TASTY TRAVEL TUESDAY - TURKEY SAUSAGE and GRUYERE EMPANADAS

in #photography7 years ago

How about some taste bud expedition on this Hard Fork Tuesday?!

So, we’re hard forkin’ today, yes? I for one have to admit that I don’t fully understand everything in the techno world of steemit, but I do know food. So, what do you say to forkin’ some empenadas?

Gruyere is one of the best, what I call stinky cheeses out there. Especially when it’s stuffed in a crisp and flaky empanada with lots of other yummy stuffs!

Chile does not have fast food joints as so many of are accustomed to. In fact, in the South of Chile, there are NO drive thrus whatsoever. So, I guess you could say the empenadas are the fast food of Chile.

On these, I must admit that I took a shortcut and used pre-made wrappers. Normally I like to make everything home made, but time was not on my side for this. You may not have empanada wrappers available to you, but I would suggest using any pastry dough that you can roll out.

I hope you enjoyed the photos and I hope you give this a try!

As always, the RECIPE is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.


Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!:

  1. Buttermilk Sweet Potato Waffles + Vegetable Scramble (Gluten Free)

  2. National VANILLA Milkshake Day - SALTED CARAMEL SWIRL PRETZEL CRUNCH MILKSHAKES - Food Photo Shoot

  3. BUTTERY & CRUNCHY PISTACHIO ALMOND BAKLAVA - Food Photo Shoot

  4. Father's Day!!! Chocolate Bacon Mini Cakes + Peanut Butter Frosting (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP with PANCETTA - Food Photo Shoot

  6. National Picnic Day: How to Make Pink Lemonade with Beets! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Balsamic Chickpea + Veggie Couscous Salad

  8. BREAKFAST SPECIAL! Buttermilk Biscuits + Sausage Gravy (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Sweet Harvest Time Apple Streusel Crumb Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

  11. National Peaches & Cream Day & an Upside Down Skillet Cake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

These looks amazing. I wish I could get some of these to eat :)

I wish I could serve you some @codebreaker. Thanks so much for commenting

Recipe please!

Loading...

I knew it when I read empandas that I should not open this article! I forgot to eat and this hitted me so bad :D
Damn, so hungry now and nothing that I can eat without cooking. Thanks :p

Great comment @andrupetria. keep these coming

It's also famous food of festivals in India, we call it gujjiya here. I love eating it.

That's fascinating @looftee, thanks for sharing!!!

Is not this a samoosa? Moreover what is the different between paobhaji and varapao?

noo, it's gujjiya, samosa is triangular and contaons potato.

Ohh here in pakistan samoosa are found in two shapes this gujiya one and like you said in triangular shape both!!

You have to try the empanadas de Galicia - to die for!
Upvoted and following you.

You are probably right. I will add it to the to do list

@gringalicious, I had such an awesome comment in mind for this post, until I saw that you used pre-made wrappers for the empanadas... and then i thought, you're genius for doing that, fast food requires speed and that helped speed things up for this recipe :)

Yeah, I needed speed for these for sure. Sometime you really should use the tools afforded to you

Definitely, thinking on your feet is always best! I'm sure the crew just loved these too :)

They look amazing, you can not go wrong with home made empanadas, there is so many options and flavor variations you can make with those crunchy little pockets. I especially love making them really spicy with some nice home made hot chili sauce and adding fresh herbs. My mouth is watering now lol. #fatkidproblems

Thank you for sharing that tip @healthyrecipe

You are welcome, and thank you for such great recipes and beautiful food pictures. :)

Was wondering what delicious dish you was going to post next for hardfork19:) This looks really good... I mean it, cheers!!!

Cheers to you too! Thanks @arcaneinfo

These look delicious, I'm super jealous

Oh, well I'm very happy to know to like them @empten

This looks so good! I have never even heard of an Empanada. Thank you for sharing, I cannot wait to try these this weekend.

Oh, you have not lived until you have had an empanada. You got to make it happen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51