Raw Vegan Creamy Alfredo Sauce Recipe + Kelp Noodle Hack! - Food PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

When most of us think of eating a raw vegan meal, we think salad, with no dressing. Right? How horrifying! If that is the only option I had trust me I would not be attracted to eating a raw diet I tell ya! Luckily that is NOT the case! We have fruit, delicious salads WITH tons of options for great dressings, cheesecakes & all kinds of desserts... and raw vegan pasta. YES. Alfredo pasta to be exact!

In this recipe I'm using kelp noodles instead of traditional wheat pasta, and I'm 100% serious, you wouldn't even know the difference and the reason is because I've finally mastered the technique to making these noodles VERY soft and noodle-y! Oh happy day! For real. Nobody likes crunchy noodles, not me anyways!

I have spent SO long trying to make it so these noodles were soft, and I've somewhat done it in the past, but they're always still a bit crunchy. If you've ever had kelp noodles you may like them crunchy but I do not. I have searched online for tricks and have not found anything until I came across Kate Flowers' video today that she posted on YouTube and I nearly fell to the floor! Finally a trick that works 100%! I'm going to share it here so you don't have to go searching through her video just for this one trick. 

The trick to getting the softest noodles ever, that will fool anyone into thinking they are the real deal is by taking 1 tbsp baking powder and the juice of 1 lemon and mixing it together in a bowl. Take a strainer and dump the kelp noodles from one bag out and rinse them off, place them in the bowl with the lemon juice mixture and mix well with your hands. You'll start to feel the noodles turning soft as you mix them, and when you think they're soft enough, rinse the noodles off again. VOILA, that is it!! I thought it was some kind of magic trick I was performing haha! 

Okay, so back to the alfredo aspect of this recipe, I haven't had alfredo sauce in forever, like almost 4 years at least, and this raw vegan version brought back memories so that must mean I mastered it, eh? I say yes! Either way, it is deliciouuuuus, and should be something that is on your bucket list, for sure. It's creamy, it's savory, it's delicious, it's just great. I dusted mine with some black pepper & raw "parmesan" that I made by pulsing raw cashews and nutritional yeast together until crumbly. So simple right? :D

Okay I won't hold you any longer, go get that recipe!

Raw Vegan Creamy Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2  tsp onion powder
  • 2 tbsp diced white onion
  • 2-3 tbsp water - depending on desired consistency
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • pinch of salt for taste (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until creamy & smooth
  2. Pour over noodles, dust with raw "parmesan" or hemp seeds
  3. Enjoy!

 


If you haven’t yet, check out my other delicious raw vegan recipes below! 

  1. Colourful Summer Rolls w/Sweet Chili Sauce
  2. Raw Vegan + Oil Free Mini Lemon Tart 
  3. Raw Vegan Vanilla Lime Cheesecake 
  4. Raw Vegan Chocolate Caramel Pecan Brownies 
  5. Raw Vegan Chewy Twix Bars 
  6. Raw Vegan Deep Dish Pizza

 All photography is mine, taken with my iPhone 7+ and edited by me! For more info about me, check out my intro post!

Sort:  

Sounds awesome - I am madly searching for kelp noodles but couldn't get my hands on them yet. So many great raw recipes out there and I am super excited to try them myself :)

I got mine on amazon :) just search and you’ll get tons of different brands :) I love love love them!

There is no amazon where I am right now :D But I will check the local alternatives to that - thanks for the hint!

This looks amazing, my husband loves alfredo but I am trying to find an alternative pasta. Haven't found kelp pasta, I'll be on the lookout for that, along with your new trick! Thanks so much

Check amazon! They have the kelp noodles I got, or you could spiralizer zuchini which works well too :) @birdsinparadise thank you for the comment! ❤️

I've got a bunch of kelp noodles in the fridge. I'm going to get some cashews today and make the sauce. BTW the pics are amazing. Followed you:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58