🇺🇸 ROAD TRIP 2017 🇺🇸 - ROUTE 66 (12) LAS VEGAS, NV -> MOJAVE DESERT -> SANTA CLARITA, CA (day 9 on the road)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_9251.jpg

Dear Steemians,

let me whisk you away to the great American dream of Road 66. Tranferring a brand new camping car from Middlebury,IL to the west coast, a friend and I drove Will Rogers Highway, better known as Route 66 or simply Motherroad, from march 13th to 25th, all in all some 3360 miles (5900 kilometers)(including all our detours like Las Vegas, Grand Canyon etc). Only 11 full days on the road (we parted only in the late afternoon of march 13th and returned our rental rv in the morning of the 25th) - a little bit unrealistic as an friendly Uber driver in Flagstaff, AZ found.

Welcome to part 12 of my roadbook about the journey on route 66 in march this year.


Liebe Steemians,


lasst Euch entführen zu dem großen Amerikanischen Traum der Route 66. Um ein brandneues Wohnmobil von Middelbury, Illinois zu Westküste zu überführen, nahmen eine Freund und ich den Will Rogers Highway, besser bekannt als Route 66 oder einfach Mutterstrasse, in der Zeit vom 13. bis 25. März unter die Räder. Alles in Allem fuhren wir zirka 5900 Kilometer (3360 Meilen)(inklusive alle unsere Umwege, wie Las Vegas, Grand Canyon usw). Nur elf volle Tage auf der Straße (wir konnten erst am Nachmittag des 13. März abfahren und gaben das Wohnmobil am Vormittag des 25. März wieder ab - ein wenig unrealistisch, wie ein netter Uber-Fahrer in Flagstaff, Arizona meinte.

Willkommen zum 12. Teil meines Roadbooks über die Reise auf der Route 66 im März dieses Jahres.


Bildschirmfoto 2017-07-04 um 14.14.23.png
Ninth day on the road: 334 miles
Neunter Tag unterwegs: 538 km


After leaving Las Vegas early in the morning, we took the I-15 until the intersection with Cima Road, which lead us then through a very special region, namely the

Mojave desert:

Nachdem wir Las Vegas am frühen Morgen verlassen hatten, nahmen wir die I-15 bis zur Abzweigung mit der Cima Road, welche uns dann durch eine ganz spezielle Gegend führte, nämlich die

Mojave Wüste:

DSC_7220 3.jpg


And who says, the desert has no attraction:
Und wer sagt, die Wüst hätte nicht ihre Reize:

IMG_9705 2.jpg

IMG_9692.jpg

Collage_Fotor1.jpg


For many miles keeping us company: The huge trains of the Southern Pacific Transportation Company:
Während vielen Meilen leisteten sie uns Gesellschaft: Die riesig-langen Züge der UNION PACIFIC Railroad Company:
DSC_7249.JPG
DSC_7247.JPG

I made this short video, showing one of these monster-trains starting up after a stop signal. Notice how slowly those strong locomotives pick up speed with its seventy-two wagons, most of them loaded with two containers:
Ich nahm dieses Video auf, welches einen dieser Monster-Züge beim Anfahren nach einem Stop-Zeichen zeigt. Beachtet, wie langsam die starken Lokomotiven Fahrt aufnehmen mit ihren zweiundsiebzig, meist mit zwei Containern beladenen Waggons:


A few miles east of Amboy, CA, we got back on old Mother Road ...
Ein paar Meilen östlich von Amboy, CA, kamen wir zurück auf die alte Mother Road ...
DSC_7272 2.jpg

and found in Amboy another Route 66 Highlight, namely Roy's Café
und fanden danach in Amboy ein weiteres Route 66 Highlight, nämlich Roy's Café:
Collage_Fotor2.jpg


The night began to fall and initially we had planed to stay overnight on a rv-park in Palmdale, CA, but as we arrived, night had falle and the gate was closed, no soul was to be seen and nobody answered our ringing. So, as there were no RV-Parks or campsites to be found in the area, we had to proceed, tired as we were. And again we found a Walmart Parking with free RV-Park in Santa Clarita, CA.

Die Dämmerung begann und eigentlich hatten wir geplant dien Nacht auf einem Stellplatz in Palmdale, Kalifornien, zu verbringen. Als wir jedoch ankamen, es war längst dunkel und das Tor am Stellplatz war geschlossen, keine Menschenseele weit und breit zu sehen und niemand hörte unser Klingeln. Idem keine weiteren RV-Parks oder Campingplätze in der Gegend zu finden waren, mussten wir weiterfahren, müde, wie wir waren. Und wieder verbrachten wir eine Nachte auf einem Walmart Parking mit Wohnmobil-Stellplatz in Santa Clarita, Kalifornien.
IMG_9732.jpg


So far for this part of my Route66 Trip! The next post will be about day 10 on the road and will lead us from Santa Clarita, CA to Moss Landing, CA.

