BREAKFAST SPECIAL! Buttermilk Biscuits + Sausage Gravy (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Who needs some breakfast inspiration for the weekend? If you’re thinking that this isn’t the healthiest breakfast you could choose….well ok you’re probably right, but whatever, YOLO!. Who wants to eat biscuits and gravy???

DSC_0396.jpg

DSC_0391.jpg

I grew up in the southern US but since I don’t have an accent you’d probably never be able to guess. One of the only things that I can think of at the moment that has stuck with me from living there is a love for southern classics. An occasional biscuits and gravy breakfast is something that we’ve always done in my family. It’s only every once in a while, and usually for special occasions or visitors. My family isn’t really big on eating breakfast since everyone, except me, is a night owl.

DSC_0437.jpg

It doesn’t help that the culture here is ridiculously late. Seriously, in the summer when all the tourists are here, a typical dinner time is around 10pm and then people don’t go to bed until around 4 or 5 am. Basically, not till the sun starts to rise, it’s crazy. I think it’s because of our proximity to the south pole and the light hours being so long in the summer, but I still think it’s lame. I prefer to wake up with or before the sun not the other way around.

DSC_0472.jpg

But, what I was getting at was that I made biscuits and gravy for breakfast a few days ago (well, in reality it was more like lunch) and it occurred to me that I’ve never shared it on the blog. Even if you already have a recipe for either biscuits or gravy you can always use a little fresh inspiration, right? I know I can never get too many recipe ideas.

DSC_0429.jpg

I also found out recently, that this is not something you’ll find being served anywhere in Chile. I served to a Chilean friend of ours and he said he’d never tried or even seen it before. Definitely a North American thing. Ha, another instance of realizing how much we’re those crazy gringos. Hence the name of my little speck of the web.

DSC_0405.jpg

Usually, I’ll try to serve it with some healthier side options to balance things. You know, like fruit, eggs, smoothies, anything that makes you feel better about clogging your arteries. And honestly, I can’t think of one healthy label to assign to this recipe other than major comfort food. It always makes people really happy when you do it, though! So it’s a plan; biscuits today, veggies tomorrow (maybe)!

DSC_0395.jpg

As always, the recipe is available upon request, and I always give an upvote for the first one.



Also, check out some of my other recent food posts for more mouthwatering photos!

  1. Sesame Chicken with Pomegranate + Fried Rice

  2. Strawberry Lime Cheesecake Trifles [No-Bake] (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. MOROCCAN STYLE QUINOA & VEGGIE CURRY STUFFED SWEET POTATOES (VEGAN) Food Photo Shoot

  4. CHOCOLATE GANACHE & KAHLÚA SANDWICH COOKIES with HOMEMADE MARSHMALLOWS - Food Photo Shoot)

  5. JEWELED BASMATI RICE PILAF PERSIAN STYLE

  6. Quick & Easy BLACK BEAN AND LENTIL CHILI - Food Photo Shoot

  7. MONTE CRISTO POTATO PUFFS - Papas Duquesas

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I love biscuits and gravy! I learned to make the gravy with roux in Louisana and really like it with hot sausage. Would love to see your recipe!

Loading...

There were some real insights in this post -- and not just the health benefits of comfort food, lol! It's nice to know the inspiration for your Steemit name. And that is something about the daily schedule of folks in Chile in the summer, with the long days. I wouldn't like going to bed as the day is getting started. Maybe that just doubles the opportunity for bicuits and gravy, though -- when you wake up and then when the sun comes up! ; )

As always, amazing commenting!!

As always, amazing food photography and inspiration! :D

that looks interesting..i'll have that! Seriously, dinner at 10? i'll be dead by then without clogging my arteries ;)

Drooling on my desk late at night! Gonna have some biscuits tomorrow NO MATTER WHAT!
Great post!
Have a great weekend!

My teenage son just started with Steemit, if he pulls his head out of the "gaming" feed, he's probably going to ask to come live with you.

This is his absolute favorite food in the world.

Followed closely by my hamburgers, I'm happy with a close second.

Hans't anyone asked for the recipe yet?

BTW, do they grow Rhubarb in Chile?

Hungry like a wolf

Hehehe, I'm happy you like it @pastzam!

great post : )

Your biscuits and gravy look yummy and healthy to me, after all you gave them a side of pomegranate!

Would love if you'd do other gringo breakfast-y foods too - like grits, scrappel and chicken and waffles!

OOOh, yes chicken and waffles are the best! Thanks @michellectv!

I know this is the most American thing I could say, but you're making me crave Popeye's biscuits right now

Haha, yes very American of you to say @steemmate, thanks!

How many delicious food has made my mouth water!

Thanks for commenting @dioneaguiar!

admiro suas postagens de culinária parabéns

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70