Chickpea Lentil Salad - Food Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey there fellow steemians! How’s the day treatin’ ya? Today is a great day. Second day of summer, and the sun was shining all day!! What a surprise! I got in a workout, used this opporitunity to create some vitamin D, and did grocery shopping for meal prep next week. Errands... are done! Time to relax for the weekend 🙌🏼

This is a recipe that I threw together today, and it reminds me very much of tabbouleh, which I love, but can’t do gluten, so this is my new high protein gluten free substitute, hehe. 

This entire recipe is about 6 servings, so it should last a full week for my meal prep, if you are only eating one serving. In 1 serving, there is 13.5g of protein, 39.3g of carbs & 2.6g of fat, along with 229 calories. It is a low calorie meal, so if you want to eat more, help yourself! Just don’t forget to listen to your body, most important thing. ❤️

Not only is this meal nutritious, it is so delicious. 

Let’s get cookin’!

Chickpea Lentil Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup dry/raw lentils, rinsed & drained
  • 4 cups of water
  • 4 small organic carrots, washed
  • 2 cups of halved organic baby tomatoes
  • 1 cup of organic diced red onion
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 large spring of dill
  • handful of fresh basil leaves
  • Handful of your favourite type of olives (optional)
  • 1 can of organic garbanzo beans
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Rinse & drain lentils to remove any extra debris
  2. Place in a saucepan, with the water & garlic powder, ensure the saucepan is large enough as the lentils will double in size
  3. Bring to a boil, and reduce heat, cover and allow to simmer for 15-29 minutes until there is no water left
  4. While lentils are cooking, wash all the veggies you choose to use in this salad, and dice into small pieces
  5. Add all veggies to a medium-large sized bowl, with garbanzo beans, minced garlic, herbs & spices and mix until uniform.
  6. Once lentils are done, add them to the bowl and give it one final mix. It is ready to serve warm, or you can refrigerate it and eat cold as well. This would also be delicious to dip oil free tostadas in! Yum 😋
  7. Enjoy! 💕

If you haven’t yet, check out my other delicious vegan recipes below:

  1. Homemade Vanilla Almond Milk
  2. Raw Oil Free Beetroot Hummus
  3. Mango Pineapple Fruit Fluff Smoothie Bowl
  4. Raw Creamy Alfredo Sauce Recipe + Kelp Noodle Hack
  5. Colourful Summer Rolls w/Sweet Chili Sauce 
  6. Raw + Oil Free Mini Lemon Tart 
  7. Raw Vanilla Lime Cheesecake 
  8. Raw Chocolate Caramel Pecan Brownies 
  9. Raw Chewy Twix Bars 
  10. Raw Deep Dish Pizza

All photography is mine, taken with my iPhone 7+ and edited by me! For more info about me, check out my intro post!

Sort:  

Looks delicious, I bet it tastes too! 😋 The macros seem quite perfect as well, this totally proves that vegan food isn't only carbs. Not to mention how much vitamins and minerals you get from this dish! Loved this! 😊

Right? 😃😃 It’s one of my favourites for sure! ❤️ Thank you for the comment @jasmink!

hey therawfoodie you post really awesome recipie, today i will try make it , do also have video about it?

I do not unfortunately but I am working on new videos for my dtube channel soon :)

ok thank you :)

Yum!

Michelleeeeee so glad to have you here on steemit ❤️ Thank you for the comment :)

Nice Picture therawfoodie ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

I'm a huge fan of adding legumes to my salad - especially chickpeas, yum! Thanks for your yummy inspiration ♥ I included your recipe in my "best 5" of the week here: https://steemit.com/food/@isshappy/iss-happy-s-5-favorite-vegan-steemit-recipes-of-the-week-13 Have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70