Soweit für diesen Teil meines Route66 Trips! Der nächste Post wird über Tag 10 unterwegs berichten und uns von Santa Clarita, Kalifornien nach nach Moss Landing, Kalifornien bringen.

Just don't miss it!

Verpasst das nicht!


I hope you enjoyed! Feel like seeing parts 1 - 11 of my Route 66 roadblock? Here they are:
Ich hoffe, es hat Dir gefallen! Lust, die Teile 1 - 11 meines Route 66 Roadbooks zu sehen? Hier sind sie:

Part 1: Chicago: Route66-Part 1
Part 2: Chicago, IL -> Pontiac, IL: Route66-Part 2
Part 3: Pontiac, IL -> Joplin, MO: Route66-Part 3
Part 4: Joplin, MO -> Amarillo, TX: Route66-Part 4
Part 5: Amarillo, TX -> Midpoint Route 66: Route66-Part 5
Part 6: Midpoint Route 66 -> North Acomita Village: Route66-Part 6
Part 7: North Acomita Village -> Acoma Sky City: Route66-Part 7
Part 8: Acoma Sky City -> Holbrook: Route66-Part 8
Part 9: Holbrook -> Flagstaff: Route66-Part 9
Part 10: Flagstaff ->Grand Canyon -> Williams: Route66-Part 10
Part 11: Williams -> Las Vegas: Route66-Part 11
Part 11.1 (update): Williams -> Las Vegas: Route66-Part 11.1


Wanna see more of my stuff? Click:
Du willst mehr von mir sehen? Click:

Sort:  

Another nice post! Love the Big Sky out West. upvoted @roused

Thank you so very much! 😃

Thanks for sharing this trip so iconic and amazing would love to do it myself but realistically it won't hsppen so will live it through your awesome post 👍👍👍👍

Thank you so very much for your kind comment! Why should it not? Let it happen, my friend! 😉

I;m not as young as I used to be nor my wife so travelling will be limited, but hey I never say never

I hope you'll find a opportunity to do it one day! 👍🏻😀

Thanks Kindly :)

That is some trip! Love the shots of the desert :)

The Mojawe is indeed a great place! I just loved it! Would for sure have been different, were I to cross it by horse 200 years ago! 😃

More painful and sweatier I would say :)

Indeed, no A/C and fridge on board as we had in the camper! 😃😉

Is a really Great Post....beautiful view

Thank you Fernando, my friend! Yes, it was a great journey with lots of opportunities to get good photos! 😃

Your motivate me to go to my dream. I mean to make money for trip to Route 66. I will do it on my 50 years Happy birthday.
Upvoted ))

Great motivation! I wish you from all my heart that you will do it! It is indeed THE trip do do!
Have a wonderful day, my friend!

Interesting trip though pictures.

Thank you so much! 😃

The train video was so cool! It is true! They are sooooo slow to start up again from a stop. The flag on it gets a big thumbs up from me! WalMart used to allow you to park at any of their shopping centers, but, now only select ones do it. I am all for a quick overnight stop there. :)

An epic trip that is romanticized by so many Americans! I did it when I was 24 and would do it again in a heartbeat. I cannot imagine doing this on horseback! With temperatures sometimes 48C + Yikes!!!

I love your posts about your trip across Route 66. The landscape changes on an hourly basis. I lived out in the Mojave Desert for a couple of months, with those interesting Joshua Trees and endless road.

Thanks so much for taking me on the ride-along! Super cool, my friend!

Upvoted

You ar so right, my friend! It is indeed an epic trip! I think it's something one will not forget for the rest of one's life. If I'll do the trip again, I'll have more time, for these two weeks were definitely to short.
Thanks for following my journey on Will Rogers Highway!
Have a very nice day, Denise! 😊

I have learned that I never allow enough time, but, without work, I wouldn't be able to pay for the fun time. :) I need more vacation time!!!! LOL

That's what I need, but will get it in two or three years, when retiring! 😃
In march I would have taken more time for our trip, but my travel mate has not so much vacation time as I do and he wanted to spare some for the family vacation in summer. 🤔

I just did a post on Route 66. It is an iconic piece of American history. I have only been on a few small segments. I would love to have driven it in its glory years.

That^s exactly what I thought, when we were on the road! I'll have a look at your R66 post too!
Have a very nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68