National Peaches & Cream Day & an Upside Down Skillet Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Before I start listing all the reasons that you need to make this, have I told you guys how terrible I am at making decisions?

DSC_2812.jpg

DSC_2851-2.jpg

Well as you can probably tell I take too many pictures and can never figure out how to choose. Oh well, it's just my personal challenge.

DSC_2804.jpg

DSC_2688.jpg

All-righty, we’ve got some cake to discuss. I should be sure to give my mom an honorable shout-out here because this was an idea I had that she helped turn into something 10x better. I was throwing around the idea of something involving peaches and cream and cake. It was her idea to do it upside-down style in my poor, way too neglected, cast iron skillets. I really need to put those in a more accessible spot in the kitchen because I’m constantly forgetting to use them. (You think I can tap my heels together or wiggle my nose or something to get a more spacious and funtional kitchen? Yeah, didn’t think so.)

DSC_2672.jpg

DSC_2821.jpg

Her suggestion totally saved the day and turned this one into something that I’m super excited about sharing. Upside down cake people, be prepared for more of it ’cause I’ve fallen in love over here. Obviously the best part ever is when you get to flip it out of the pan with all the steaming, bubbling, syrupy goodness and reveal the gorgeous top/bottom of fruit! I can’t wait to try every flavor fruit I can think of, except possibly tomato because that would be weird and gross, but I think apple is definitely happing later this year!

DSC_2788.jpg

So basically, you really have to make this. Also, even though it kind of feels like cheating a little bit, I used a cake recipe that is already one of my favorites. I thought it went really well with the fruity topping and helped balance this for the perfect sweet summertime treat.

DSC_2851.jpg

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. Buttermilk Sweet Potato Waffles + Vegetable Scramble (Gluten Free)

  2. National VANILLA Milkshake Day - SALTED CARAMEL SWIRL PRETZEL CRUNCH MILKSHAKES - Food Photo Shoot

  3. BUTTERY & CRUNCHY PISTACHIO ALMOND BAKLAVA - Food Photo Shoot

  4. Father's Day!!! Chocolate Bacon Mini Cakes + Peanut Butter Frosting (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP with PANCETTA - Food Photo Shoot

  6. National Picnic Day: How to Make Pink Lemonade with Beets! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Balsamic Chickpea + Veggie Couscous Salad

  8. BREAKFAST SPECIAL! Buttermilk Biscuits + Sausage Gravy (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Sweet Harvest Time Apple Streusel Crumb Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

That looks incredible! Could you share more details of how to make it? My moms birthday is coming up :)

Loading...

How much of your food does your BF eat anyways?

He would have the freshman 15 every month with your yummy cooking my friend!!

I love peaches.

A LOT!!!!!!!!!!

I think you are as talented behind the camera and your staging efforts, as you might be in the kitchen itself.

Happy HardFork Day! My meme on that is up!

Hey @barrydutton, thanks for the kind words as always. I will take a look at your meme. And yes, Happy Hard Fork Day to you as well.

Yippppeeeeeeee and oh also Peaches and Cream Day

lol

Looks so amazing :) im totally going to try this out in the near future.
Was thinking of eating something sweet these days and I think this dish is going to cut it..
Thanks for the share and much lovr from me :)
-Goldie

Fantastic commenting, thanks so much @vangelov

YUM!!!

Thanks @alovelymess! You're the sweetest! 😍

Owh these pictures seems delicious, definitly going to cook this when I got time for it. Thx for the recipe @gringalicious!

I hope you find time soon @bulkygangsta. Thanks so much

Well isn't that just peachy! Sorry, I'll leave now. Great post @gringalicious. :)

Thanks so much @sgtechservices, appreciate your comments as always

omg you are killing me... this looks soo fantastic!!

Here I am, killing you often, like maybe three times a week. You kill me too, so I guess that makes it ok - LOL

Looks very yummy and delicious!

looks delicious!

Thanks @elevator09!

no problem

I just opened my fast and looking for something like this to eat but i dont think that i am going to get something amazing like these pics around here ...
a big thumbs up :D

So nice, thanks so much @raja

My Pleasure @gringalicious :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50