DAYDREAMS / A Journal of Fiction # 10

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

DAYDREAMS is a journal of my thoughts, the fiction that colors my mind. Each post is a thought of its own. They are not meant to be connected; although, one will inevitably toy with another. You can expect to see one or two episodes a week. They will mostly be prose; but if you prefer, you can define them as poetry.

370DF649-294B-4F89-BA14-1AA11EEFE495.jpeg

Episode Ten

I am determined to make sense of myself,
to crawl into my brain, render the neurons,
the circuits and energy
that makes me act different.

But here is a fact,
I work with no breakthroughs.

Look at this wall
across from the couch where I sit.
It exists as my therapist,
asking no questions
just a good listener,
a white space for notes
and jotting down clues.

I keep all my pens in my pocket,
ball points are best
with their smooth rolling tips
and bright vivid colors.

I wrote this notation in green
here near the outlet
where lights are plugged in,
as a child I feared robots,
the idea machines can move forward
and corner a man.

As I’m working things out
I print my ideas,
writing in cursive ties all the letters in knots
and I like to have freedom.

I also use post-its,
put them in clusters up near the ceiling
or in patterns like dot to dot pictures.

Some stand all alone,
like the ones that still hurt
or the ones that have names
of people I love.

What I write is making a gestalt,
a picture where the whole is the sum of the parts.
Right now it’s unfinished,
by that I mean
I don’t see
what it makes.

All that I see are patterns of colors and words.
It doesn’t make sense,
it’s abstraction,
a beautiful complex design.

DAYDREAMS1.jpg

b e g i n n i n g - t o - e n d

I am a retired art teacher and a wannabe writer. Everything I create is for my own enjoyment. I don’t work for others because I want total freedom to express what I want. All the work I post is original.

DAYDREAMS / RECENT EPISODES

EPISODE NINE
EPISODE EIGHT
EPISODE SEVEN
EPISODE SIX
EPISODE FIVE
EPISODE FOUR
EPISODE THREE
EPISODE TWO
EPISODE ONE

Sort:  

I would like to read all the episodes I like your post

There are links at the bottom of this post.

I have been read your previous poetry.You are a very creative person.I very much like your all poetry.I will wait for upcoming poetry
Thank you

Glad you enjoy it, more will be coming.

I've been following this journal for quite a while and honestly i can't stop being amazed at how you just blow me away each time. There are always some subtle revelations in there that even though aren't quite confessional nonetheless portray the sort of deep sublimity and pathos that comes from a really confidential confession. Thanks for writing, bro.

Ya, sometimes when I’m done writing I find that I’ve learned a little something new about myself.

And does it ever make sense? Is it always abstract?
It certainly is beautiful and complex.

This is one I wish I had have written myself. It speaks to me, like some of my own writings.

Ah ha, great compliment, thanks. As to your question, there are moments of clarity, but few and far between.

There's something about the free spirited nature of this poem that I really enjoyed.

It's so unique and also relatable.

I don't feel like you're a wannabe @beginningtoend... you're a writer :)

Ha ha, thanks, I like your thinking.

Okay, I stand corrected. This is my favorite thus far. It's like you crawled into my brain and wrote the events that transpire during my own writing process, then turned it into beautiful poetry that you still pass off as prose. Wonderful work, Dale!

Thanks, I always love praise.

I'll try to think of an insult next time.

Ha ha, it won’t be hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55