National Picnic Day: How to Make Pink Lemonade with Beets! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

When life gives lemons, make lemonade……….but make it colorful!!!!

DSC_1085.jpg

I can’t even tell you how much that phrase has become the story of my life. It’s a good thing I love lemons.

DSC_1134.jpg

So when I first started in the foodie world I made some lemon bars. Pink lemonade lemonies to be exact (I can share the recipe soon if you want!. They were so good! I also made a whole pitcher of pink lemonade for the pictures and since then I’ve had a bunch of people ask me how to just make that naturally pink lemonade.

DSC_1126.jpg

The pictures of that post have been really popular too, (even though they were terrible) so it’s been on my list to make some pink lemonade. I thought right now is a good time to slip it in because it’s National picnic day!!! Plus, is there a bad time to have lemonade? I think I’m gonna go with not!

How to Make Naturally Pink Lemonade. - copia.gif

For me it seems like a really simple thing to make that is hardly worth posting a recipe for. I mean, it’s sugar water with lemon juice and a few drops of beet color, but I do tend to forget that not everyone is as comfortable with just winging it in the kitchen as I am. Most people like to have plans and recipes with exact instructions. Huh, go figure. I do this whole thing for you guys though, so if you want pink lemonade who am I to deprive you, right? Pink lemonade for everyone! Let’s do it!

DSC_1132-2.jpg

As for the beet color that creates the gorgeous pink that makes us all so thirsty, you can basically use any form of beets. I like to use a tiny bit of beet puree because I always have that around, but you could also try beet powder, beet juice, or water from a can of beets (although it might take a bit more of that to get a good pink). Whatever form you want to use should give you brilliant color and it doesn’t impart any beety flavor because you hardly have to use any to color the lemonade.

DSC_1081.jpg

Cheers you guys!

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. BREAKFAST SPECIAL! Buttermilk Biscuits + Sausage Gravy (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Sweet Harvest Time Apple Streusel Crumb Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

  4. Strawberry Lime Cheesecake Trifles [No-Bake] (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. MOROCCAN STYLE QUINOA & VEGGIE CURRY STUFFED SWEET POTATOES (VEGAN) Food Photo Shoot

  6. CHOCOLATE GANACHE & KAHLÚA SANDWICH COOKIES with HOMEMADE MARSHMALLOWS - Food Photo Shoot)

  7. JEWELED BASMATI RICE PILAF PERSIAN STYLE

  8. Quick & Easy BLACK BEAN AND LENTIL CHILI - Food Photo Shoot

  9. MONTE CRISTO POTATO PUFFS - Papas Duquesas

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

That looks delicious! Can you please publish the recipe. Need to know how you made it :)) I only need the measure of the ingredients you postet in the text

Absolutely @traveldict! Thank you for asking.

Ingredients

7 cups water
1 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 6 lemons)
1 - 1 1/3 cups sugar
1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional but so good!)
a small pinch of cooked beet puree or a few drops of pure beet juice (The water from canned beets or beet juice should also work. Start small and play around with different amounts to get your perfect pink!)

Instructions

  1. Mix 1 cup of warm water with 1 cups of sugar in a large pitcher or bowl; stir until dissolved. Add remaining 6 cups water and lemon juice and stir well. Taste and add more sugar to desired sweetness then stir in beet color and vanilla if desired.
  2. Chill for about an hour in the fridge before serving for best taste and refreshment.
    Roasted Beet Puree:
  3. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C) and line 2 oven trays with a pieces of foil. Cut the stems off of the beets and divide them between pans, then place them on the foil and sprinkle about 1 tablespoon of water over them. 2. Bring the corners of foil up to meet and form a foil ''packet'' around them. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until the beets are fork tender. Remove from oven and cool until you can handle them, then peel away the skins.
  4. Place in a food processor or blender and blend until pureed (you may need to add a tablespoon or two of water).

Thank you so much! Saved it and will let you know how it worked out :)

Very beautiful color! May you please share the recipe? Thanks before :-)

Checked and saved! Will try it soon! Many thanks :-)

Of course, check the comments at the top for it. Thank you @ikaputri3!

It looks so good! I want some!! :) ;)

Thanks @alovelymess! I wish I could make you a glass right now!

You are officially the lemonade whisperer @gringalicious. These are the inside tricks of the kitchen, that us mere gringos have no clue of. I like that gif the most, it's THIRSTALICIOUS :)

'thirstalicious' that's awesome. You have a bunch of those. Thanks for commenting @sandstorm. I hope you have a great weekend

You inspire them @gringalicious :) Have a fantastic remainder of the weekend yourself, and hope you're feeling better!

Your beets make a nice color, that's for sure. I like pink lemonade, too, but I use wild sumac berries. The little hairs on them are sour, just like lemons. And they naturally make everything pink. I don't usually put a link in my comments, but this relates. Here's a Faux Pink Lemonade, no lemons involved at all. Yours looks much more attractive! But mine is all free, at least. ; )

That is fantastic. I need to look for some sumac here. What time of year are they good to pick?

Sumac is ready in the last summer and it stays good until the rains start washing the acidity off the little hairs. I'll make a full post on it soon. I did a giant post on it when I was new here and it made a whole 84 cents, lol. So i carved out the content before the old 3o-day time limit. I've had several requests to repost it, so I probably will pretty soon.

You are a genius behind the camera!! The photo's look so very appealing!!

Thanks so much @paradise-found. I am so glad you liked it

Im going to have a go at this , as we are experiencing a minor heatwave here

Oh, this is great for a heat wave. Thanks for commenting @yamyam

Oh, well this is great in the summer! @yamyam

Wow, these pictures are soooo beautiful!! ♥♥♥

Lovely photos !
Will try it at home ...
=]

That's awesome @insteadofmoney. I hope it turns out well for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48