Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

in #food7 years ago

Good day to you all!

DSC_1378.jpg

Can I just take a brief second to talk about pomegranates? I feel like they are pretty seriously under-appreciated where fruits are concerned. Most people don’t even know how to eat them. Actually, you know what? I feel like I could say this about so many other fruits too.

DSC_1242.jpg

When did the general population become so unimaginative with the produce section? There’s more to life than apples and bananas people. I genuinely love just eating the arils as they are, but even if that’s not your thing I still think the juice is as good, if not better, than any citrus or berry juice.

DSC_1374.jpg

So this chicken, it’s really not that different than your typical Chinese orange chicken when you think about it. I feel like this is what would happen if General Tso had a pomegranate farmer for a neighbor and started getting Winter cabin fever. The tartness of the pomegranates give this sauce a sort of berry flavor so it’s perfect for summer, but because pomegranates are a Autumn/Winter thing this is also great for weeknights during the cold seasons. See, it’s a win win situation for everybody!

DSC_1313.jpg

The sauce is made with both fresh pomegranate juice and a product that you should be able to find in your local grocery store wherever they have the exotic ingredients; pomegranate molasses. It’s a Middle Eastern thing and I’m totally hooked on it now! If you can’t find it there I’d check the closest natural food market for it.

DSC_1401.jpg

On the pom juice, I juiced fresh pomegranates in my blender and strained the juice, but since that is a little time consuming you could just buy pomegrante juice to keep things simple. Oh, and you can’t forget about the sides either. I served this with a really simple fried rice with lots of veggies to try to balance the fact that (let’s be honest) the entree is pretty much a doughnut version of chicken. You could also throw some steamed broccoli or other veggies on your plates for some color if you want.

DSC_1398.jpg

Okay, and just one more thing, I have to answer the question that my brothers (and pretty much every guy I know) always need answered about their food: can you add bacon? You see, right before my fam moved to Chile from the States, Panda Express started making their orange chicken with (wait for it……..) bacon! I’m pretty sure they don’t do it anymore but it was insane and since I was making it for my brother's birthday I had to do it. So what I’m saying is that if you’re wondering whether or not to add some bacon the answer is most definitely YES!!

DSC_1245.jpg

Other than that I can only say that you need to give this cousin version to your favorite Chinese food item a shot!

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. MOROCCAN STYLE QUINOA & VEGGIE CURRY STUFFED SWEET POTATOES (VEGAN) Food Photo Shoot

  2. CHOCOLATE GANACHE & KAHLÚA SANDWICH COOKIES with HOMEMADE MARSHMALLOWS - Food Photo Shoot)

  3. JEWELED BASMATI RICE PILAF PERSIAN STYLE

  4. Quick & Easy BLACK BEAN AND LENTIL CHILI - Food Photo Shoot

  5. MONTE CRISTO POTATO PUFFS - Papas Duquesas

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Looks great!! How about that recipe, @gringalicious?!

Loading...

Haha @drobinson, you doing this recipe for your next blog post ;)

It could happen!! ;D @sandstorm

Sweet! Looking out for it :)

Its too much for my eyes.
I want some 😋

I wish I could give you some. Give a try for yourself if you can. Thanks so much for commenting

No problem. It really looks delicious. 😍
Im gonna try it sometime.

You are the star of my day thank you

So happy you like this @bigbear

Cant wait to go home and try this one out.

After years of only getting pomegranate stuck in my teeth, and being beyond angry with myself for going out of my way to be different and buy it. My world has finally changed and my opportunity costs for buying pomegranate is going up. I shall now stop eating it by the spoonful and hear the crackling within my teeth, and start MIXING it within foods:) That General Tso's......LOOKS GODLY

Well thank you @dillonford! I hope you enjoy the recipe.

No...thankyou @gringalicious! I will:)

omg it looks so goood!

Thank you so much @eliran6!

Nice!! that meal looks really tempting...
Great pictures also, great sharp definition in all of them

Thanks for sharing!

So happy to be able to share! @dontstopmenow

Wow! That looks amazing!! And I love pomegranates! This is the first time seeing them in a recipe! So I'm guessing you just swallow the seeds?

Your photography is spectacular. Your lighting, depth-of-field, layout, detail and color are all perfect.

Wow, thanks @pippininja and yes I like the seeds but for anyone who doesn't they can be left out. It seems you know something about photography too, that's awesome.

I used to know a little about photography ;) I don't do much anymore except of places I go and my family.

When I was a kid, one of my best friends had a pomegranate tree in his yard and we would open them up and shove a bunch of seeds in our mouth, pop em open with our teeth, drink the juice and spit out the seeds! It was sooo good.

Get in my belly! :)

Hehe, I know you mean that sweet sister! Love ya! @uglysweater!

I love food thank you for your photos

You're very welcome @gigibgm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68