizzard
looking for food.

These days I never eat meals
that comes in a box, bag or can.
It’s all processed junk,
builds walls in my arteries
that are trying to kill me.

Now I eat kale mixed with rice
add hot sauce and broth,
carefully made
from caramelized onions,
carrots and celery.

My palette is trained
to know good from bad.

You have to remove harmful things,
make cross-outs and get to the essence
of what is important.

I once met a soldier who knew this,
he cut off his finger
to prevent him from pulling the trigger.
With the stub that is left
he writes poems.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE THIRTEEN
EPISODE TWELVE
EPISODE ELEVEN
EPISODE TEN
EPISODE NINE
EPISODE EIGHT
EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

good poem.it affected me a lot.thanks

Thanks, appreciate you stopping by.

no bad at all your line of thought is just splendid

Thanks, glad you liked it.

I feel like this hits close to home, does it not? Sometimes, sacrifices have to be made to achieve a greater good. The ends doesn't justify the means, but that doesn't mean that the means aren't worth giving a second look. This is definitely up there as one of my favorites of this series.

Thanks, it’s kind of extending the thought from the previous post.

The last verse hit me hard, really awesome twist to the poem. Thanks!

Thanks, surprises are always helpful.

The criss cross of peace and war, life and death, strength and loss that flows through this piece, amazing.

Thanks, I edit these a lot, but the flow of images is more spontanious. If I ever did go to a therapist, which I haven’t, I bet he would enjoy them and find them quite insightful.

Writing your thoughts and ideas is probably a good way to stay out of the therapist's chair.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55